We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
The Valley of the Cross

Me and Hubby visited here yesterday morning (Tuesday). There is a small car parking area (free) on... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jilly2903
,
Llan Ffestiniog, United Kingdom
Great find

We found this place while looking for a different ruin, but so glad we came across it, in the... read more

Reviewed October 12, 2018
Gooner66iw
,
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Read all 297 reviews
  
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
148
96
29
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
96
29
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caravan park henry viii beautiful ruins horseshoe pass fish pond chapter house information boards green fields lovely setting out of season stunning place free entry gift shop walk around circular walk interesting history lovely walk
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped into the unassuming campsite cafe for lunch, michelin star quality! Abbey on the other hand was closed 40 minutes early

Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and Hubby visited here yesterday morning (Tuesday). There is a small car parking area (free) on the lane next to the caravan site/farm. It is open daily between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. and is FREE on Mondays & Tuesdays. When it is "manned" by Cadw, there is a chargeable entry fee. Dogs need to be on leads. No drone flying is permitted.

This cistercian monastery was built in 1201 and was dissolved in 1537. We wandered about and read the majority of the info boards. I particularly liked the elaborate vaulted ceiling in The Chapter House. This is where the self-sufficient Monks listened to a chapter of the bible which was read out to them daily. They also confessed their sins and received their punishments here!

We walked around the back to the summer house and fish pond. We didn't see any fish but there were plenty of ducks.

Thank Jilly2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

We found this place while looking for a different ruin, but so glad we came across it, in the middle of a camp site!.
There was nobody on the gate so didn't think it was open but the sign says free entry when not manned and as the gate was unlocked in we went. It is a magnificent old abbey and demonstartes the great build methods and quality of years gone by. The old pillars are in fantastic condition and the whole place gives up some excellent photo opportunities.

Thank Gooner66iw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Valley Crucis Abbey is beautiful & really is a ancient gem hidden in the Llangollen valley. Not that big but if possible take the guided tour as this only takes 20 minutes & you learn so much, things you would usually miss & or have no way of knowing otherwise such as where the hidden crypt is. Something almost magical about the place.

Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

I had wanted to visit for some time and was not disappointed. There are amazing examples of mediaeval masonry at its best, including many mason's marks. As with all these buildings you need to explore to find the gems - a double pisina in the chapel, a huge hagioscope, a holy water stoup - as well as fine carved capitals. We went on one of the 'free days' (unknowingly) so the upper floor wasn't open. If you have a choice of days check the website beforehand.
As for some of the criticisms - we had no problem parking and it is signposted; there are toilets; there is a great café; and as for the caravan park, it did not detract at all. We took lots of photos and never had to 'reposition' because of unsightly views.

Thank Marilyn0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadw_Wales, Custodian at Valle Crucis Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Abbey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

This abbey is a 12th century Cisterine abbey ruined in the sacking of the monasteries carried out by Henry VIII. Finding where to park was a bit of a nightmare as there are no sign posts, and we ended up driving round the adjacent car park for some time. However if you want to visit, just drive down towards the abbey and then park wherever you can on the left (do not take the narrow path to the right as this is not the designated parking area).

The admission is free, and there are boards around the site giving you information about the abbey and its history, which also show you where you are standing and how it would have looked when the abbey was operational.

It is a beautiful and peaceful place, marred only by the presence of one of those awful 'glamping' sites adjacent to it. The upside of the site though is that after visiting the abbey you can enjoy tea and some fabulous ice cream in the café for the site and also use the facilities there if you need to.

Considering what a stunning historical site this is, it is well worth visiting, particularly if you consider it is completely free. If you are in the area, it is well worth visiting and brings home a reminder of what this nation lost under Tudor rule.

Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

First time when we visited this beautiful place. It feels so relaxing and peaceful, we had a nice picking and a lovely walk around. We took our dog with us. Definitely, we will be back.

Thank 984chipu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadw_Wales, Custodian at Valle Crucis Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Abbey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

Very interesting piece of history, but was unable to go up to the top, due to pigeons taking roost up there

Thank Bluecath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

This is a lovely abbey - if you can ignore the camp site it appears to be located in. Theoretically there is no toilet.

Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

we attended our Granddaughters wedding here in June ...what a fantastic weekend.the Abbey is the most romantic place to have your marriage blessed. We stayed on site in one of the cottages which was wonderful. .can't explain just how good it was ...

Thank bazzaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews