We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great view, lovely cottage, welcoming owners”
other travelers have booked this property
Set in a wonderful rural location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set in a wonderful rural location
Swallows Cottage bedroom Swallows Cottage - romantic dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Set in a wonderful rural location
Swallows Cottage bedroom
Swallows Cottage - romantic dining
Swallows Cottage - fully equipped kitchen
Swallows Cottage - bedroom
Dog friendly
Dee Valley Cottage - child friendly
garden
River View near the cottages
Upside to a showery day
Swallows Cottage - dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan S
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great view, lovely cottage, welcoming owners”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Good communication before and after our holiday.
Friendly onsite owners but no intrusion unless asked for.
Prompt action for queeries whilst there.
Nice property inside, large enough for 4 people especially with the study / quiet area upstairs.
Large bathroom had ample room for disabled person using walking frame.
Extensive info / leaflets about the local area and places to visit / things to do.
Good wifi, tv, and kitchen electrical appliances.
Nice and quiet without being too far away from amenaties / shops.
Lovely welcome basket on arrival.
Would be suitable if you just wanted to get away from things for a few days or as a base to do things.
Although we were there in the summer (supposedly) I would think it would be very cosy in the winter as well with the open fire and not being very large areas to heat.
Ramped path upto Swallows cottage enough to get wheelchair up and down ( need some power obviously to push up) and wheelchair access into the cottage. Car park area was gravel which wasnt suitable to push wheelchair on so had to park by the path to unload person into the wheelchair, which was a case of trial and error to get the car in the correct position with the narrow path --but this wouldnt put us off coming again.
Overall a very enjoyable week and will look to book again next year if the parents are of the same health.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy cottage with lovely view
Liked least: unloading passenger into wheelchair at end of narrow path
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2012
Thank you for your review, as noted in our email discussions since our "post stay" email, we have looked at what can be done to assist with the wheelchair access. Your suggestion of extending the path was an excellent idea, we thought perhaps an extension with a rounded-widened end into the gravel would be the best solution. Just need the weather to be kind to us to get it set up. Thank you again. It is always good to get suggestions from people who have the experience and understanding of what is needed. Hope to see you again. best wishes Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globetrot...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“The wales trip got worse”
Reviewed June 25, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

After our journey we were looking forward to a wonderful stay at the swallows cottage which we had booked in march already...Arrival was great warm welcome very happy the cottage was magnificent really gorgeous. We settled down had a meal and got ready for a shower and no hot water fortunately the owner was on site as the cottages are on the owners grounds so we called the owner who came down and was very pleasant.
The only problem was the hot water never worked in fairness the owner offered us a key to shower in their home but to me walking across the garden to have a shower in the cold was not on. Basically the owner fiddled with the boiler and took off a top to reset a failure and said the shower would get hot to our delight after he left the shower seemed to have some luke warm water and I hopped straight in only to find in the midst of washing my hair it went freezing this was in the cold and ofcourse the heating had not been on as the boiler had tripped so I was left really cold. This problem was only repaired to work beginning monday now we arrived on saturday so we had to book a b and b just for showers in order to have hot water not a good start to our vacation. The owners were so thoughtful with everything else even leaving us a basket of fresh produce for breakfast. I am very dismayed by this as what a lovely place turned into a spoiled vacation. I must say that I cannot believe the boiler had just broken down on our arrival as the owner told us the part had been cleaned and therefore worked for the rest of our stay and the part would be replaced the friday before we were to leave which is great for the next holiday maker but not for our holiday I must say i believe it was a lack of maintenance. The laststraw for me I think was the cottage has two doors a sliding door as well as a back door this handle had been stiff since we checked in and what happened was due to a lack of oil it seemed shut but was not really in this happening the dog escaped through this door and I tried to chase him and catch him causing me a fall down three steps off the lovely decking of the cottage which happened the monday well this was ofcourse the end of my holiday for me. I wont be proceeding further with this but really such a lovely cottage and such a nice couple that owned it I believe let themselves down by actually not maintaining the things that were really necessary. Im putting this dow to a bad experience never to be repeated sadly as nice as the place was I will neither recommend nor will I return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way the cottage was done very nice and relaxing
Liked least: not having a basic necesity such as hot water
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2012
We are very sorry that this lady was disappointed with her stay, we continually try to make sure that we meet or even exceed our guest’s expectations. Since the time this couple made their booking (February) we have replaced the televisions with large flat screen televisions, installed surround sound DVD players, and installed complimentary WiFi, as well as continuing with our regular maintenance and decorating, indeed the thoughtfulness we try to put into everything has been acknowledged in this review.
Answering the points made; there was no problem with the boiler, the hot water to the rest of the cottage was good, it emerged later there was a problem with the mains water pressure to the shower which had reduced the temperature of the water. During the changeover check earlier that day the shower was running well and the guests who had left that morning had been “delighted” with their stay, no problems. The boiler had been serviced in May by a Bosch engineer, and is regularly serviced, to do any other would not only counter our “thoughtfulness”, but as the boilers are oil fired, and we do not meter, or add on any charge for fuel, even it if were only in the interests of economy, they are regularly serviced.
Probably to try and make the water temperature warmer, the guests had turned all the boiler temperatures up to the fullest point which had caused the boiler to trip out, we lowered the dials, checked water levels and reset the boiler. I appreciate this lady wished to jump in the shower when we had gone down to the cottage when they asked us to on the Saturday as it was 11.00pm in the evening. However, they needed to give the boiler time to get the water back up to temperature which is why we showed them to the downstairs shower room in a recent extension to our house and gave them a key to this section, the room was warm and there was no need to wait for hot water to warm up.
I fail to understand their need to go to a B+B for a shower as, getting in a car to drive somewhere, to me would be less desirable than walking twenty or so paces to a private downstairs shower room. However this was their choice.
We arranged for a plumber to come and check the shower unit on the Monday morning, he was a local man who told us the mains pressure in the area had been increased recently, he subsequently made some adjustments to the shower flow control , after this the shower ran very hot, and continued to do so for the rest of the week, as stated in the review - the issue was resolved by Monday morning. To ensure there were no further possible problems for these and future guests, we also had a MIRA engineer come to check the shower out on the Friday, he assured us the mains pressure had been the problem and installed a new shower flow control valve to ensure the issue would be less likely to recur should the mains pressure change again.
Possibly due to some of the wettest June weather for years, when they left we found the door was sticking slightly, and we understand the concern she had to catch the dog, as it had bitten Richard at one point in the week, so her haste to catch it was appreciated. The door has now been oiled and is back to normal, unlike Richard’s trousers which are beyond repair.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorraine6...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location, beautiful views from a wonderful cottage!”
Reviewed March 3, 2012 for a stay in August 2011

We stayed Aug 2011. The cottage was well equipped and had a lovely homely feeling especially with the fire and the beams. Very clean too. Shops etc all within a short drive (5-10mins). Views from cottage are beautiful, We visited Bodnant gardens which is a must see and the aquaduct which after a 2nd attempt I did manage to walk across!! Copper mines are also worth a visit. Lots to see and do within an hours drive which makes this cottage location ideal.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: open fire and the view.
Liked least: dishwasher
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSta...
Stafford
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed March 2, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We spent a three night very relaxing break at Swallows cottage in the Dee Valley. Beautiful views from the cottage looking towards the river and steam railway. Cottage very well equipped. Friendly helpful owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely comfortable kingsize bed, cosy log fire
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Beautiful place to stay.”
Reviewed January 30, 2012 for a stay in August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of August 2011. A lovely place and setting with a warm atmosphere and welcome. Lots of things to do in the area - we went white water rafting and also took a trip to Mount Snowdon.

Would definitely thoroughly recommend this cottage for anyone on their own, a couple or a family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition and location of the property.
Liked least: Nothing to not like.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing