We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place, we loved it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chainbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chainbridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous place, we loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely love this place, if you want to get away for a chilled break stay here.

The location is perfect, the staff are lovely, the food is great and to top it off the accommodation is comfortable and clean.

There are a few drawbacks, phone and tv reception is a bit hit and miss but that adds to the "escape from it all" break.

There was work being undertaken on the place but it didn't spoil our stay and we will definitely be returning again and again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manchester49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review - it's fantastic to receive such great comments and to hear that you will be returning 'again and again' is music to our ears!

Delighted that you found the staff friendly, the food good and the accommodation of a good standard, and that you managed to have the chilled out weekend you wanted.

We look forward to having you back in the future, for another enjoyable stay at The Chainbridge.

Kind regards
Seamus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    252
    98
    47
    44
See reviews for
134
445
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

visited this hotel again in february for my birthday and must say as i have visited before this hotel is really taking shape, i met what i think was the owners this time young couple about sames age as me and my husband and they were very helpful and friendly advisiing us on places to eat although their baby was teething when they tried one they didnt stay but i must say he was the cutest baby going, room again was very cosy breakfast was highly enjoyable i just love this hotel last tme i stayed here i stayrd at another hotel which might i add was cheaper but not as picturesque as the chainbridge thats why i decided to pay the extra and stay here again i love this hotel and will stay here all the time from now on when i visit llangiollen i recommended it to a friend who enjoyed it too!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Paula,

Many thanks for your very kind and positive review. I'm thrilled to hear that you love the hotel so much, and that you can see things are taking shape. We have made a great deal of changes since you last came, so it's great that you think the things that have been done have been done well, and are improving the hotel.

I'm very pleased to hear that you'll be returning, when no doubt more work will be complete - the things that we aim to keep the same are the amazing view, good, friendly service and top quality food.

Thanks too, re your comments regarding the boy, it might be another 17 years before we get to go out for that meal, but I hope that you found our advice on places to eat useful!

All the best
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

we went back to the chainbridge hotel after being there twice before we knew it would be a quiet and relaxing break .what we did not expect was snow .even though we had no power from saturday till monday .it still did not spoil our break it was quite exiting things that we take for granted like putting on a kettel no hot water to wash my hair .no mobile phone .we can not thank seamus and his staff espcially jim our chef enough how he cooked our food in a candel lite kitchen i dont know .seamus made sure we had plenty of hot tea coffee and alcohol and he made sure we were well fed by jim.the other couple who where snowed in managed to get there car out on monday ours was still snowed in we had to get our son from bangor to get us home .we will get ours on saturday .seamus done us proud even under pressure a big thankyou again

Room Tip: river view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Daw and Eddie

What a weekend! It's always nice to welcome people back to the hotel, but I know you weren't expecting the weekend we had.

Despite the difficult conditions you both managed to keep upbeat and positive throughout, and we had a good time in your company, given the circumstances!

We look forward to welcoming you back again, when we have a heatwave!

All the best
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This has to be the most challenging weekend this hotel ever had! My wife Alison had booked Friday and Saturday last as a birthday surprise for me. With an uneasy eye on the snow we arrived in Llangollen and made our way towards the Chainbridge Hotel. We'd been advised beforehand to park in "the top car park" but the snow was so bad by now all the signs were concealed. We only managed to reach the road above the car park, and then with the help of a work crew who used their 4WD to tow us the final few metres.

We walked down the snowy pathways (approx 3/4m deep and the iron steps and arrived at the hotel. Luckily it was warm and welcoming and we had a cup of hot tea. After a meal - the menu is not super-modern but is good quality, hearty and filling - we had a drink at the bar and went to bed. At around 4am the power went off, leaving us with no heating or lighting and no hot water. There was no mobile signal and the phones went off too. We were stuck in the hotel with one other couple, the hotel owner, Seamus, and the sous chef Jim.

So out came the "blitz spirit". Seamus and Jim made constant hot and bar drinks available along with food whenever we wanted it, and this from a kitchen without any light (apart from candles) and nothing other than gas cookers and hobs. We were fed meals as usual, plus delicious Welsh cakes and scones.

We trudged back to the car to get things we needed and to see what the chances of digging it out were. Pretty much zero. Back in the hotel we were offered extra duvets and had to go back to bed a few times just to get warm. The power stayed off all Saturday and all Sunday, only coming back on at 6am Monday. Poor Seamus wanted to get back to his equally-stranded wife and young baby and we said we'd organise a pickup from the A5 (sill open as far as Berwen Station) by my son in Chester. On going back to the car, however, we managed, with the cheerful assistance of some local passers-by, to extricate the car and turn it to face back to town, so made our way back to the hotel again to check out. I am sure Seamus was relieved, but he'd stood by his guests through thick (snow) and thin (temperatures) so selflessly throughout. We couldn't have asked for better attention and I use this opportunity to say another thank you to Seamus and Jim for the way they treated us through this difficult weekend.

Finally, I should add that the views over the river, trees and mountains from the hotel were spectacular, but we can only imagine what they're like in colour!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobNewmanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review - I never want to see you again!!

Only joking (of course) but I think you're as determined as me that when you do return it will be in good, or better, weather. It was, indeed, a weekend to remember. I'm grateful to you that you managed as admirably as you both did, and, in the most trying of circumstances, I think everybody involved did very well.

The least we could do was to ensure that you were kept in good spirits (of the whisky variety) and tea (of the 'hot off the stove' variety). I don't think weather like that has ever been seen in these parts and it certainly gave all of us - both hotel and guest - plenty to keep us on our toes. I agree with you that Jim was a shining light (when there were few!) and all in all, I think it could have been worse!

Thanks for the review, thank you for your understanding and comraderie, and thank you for getting your car out of the snow!!

We'll see you again, but let's check the forecast first.

Best regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This Hotel is set in the most perfect location just outside Llangollen between the River and the Canal. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, very friendly staff, lovely food and great service. The "bridge" itself is awaiting redevelopment but will ultimately link to the Steam Railway across the River. Its a great base for exploring this area of Wales. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackmetal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It's an absolute delight receiving your review, and I am sure that all of the staff here at The Chainbridge will be thrilled to see your remarks. We are very pleased that all aspects of the hotel, from the stunning location, to the friendly staff and the excellent food, all met your approval, and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time here in this special part of Wales.

All the best
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay - what a lovely treat for my birthday!! We were greeted warmly at the beautiful brand new reception area. Improvements are ongoing but don't interfere in guests stay at all and no work is done at the weekend. It is lovely to see how the hotel is being given such lovely restoration. The views from all areas are fantastic, The food is delicious and every member of the 6 staff we met were so friendly, yet professional at all times - always attentive but not intrusive. It's a short drive to Llangollen but we also really enjoyed the canal walk - approx 30 mins. Also drove Trevor to walk over the Aquaduct. 2 miles other way is spectacular Horseshoe Pass. The hotel is ideally situated for all attractions but you could easily just stay at the hotel and enjoy the beautiful service and surroundings and watch the river, wildlife and canoes go by. Thank you to everyone, we will return to see the end results of your hard work ASAP.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review - it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and all of the hard work of the staff is made worthwhile when guests are happy and satisfied.

I'm very pleased that you like the improvements and renovations we have made to date, and I'm sure that by the time you return we will have made more additions and changes which we hope will further add to our guests' experience of the hotel.

I'm glad too, that you enjoyed so much of the surrounding countryside and that you had a good birthday.

Kind regards
Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Im in the catering business and there is nothing better than a Sunday in the peace and quite after a very busy Saturday night at the restaurant, this place is located perfectly for a nice rest...
Loved the surroundings and the friendly staff, rooms were clean and very reasonable breakfast, don't really understand why so many people moan when this little hotel its fantastic value for money.
Will try and have dinner in the Hotel next time.
Recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveBartWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Many thanks for the great review. I'm very glad that we are able to provide some rest in your otherwise very busy life!

It's great to read that you enjoy so many facets of the hotel, and hopefully next time you'll sample the food too. Perhaps being in the industry gives you a better knowledge on the costs etc, I agree, I think we represent excellent value for money and we'll continue to strive to give our guests a lovely, comfortable stay, with warm and professional service, good food and drink, in a unique and peaceful location.

We look forward to welcoming you back before long.

Kind regards
Seamus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chainbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Property: Chainbridge Hotel
Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Chainbridge Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing