We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location lovely staff”
Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chainbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and i have just returned from a couple of nights at the hotel. What a lovely location, on line pictures do not do this justice, you have to visit to see. Staff were friendly, helpful and not overbearing and had personality and a genuine love of the place. That shines through so much! The walk into town is about 30 minutes along the tow path and 5 minutes walk the other way is the beautiful horseshoe falls. We ate in town one evening (the gallery -lovely,!) and the second night enjoyed great food which was well presented at the hotel. Very reasonable pricing and a nice wine list to choose from. We chose to stay in a suite overlooking the river and this could have been slightly better......not sure if it could be classed as a suite but was surely bigger than other rooms .....a towel rail in the bathroom would be helpful and a TV that had more channels would be even better and 2 glasses would be great instead of 1 but it was comfy, nicely furnished, clean and probably in line with what we paid for the room. The only 'complaint' would be that the rooms over the top of our room sounded as though they were clog dancing!every movement and step across the room sounded as though they were coming through the ceiling. I understand that a building like this would have some creaks and that there is not much that could be done to combat this. I just wanted a lie in and to rest but ended up getting up earlier than I would have when working!! But apart from this we loved the atmosphere, food, staff,experience, value for money and location.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank sammyE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your visit to the hotel last weekend.

We're very pleased that you enjoyed your staff, and that the friendly staff, wonderful location and good food all provided you with a pleasant break here in Wales. We're also pleased that you enjoyed The Gallery in town, which we hear many good things about from our residents.

I'm very sorry that there was some disturbance from the room above, this is extremely rare and I will look into it. I am glad that you had lovely weather for your visit - if you have to be up early at least the weather allowed you to enjoy the view!

I appreciated your comments and we're grateful for your support.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
There are newer reviews for Chainbridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 812 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I was somewhat dubious about staying here as have stayed a couple of times in the past but it was bought as a present so me and my husband and two boys went. The hotel reception area has been refurbished as have parts of the hotel and this is ongoing. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The ladies on reception, one who has worked there for 30 years. Our family room was massive, two rooms put together. The children lived having their own on suite. The beds were comfy, tea/coffee was all replenished very generously. We ate at the hotel for two nights. The food was amazing and I'm fussy. Janet Jackson the chef was fantastic. She is so passionate about cooking. The breakfasts were perfect. The hotel is beginning to feel like it has found itself. There is really nothing better to do then sit looking out at the river with a coffee or beer !! Would I stay again ? Yes! My youngest child was very upset about leaving! We will be back soon.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank CheshireMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for such a passionate and generous review.

We're thrilled that you and your family had such a wonderful time at the hotel. It's very pleasing to know that any hesitancy you had after previous stays in the past was eradicated, and that you were impressed by the new look of much of the hotel.

The staff are, indeed, exceptionally friendly and work very hard to help guests enjoy their time with us.

We're also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food - since Janet Jackson turned her back on the music industry she has shown a real flair for cooking (sorry Janet! No more jokes).

We are delighted that you will be returning in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We called in for a late lunch and were pleased to see the renovation work which has been carried out since our last visit. The work has been carried out sympathetically and maintains the character of the building.

We enjoyed a light lunch, well presented and reasonably priced. the staff were most accommodating and when we expressed an interest n the hotel we were given a tour of the facilities. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAYKAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for kindly posting a positive review after your lunch at The Chainbridge.

We're very pleased that you were impressed by the work that has been done to improve the building, and we're glad that you found your food to be pleasant and well priced.

All of the staff work very hard in order to ensure that our guests enjoy their time with us, and I'm glad that you found this to be the case.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have stayed a number of times at this hotel over the past ten years or so. We were a little hesitant to stay there again a our last previous stay had been very disappointing. However we were pleasantly surprised to see that the new owner has started a huge refurbishment project and the hotel is having a very impressive make over.
We stayed at the hotel at the beginning of February 2014. Our room was at the far end of the hotel and was one that had recently been refurbished. It was very pleasant and comfortable although the bed was a little uncomfortable.
We had dinner which was nice although the menu looks like it has not been altered in quite a while and there was not a great deal to choose from. Previously we have had exceptional food here.
All in all we had a lovely pleasant stay. This is a work in progress and I am sure this hotel will soon be back to its former glory. With plans to repair the old Chainbridge over the river this will be spectacular.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay at The Chainbridge. I'm very glad that the changes we have made to date were well received, and that you enjoyed your stay. Of course there is more for us to do which we will continue to work towards, as we strive to make the hotel a more special and pleasant place to eat, drink and stay.

We agree, with the planned refurbishment of the bridge, the hotel will provide an even more spectacular backdrop for guests to enjoy.

We hope to see you again,

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were treated to a lovely time in the Chainbridge Hotel. The service was excellent, the food was delicious and the views were breathtaking. The river was mesmerizing from the room balcony and the restauraunt. We were lucky enough to avoid the rain and got out on some lovely walks and a trip on the steam train. We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sib28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Chainbridge over the Valentine's weekend. We're very pleased to hear that you so enjoyed your time here. It's fantastic and very satisfying to know that you'd recommend the hotel, and we're very glad that the food, service and of course views were all to your liking.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Just had a 2 night stay. As usual staff and hotel lovely. Thank you to seamus and the team for making our stay such a lovely one. Room lovely. Just booked another stay in march. Would highly recommend a visit here.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank calol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay at The Chainbridge. We are delighted that you once again enjoyed your stay, and that you've rebooked for March. It's wonderful to have guests who regularly visit and enjoy the hotel, and we're lucky to have such pleasant guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and thank you again for your comments.

All the best,
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The river is amazing, could sit there looking at it for hours particularly with the hotel right on the river so you can view it from your room, bar our restaurant. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food was of a good quality. There's a number of walks from the hotel, we walked along the cansl into the charming town, taking about 30mins.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank obiyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel, following your short stay with us. We're very pleased that we contributed to your very successful tour of the UK, and wish you a pleasant trip back to Australia.

It was a pleasure to meet you and we're pleased that all aspects of the hotel contributed to a successful, peaceful and enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
776 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
490 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range: $127 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing