We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sun Bank Holiday Cottage and Bed & Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)(Great Value!)
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$110
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
$113
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hotel(Llangollen)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chainbridge Hotel(Llangollen)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
92
5
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscow shedwonderful hostsunderfloor heatingb bbasket of logsromantic staycomfortable double bedgorgeous bathroomsun trevorspectacular viewson arrivallittle toucheshot showereach morningbreakfast was amazingwelsh countrysidelovely place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 98 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked Sun Bank for a long weekend as a treat to ourselves on our 1st wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Cowshed which has been beautifully transformed by the owners into a luxury bedroom with en suite bathroom complete with a quality shower and slipper bath positioned so you can take in the stunning views whilst having a soak.

We couldnt have been made to feel more welcome by Sam and Simon, providing a top notch breakfast and the best hospitality bar none. We spent the Saturday evening sat out on the veranda with a bottle of bubbly and the following day walked along the canal through Llangollen up to Dinas Bran, the hot sunny weather being a real added bonus. We would also recommend a drink and bite to eat at the Corn Mill sat on the terrace overlooking the Dee.

All in all it was the perfect way to spend a memorable anniversary and in no small part due to the hosts and their wonderful converted barn. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moorsey989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We decided to book the Cow Shed room at Sun Bank on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews, and were not disappointed. The room is luxurious, with an en-suite bathroom to die for. It has it's own outside door, giving us freedom to come and go as we pleased. Perfect for a romantic break for two. Sam and Simon were wonderful hosts—super relaxed and helpful. And Simon cooks a mean breakfast, which went down a treat in the mornings. We will definitely be back. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Sam & Simon are the perfect hosts in the most stunning B&B you could ever wish to visit!!! The Cowshed is so beautifully decorated and set out with little extras like cutlery and a corkscrew as well as a gorgeous tea/coffee tray. The bathroom is worth the visit alone. Sitting in the bath with the shutters open looking out over the valley must be one of my best ever holiday memories. Simon whips up a pretty good breakfast and you can eat either in their home or on your patio or room. We will definitely go back and stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunBankCottage, Owner at Sun Bank Holiday Cottage and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Di & Nige, your kind words are really appreciated! And we look forward to seeing you again in the future! X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This has to be my favourite short break ever! The most welcoming hosts. Their main priority is about ensuring you have the best stay possible, even down to ensuring you have wine glasses to toast the start of your holiday! The Cowshed is idyllic and you could ask for such a beautiful room. The location is breathtaking. Such a relaxing break, thank you for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights recently and were made very welcome by the whole family, Sam, Simon, Carmen, Grace and the dogs and chickens.
Sam and Simon were very knowledgeable about the area and recommended places to eat and canal walks.
We were made very welcome with a constant supply of fresh milk, wine glasses etc etc.

breakfast was second to non cooked by Simon who knows how to scramble eggs to perfection! We were made welcome to join them in their house for breakfast or have it served on our patio which we did one day. Simon would just appear offering fresh coffee and toast then be gone again in a flash!

Finally, the bathroom! Look at the pics, speaks for itself! X

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews