We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With a little TLC this will be a perfect hotel!”
Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chainbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I recently spent one night in room 35. Can't fault the location - we paid a little extra to have a riverside room and it was really worth it! We sat out on the balcony in the sun overlooking the river, 3 bridges and the steam railway. Approx 30 min walk into llangollen along the beautiful canal. The room was spotlessly clean and looked like it had been recently redecorated. The only problems were the broken panel on the bath and the patio door to the balcony didn't fit properly so there was a large gap at the top of the door (not a problem for us as the room was really hot but might be an issue in colder weather). These minor problems didn't spoil our stay at all and once they are sorted it would definitely get 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurafry80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Many thanks for posting a review of your stay here at The Chainbridge. I'm delighted that, on the whole, you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. With the good weather we've enjoyed recently guests have made the most of the hotel's stunning location overlooking the river and station, and the sunshine certainly brings out the best of Wales!

I appreciate your comments regarding the smaller touches and issues, and they will be addressed. We look forward to you returning to The Chainbridge and this wonderful part of Wales!

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
There are newer reviews for Chainbridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 812 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just wanted to give positive feedback on my recent (May 2013) stay at the Chainbridge. The whole experience was excellent and I will definitely be back.

I am a teacher and a few of my friends and I booked a break over half term. We booked online and were instantly impressed by the stunning setting where the Chainbridge is located.

The staff are extremely polite, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast each morning is delicious, plentiful and set us up perfectly for each day.

It was my first time visiting Llangollen and it is a great place with lots to do. We enjoyed a round of golf at the lovely Vale of Llangollen Golf Club. We also went for various walks and the views were stunning.

My room was recently renovated to a high standard and had a balcony looking out over the river and it was really memorable setting.

It was a wonderful few days and I thoroughly enjoyed the visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eamon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Chainbridge.

It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, and that you made the most of your time here in Llangollen to explore. There's a great deal to do for people of all ages and with all interests, and I'm sure when you return you'll be equally glad to explore.

I'm delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be so enjoyable, and that the pleasant and polite staff, and stunning location made for a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Took a bit of a punt on this place passing through but it's a real find, for the following reasons:

- A number of rooms haven't yet been refurbished, including mine, but even though my room and bed were quite dated, the bed was comfortable and the room was warm, very clean and had hot water at a decent pressure, which are the most important elements of a good hotel room anyway.

- I bumped in to the staff as they were changing some of the refurbed rooms on the river side and they were only too happy to let me have a look - turns out they're really nicely done with a fantastic balcony space overlooking the river. There surely can't be a better riverside view in the UK?!

- The downstairs lobby, bar and restaurant areas have all been recently refurbished to a really nice standard and both my late lunch (sometime after 14.30) and dinner were delicious. The local ales they have on tap are brilliant too.

- Unfortunately it was raining, but had it not been the garden at the far end of the hotel from the reception would make a fantastic lunch time retreat, again with awesome views of the river.

- Before checking out the next morning I went for a very peaceful run along the canal towpath to town and back. Back at the hotel I headed straight past it in the other direction to find a stunning countryside river scene. The location is truly idyllic. I think you can keep walking further along the river in that direction too.

- I returned from my run to a great, hearty breakfast and quick and easy check out.

- Throughout my stay the staff were courteous and friendly. There are some characters, but that only serves to personalise the service, as you feel like you're being taken care of by real people, as opposed to robotic, drilled employees.

I'm not in Llangollen very much, but should I return I'll head straight for this place. I hope I can bag myself a riverside room next time!

Thanks to the GM and his team, who turned my stop-off in to a very memorable experience.

Room Tip: Try and get a riverside room with a balcony. It's simply stunning, even in the rain.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_4lderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Many thanks for your extensive and generous review. I'm delighted to hear that you were so impressed by so many facets of the hotel. As you say, not all of the rooms have yet been refurbished, as our work to improve the hotel is still ongoing. The communal areas of the hotel have been transformed, as you say, and we think that the changes make it easier for our guests to enjoy our wonderful location. As you say, it's a beautiful spot, with lots to do and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel will be lovely when all the refurbishment is completed. We were in a 2nd floor room with a big balcony overlooking the raging river and the old Chain Bridge. The room was small but clean, obviously has just been redecorated. No hooks to hang towels on in bathroom, I am a believer in lots of hooks as they are so useful!
Parts of the hotel had not been refurbished and when it is all finished, it will be much improved. The staff were all very nice and the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with a balcony to admire the wonderful view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. As you say, much has been done in terms of renovations, to improve the hotel, and there is still plenty to keep us busy adding the small finishing touches - like hooks in the bathrooms!

I'm delighted that you enjoyed the views and the hotel's location, and that you found all of the staff pleasant and the food enjoyable.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having read a number of very positive reviews for this hotel, stating the huge improvemnts since the new management have taken over, I booked 2 weekends for me, my husband and son to stay at the Chainbridge.
I have just returned from the first weekend I booked and I have cancelled the next one, even though the hotel Manager refused to refund the holding deposit for the next weekend.
On arrival on Friday evening we checked in, no problem. I could see that the reception, bar area and dining areas had indeed been recently decorated. These areas were fine; not contemporary or luxury in any way but totally fine.
We went to our room; room 37 on the second floor. Our room was horrendous! The decoration was awfully dated and not in the slightest coordinated, the double bed was very very old and extremely uncomfortable, the pilows were again old and pretty digusting. The 2 single beds had dirty bases and the matresses hung off the sides. The carpet had a piece missing about 3' x 2'. There were no plug sockets (except for behind the beds) to plug in the old kettle. There was no mirror in the bedroom. There was no hairdryer. The shower was luke warm and trickled out. There was skirting boards missing. The door to the balcony was totally broken and wouldn't shut properly as it was ripped of the hinges and not repaired. The heat in the room was unbareable, with no fans to cool the room. In summary it was horrendous.
We were in the area for a sporting event so had no choice but to stay!
Breakfast didn't start till 730am and there was no offer to assit us when we said we had to leave at 730am each morning to get to the event. In fact when I asked if they would reduce the rate slightly due to us not having breakfast, I was told 'not my fault you booked it and now can't have it'! No, it wasn't her fault but not a very customer friendly response!
On Sunday morning, thankfully our departure day, we went down from our room at 725am to pay our bill. The doors to reception area were locked. We waited 15 mins, nothing. The only staff in the hotel were 2 teenage girls setting up breakfast. Around 740am the manager, Seamus appeared in his coat. We explained we were now running very late so if he called us we would sort payment over the phone. No call all day!
In the evening, on our way home, we called back into the hotel to pay our bill as they had not called to take payment as arranged. When I arrived in reception I was told they had taken the payment off our credit card and they had also taken payment for our friends room off our credit card!!! I was horrified. Our friends room was not secured on our credit card so the hotel fraudulently took a payment!
After around 40 mins discussion with firstly a rude receptionist and then a very unhelpful and generally useless hotel manager we got the payment for our friends room refunded!
Not sure who wrote all the positive reviews but this hotel is not up to 1 star standard.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank NickiWBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

I've been waiting for this review, and the other twenty reviews you have explained you are going to ask people to write about the hotel, with great expectations. I apologise that you found my customer service lacking on this occasion, I find it incredibly difficult to be pleasant when I am being sworn at and insulted.

It's such a shame that people like you use Tripadvisor as a bargaining chip, and threaten hotels with bad reviews in order to try and get a discount on your stay. Threatening and attempting to bribe people unfortunately has the opposite effect to the one you desire, and strengthens my desire and my resolve to act morally, and not be deterred by attempts to intimidate.

Should any issue have been raised with us, we would have endeavoured to have resolved it, however nothing was mentioned. Indeed, I saw a member of your party at 7.20am, who made no mention of wanting to pay. As you rightly say, I was wearing a coat, which must be incredibly relevant, but if you'd have asked then I could have changed in to any number of different outfits. If the suggestion is that I was late, then I should let you know that I had been at the hotel since 6.30am, and if your suggestion is that I take a lazy approach to work I invite you to come and shadow me for a week. Anyhow, when the request was made to check out, twenty minutes before Reception opened, I of course obliged, only to be spoken to in a very rude and condescending manner that 'you'd better be quick', 'we don't have time for this', 'call us to sort payment, we're leaving'. It's not common practice for residents to leave a hotel without paying an outstanding bill. In regard to your comments regarding missing breakfast and wanting a reduction in price, we were not informed that you wished to leave early, however we often organise continental breakfasts for people who so wish. We were also never told that you wanted to check out before Reception opened.

During your stay, staff repeatedly parked in an area that is designated as no parking, and is for the use of turning only, as it is essential this space is left clear for emergency services. When you were politely asked to move your vehicle you refused, and were rude to our staff. When we continued to remind you of the need to move your vehicle you continued to be rude and the vehicle still remained unmoved.

I am personally delighted that you have cancelled your stay next week, and my decision not to return your £25 deposit (in accordance with our policy) was based largely on the rude way in which you spoke to my colleagues and me. For the record, the £25.00 has been donated to a local charity. I'll forward you their details if you wish to seek your money back.

Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Visited 24th-27th May 2013 Reception,Bar,Restaurant & Lounge areas clean and newly refurbished. However our SUITE as was described was in fact a FAMILY room ie one double bed & two singles Room 37, this will be a nice Room when it is finally finished Balcony door did not shut.no hairdryer.only one mirror this was in the bathroom.no waste bin in bedroom. Small things but all the things you would expect to have. On a positive note food good, setting brilliant overlooking the River Dee and Steam Trains running rght opposite. Just a short walk down the canal and you are in Llangollen.Will revisit when all refurbishments are complete and the Chainbridge re opens approx 2014.

Room Tip: If booking a suite make sure it is not no 37 as this is a large Family Room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 312daj1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the hotel. I apologise that you were put in a Family Room rather than a suite, albeit a large room with balcony and river views, I appreciate that was not what you requested when you booked and I apologise for this error. We will be sure that such accidents don't happen again.

I'm very glad to hear that you were pleased by the renovations to the ground floor of the hotel, with its new bar, reception and lounge. It's good to hear too, that the food and unique setting were appreciated.

The hope is that the Chain Bridge which runs over the River Dee will be restored and reopened within 12 months, which will attract many visitors to the area, and we're delighted to hear that you'll be among them.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Having stayed here recently for my friends wedding, I had to take time to write a short review. I was so impressed with the venue, staff, rooms, food and the views.

This place is really going places and has proven it can now deliver a superb venue for weddings.

Well done to all at the Chainbridge Hotel. Keep up the hard work.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acorn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your friends wedding, and that you were so impressed by the staff, food, and views.

We have implemented a significant amount of changes and improvements, and we hope that as we continue to work hard and further develop the hotel, we will enable guests to enjoy the hotel even more, and make the most of our wonderful setting and views.

I hope very much to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
776 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
490 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range: $127 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing