We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, and stunning views.”
Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chainbridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We went for my mums birthday the hotel, staff,service and food was excellent, our room was lovely but the twin beds were very uncomfy, not enough plug sockets either. The location was stunning as were the views, the staff could not do enough for us we have ha a Fabulous stay and have now booked for NYE.
I could quite happily go and stay there on a regular basis to re-charge my batteries as they say! Fabulous all round .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeybonbaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thank you for such a positive and pleasing review - we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay when you were here for your mother's birthday.

We will be sure to look at the beds (as it is, of course, important that our guests get a good night's sleep when they are with us) but we are very pleased that you were so happy with so many of the hotel's aspects, and that the staff looked after you wonderfully.

We do indeed have many guests that stay on a regular basis for some R&R, though I don't think you'll get too much of that when you join us for New Year's Eve, which is always a fun night.

All the best
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 815 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

Was wary about staying at the chainbridge having read mixed reviews, however the location was stunning. The building is tired but full of character and if it was renovated to a modern standard then the room rates would rise too! The staff were lovely, food very good especially breakfast which was cooked to order.. My partner especially enjoyed the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. May I recommend as a bar manager myself that the ladies are given training in beer barrel changing as each time a barrel ran out my partner had to drink an alternative beer until a man started his shift and was able to change the barrel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and found the hotel's location so stunning. I'm very pleased that the breakfast in particular was a hit, as good produce, cooked well is usually just what you need in the morning!

In regard to the bar, I appreciate your comments, and although it's almost unheard of for somebody not to be present to change the barrels immediately, we will ensure more is done to ensure our guests get their drink of choice!

Thanks again
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We only came here for a meal on Fathers day, in the evenings on a Sunday the dining room doesn't open until 6.30pm and cooks until 8.30pm, we were seated quickly, there was 5 of us and a toddler, it looked like they only had one high chair which could of been a problem if more kids had turned up.
Service was great, couldn't fault it.
The food all came hot and freshly cooked, we all really enjoyed our meal and none of us could say anything bad. The puddings were a good size.
Overall very nice, and we'd definitely go back for another meal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshcat0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you were all pleased with your meals and that the service and all of the food was goo enough to make you want to return to The Chainbridge again in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We returned to the Chainbridge hotel after we stayed here last year, the room was very tired so this year I booked a suite. On our arrival to our suite it was the same as the room we had last year but with a bigger balcony and I paid an extra £30 for this. The food in the restaurant was tasteless and the lamb shanks were only just cooked and had no sauce. We complained and we were offered a free drink but we declined. The breakfast was a joke, we had our breakfast with the last peoples dirty dishes on our table the girls waiting were just lazy, by the time we got our tea our breakfast was over. We will not stay here again or recommend this hotel to anyone. We were very disappointed with the reaction from reception when we check out, all we got was sorry, This is not good enough !!

Room Tip: Do not pay the extra thinking you will get a better room because the 2 rooms we have stayed in were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TerryB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

I'm sorry that you were disappointed by your stay, we aim to please all of our guests and strive to provide everybody with a pleasant stay. Although the shanks weren't to your liking, as you both ate all of your meals, you were offered a free drink as a gesture of goodwill. In regard to breakfast, the waitresses did offer you one of the tables that were set and ready for guests, but you opted to stay on a table that had just been vacated, which on a very busy Sunday morning can take a few minutes to fully clear. The room was £20 more than a standard double, and is twice the size, with additional seating etc. I'm glad that the Receptionist offered an apology following your comments, which reflects our desire to please are guests, but as I say, we regret that we failed to fully satisfy your requirements during your stay.

Regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The view from the Chainbridge is second to none. It's a pity the 'chain bridge' is falling apart and not made more of but not cheap to repair I guess. We were fortunate to have good weather so could sit out on the balcony - a riverside room is well worth paying for and although rather on the small side, the balcony makes up for it. The river can be quite loud (although I don't mind that at all) but the efficient double glazing shuts out most of the noise (although not sure why you'd want to). The food was adequate to good - not top quality but quite acceptable and plenty of choice (a bit limited for vegetarians). I like the unpretentious feel of the hotel - it isn't five star and doesn't pretend to be. It's clean and comfortable and astonishingly good value for money. I couldn't believe we were only paying GBP70 per night B&B for a double river room. As others have commented, there are only 5 TV channels and almost no mobile signal, but that's due to the location and you can't have both. There are plenty of places to visit within easy reach or you can just sit out and watch the trains and the river go by. Well worth another visit in the future.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lemmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you will be returning in the future.

We're very pleased that the local council is working hard to organise the restoration of the chain bridge, which will see it reopened to the public and restored to its former glory.

We aim to provide exceptional value and I am glad that you found that to be the case, and are pleased that all of the things you enjoyed here at the hotel made for a memorable stay.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Recently stayed at the Chainbridge. Great stay, pleasant staff, clean room, good food and amazing setting! We did have great weather, which probably helped, but still - what a setting! Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaymorechovolsye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review, following your recent stay.

We are very pleased that every thing you mention was of a good standard and that it may for a great stay.

I think that the Welsh landscape offered something different for you as South African guests - and it's probably a good thing that we were having a good spell of weather!

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stay regularly at this hotel which is like home from home with warm, personal and friendly service. It must be the most beautiful location in Wales with stunning river views at the front which can be enjoyed from the most comfortable rooms with a spacious balcony. The food is out of this world with an excellent choice of courses and the staff are wonderful. Why go anywhere else?

Room Tip: Only slightly more expensive than the canal-side rooms bit it's worth it to stay at the front ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferrequinologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your kind words. We're truly lucky and grateful to have such pleasant regular guests, and we are pleased to see you each and every time you come to the hotel.

We are of course thrilled that you enjoy the hotel so much, and we know that we will see you before long.

Thank you, for being such a generous, pleasant and supportive guest.

Best regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
781 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
495 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
280 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range: $128 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing