We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for veggies, but dogs lovers clearly welcome”
Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chainbridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not for veggies, but dogs lovers clearly welcome”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

On arrival was very impressed with the new decor. However it went down hill from there. We had drinks to start with as food was not being served till 6:30. 2 of our drinks were fine but the pint of beer was served in a dirty glass covered in paint. As we sat at our table we notice a large Amount of white dog hairs all over the floor. Our second drinks were much better and we collected menus at the same time. However we were unable to order as there was no veggie option at all in the main meals. The other meals seemed very highly priced and to be fair there was nothing really that we fancied so we left, without eating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ely20021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I'm sorry that you didn't order any of the vegetarian options on our menu - we do have vegetarian starters, mains and desserts - and when we have set menus and specials we always provide a vegetarian option too.

We do welcome dogs in the bar area of the hotel (as long as they are on a lead), as the hotel and the surrounding area is a very popular spot for dog walking, but we appreciate that some dogs lose more hair than others etc. When you came to the hotel we had quite a lot of rain, which I don't think helped. Obviously these areas are frequently and thoroughly cleaned.

I'm very happy that you approve of the new decor, and that of course the location of the hotel pleased you.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    259
    100
    47
    45
See reviews for
137
457
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went here today as family of 10 to get a bars back as family had stayed before and said the place was great.
It was quite busy and only a table in the lounge with 4 seats and another at the bar with 4 seats.
Another customer advised us they a few people had been asked if they would like to sit in the restaurant for their bar snacks but declined and stayed in the lounge.
My husband went into the restaurant and asked a girl if we could sit in there and her sharp response was 'no only bookings' he advised what the other guest said and she just responded 'no'. She was very rude and didn't apologise like any normal person would...no sorry it's bookings only!!!
We left the hotel and went to the Bryn Howel down the road which was much better and very welcoming.
Avoid Chainbridge unless you have booked!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I'm sorry to hear of your experience yesterday, and surprised also. I think there was a bit of a breakdown in communication, which I apologise for. We were very busy indeed yesterday, all the seats in the bar, lounge and snug were occupied, and the restaurant was close to capacity too. We were seating extra guests in the restaurant for Sunday lunch, who didn't have bookings, so I'm sorry that you didn't have the chance to sit down and join us. As you'll see from other comments, we are frequently receiving reviews commenting on the friendliness of our staff, so I think we can put this down to a misunderstanding. It's a shame too, that your score for the location was 3/5 on this occasion, when last time you reviewed us it was 4/5 - I'm not aware that the hotel's moved?! All the same, we strive to give people a warm welcome & a thoroughly enjoyable time here at the hotel, and I'm very sorry that on this occasion you felt you didn't receive that. I certainly hope that you'll be back, and that we'll have the chance to make your next visit as enjoyable as your previous one, which you were so complementary about.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently stayed for a weekend with friends & had a fabulous time. Yes the sun was shining & the weather hot but without these we would still have had a wonderful stay. The Hotel is in an amazing setting & the rooms, overlooking the river, were both lovely (biscuits with tea/coffee facilities were gorgeous). Sitting out on the balcony & watching the steam trains opposite & young people navigating the river was very relaxing.

The staff are very friendly, but effiecient also, the food excellent & extremely good value, & the Hotel spotless.

There are lovely walks from the Hotel, down the canal path to the town centre (where you can catch the train) & also in the opposite direction to the horseshoe falls where we saw lots of people picnicking. The town centre had some independant shops but also a small supermarket for any bits & pieces you may need.

We shall certainly be returning & can highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahiaWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for such generous and kind comments, we're thrilled that you were so pleased with your stay and that you and your friends enjoyed your visit to The Chainbridge Hotel.

There is very little to say in response to your positive comments, just that we're grateful for them. Every review we receive we endeavour to work on feedback to make further improvement to the hotel, but reviews such as yours are very pleasing to receive, and we look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have just returned from a three night weekend break at this hotel. We booked following a recommendation from a rfriend who has been a few times. We had a lovely room over looking the river, which was breathtaking- and much appreciated over the warmest weekend of the year. We were aware that the hotel is in the middle of an upgrade. Our room was comfortable and simply dressed but we were more than happy. Bed comfortable!
We arrived quite late in the evening but were still invited to eat in the dinning room. The staff were attentive, when they could quite easily have been fed up with our late appearance!Breakfast the following morning was also of a high standard. We also had Sunday Dinner in the restaurant - a snip at £15.95 for three courses.
All through our stay the staff were excellent, cheerful and helpful! Keep up the good work, we cannot wait to return to watch the hotel develop. I just wish those who complain could see that it is a work in progess. Thank you for a wonderful break>

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the river so that you get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat8964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for such a generous and kind review. We're always touched to receive such warm messages and reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay with us.

I'm thrilled that you had such a wonderful time at the hotel - helped by the stunning recent weather - and that you found all elements of your stay, from the staff, service and food, to the views and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, when you return to check on us!

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

the Chainbridge Hotel is a must for us when we come to Llangollen (a nearly yearly pilgrimage). Althought the hotel has previously seen hard times, a lot of refurbishment work is now underway.

The hotel is situated between the River Dee and the Llangollen Canal with views of the river and across the Chain Bridge to Berwyn Railway station and you will see steam trains making their way up and down the track.

The viewing galleries / lounge areas are the perfect place to sit and enjoy a coffee or something a little stronger - and there is free wi-fi available, a must when phone signal can be so patchy in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmaLois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of The Chainbridge. I'm delighted to learn that the hotel is a 'go to' place for you on your annual trip to this part of Wales, and as you say, the views are unique and wonderful.

As you note, considerable work has been done, to update the hotel, which we hope makes it an even better place to visit, whether for food, drinks, or an overnight stay.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

After very high expectations, and even swapping our room from the canal side to the river side (due to wanting a balcony view), we were disappointed with the standard of the room in particular the balcony. It was dirty, full of flies and cobwebs, it looked like it had never been swept, and the chairs provided on the balcony had bird droppings on them. Also, the balcony was not private, you are able to see the people next to you and all the way along. The owner needs to upgrade the balcony's, make them more private and get someone to clean them! Also, the bathroom was grubby, the shelf was falling off, the tiles were thick with dust, and the television only had one channel (BBC1). All in all, very disappointed with the stay. On the plus side, the river was beautiful, the staff on reception were extremely pleasant, the breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: If you are planning to stay in a balcony room, be prepared for all the flies, cobwebs, dirt and bird...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm saddened to hear that you were disappointed by aspects of your stay on this occassion. Our location is the best and, at times, the worst thing about The Chainbridge Hotel - at this time of year flies and cobwebs appear very quickly, due to being right on the river and the warmer temperatures we've been enjoying. Due to this, we have increased the frequency of balcony cleans, to keep on top of it. In regard to the balconies, we are also replace some decking, and installing divides between the balconies, which will provide guests with a degree of privacy while maintaining the wonderful views.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the wonderful views of the river, and the food and friendliness of the staff during your stay, but apologise for the issues you have raised - they are being resolved.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night break at this hotel and we enjoyed every minute of it. Beautiful setting, good food and the staff went out of their way to make our stay so pleasant. This is our third time at the Chainbridge hotel and we would definitely like to go back. Just one small gripe, the balconies just needed a little cleaning and tidying up then it would be perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - it's clear that The Chainbridge is a place you love to come, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. All of the staff work very hard to serve our guests, so getting positive feedback is very welcome and appreciated.

This time of year, with our location on the river, means that the balconies can need more cleaning than usual, so we've increased the regularity of cleaning, thank you for the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at some point in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Property: Chainbridge Hotel
Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing