We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing View from the pontcysyllte aqueduct over the Dee Valley

We booked this trip from Llangollen over the pontcysyllte aqueduct for our second time. It's a very... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Bret R
,
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Fun day out

Was lovely day out friendly tour guides. Mini bar one board. Really relaxing views are lovely. It’s... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2018
Jaymie S
via mobile
Read all 536 reviews
  
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveler rating
322
135
44
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
135
44
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse drawn trip hour trip horseshoe falls relaxing trip clip clop self drive pontcysyllte aqueduct two hours horses hooves llangollen wharf couple of hours thomas telford narrow canal running commentary tea room scones return trip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this trip from Llangollen over the pontcysyllte aqueduct for our second time. It's a very relaxing few hours, in such lovely surroundings.

Rhys and Scott were very welcoming, knowledgable and humorous. Along the trip, there was useful information given about the history of the canal and local landmarks.

On board, there were a selection of drinks and cakes/snacks to purchase, all at a reasonable price.

If you get the chance, take the opportunity to stand at the back of the boat with the skipper while you go over the pontcysyllte aqueduct and enjoy the fantastic view over the Dee Valley.

Would thoroughly recommend this trip.

Thank Bret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A well organised horse drawn canal trip from Llangollen to Horseshoe falls. Horses well turned out and appeared well looked after. Journey would benefit from a commentary however. A word of warning we would recommend sitting on the towpath side of the boat or inside the enclosed cabin as towards the Horseshoe Falls end of the trip, the vegetation on the bank is overgrown as several passengers were hit quite hard by branches whipping off the side of the barge (to the extent of leaving several nasty red marks that were still visible the following day. This is clearly NOT the fault of the barge company but is something to be aware of.

Thank Andykeithharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

Was lovely day out friendly tour guides. Mini bar one board. Really relaxing views are lovely. It’s something to do and enjoy with everyone. We done the 2 hour journey.

Thank Jaymie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We booked this trip as we were staying close by and weren’t disappointed well organised and great value for money you get a knowledgeable commentary as you amble along the Llangollen canal the welsh cream tea was lovely and well worth booking

Thank mattyclothier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

While in Llangollen at the weekend my wife has told me that she wanted to go on a horsedrawn boat trip.
It costs £7.50 for a 45 minute trip or £13 for a 2hr trip so we chose the 2hr trip and have to say it was worth every penny.
So peaceful and tranquil with the only sound you could hear was the gentle rolling water or the sound of the ducks.
If you are ever in Llangollen I highly recommend this trip.

Thank keithk1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

This is a wonderful way to enjoy a canal boat trip, it is so quiet, just the clip clop of the engine pulling you along.
A wonderful way to spend an hour.

1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Went up to take a photo of the canal, we didn't know about the cruise, just as the boat was leaving for the Pontcysyllte Aqueduct cruise. What a great idea, we thought. We didn't have tickets but were told to get on and pay later. A spur of the moment thing, and it was fabulous. The boat is one of the longest on the canal system and this part of the canal, it's the beginning of it actually, is one of the busiest in the UK. There are loads of interesting facts about both the canal and the aqueduct, but you'll have to take the trip yourselves to find them out. The trip from the start to over the aqueduct takes about two hours at a nice leisurely walking pace. Plenty to see on the way and other boats and walkers to wave at or chat to. Most of the passengers sat inside, but at the back there is room for four or five to stand outside, which is best. Neal, who drove the boat is very knowledgeable, and his associate gave a running commentary and made the tea and coffee. They are both good company. At the end, we all got on to a bus, while other people waiting got on to the boat for the return trip, then we came back to where we started. I think the best direction to travel on the boat is the one where you get off after the aqueduct. It is a great way to spend a couple of hours and we thoroughly recommend it.

1  Thank foreveryoung191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Thought we would try the river cruise as we werent far away, paid £7.50 each luckily it was a bit of an overcast day so only about 15 people on board which was lovely. It takes you up the river and back not much to see but just a nice little journey.
There is a 2 hour cruise but not running the day we went.
The horse done is proud.

1  Thank philipjay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Visited here for the 40 minute horse drawn canal trip.
Was a pleasant day, beautiful horse, friendly staff and most of all lovely scenery to enjoy. We'll worth a visit & if we had more time, we would of liked to do the two hour trip.

1  Thank Abi2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Today was our second trip from the wharf. The first, about five years ago, went across Pontcysyllte aqueduct, today we were horse drawn in the other direction. Staff were very helpful. The ride each time was superb. The boats run to time and have spectacular views. Highly recommend

Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews