We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Tyn Celyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tyn Celyn
Ranked #9 of 26 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night and wanted somewhere to stay close to Llangollen to allow us to meet up with some friends who were there for the weekend.

We booked the room with the four poster bed which was of a good size and very comfortable. It had a nice ensuite bathroom with large shower which looked like it had been recently installed as it was modern and very clean.

The breakfast was very good and our hosts were accommodating even bring us tea and biscuits on arrival.

The only reason I would not give 5 stars is that in the bedroom there is a cupboard with a header tank in it that when water is used in other areas of the house fills up very noisily. This woke us both up in the morning and I am not a particularly light sleeper.

Would stay again if in the area but probably in a different room to avoid the noise from the header tank.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bronthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 39 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at Tyn Celyn on the night of Saturday August 18th and were immediately in awe of the beautiful setting in which it nestled. Our room was very clean and comfortable and we settled in immediately. When we booked we were asked if we wanted the beds as twins or zipped into a very large double and we chose the latter. This proved a good choice as it was most comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. The bedding was spotless. Our hosts were friendly and made us feel most welcome. Next morning we enjoyed a magnificent breakfast. My husband said it was the best he had ever had, which is praise indeed! We will definitely be staying again next time we visit Llangollen. Thank you for your generous hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyAndJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

we only stayed for one night but i could of stayed there for a week, the view is amazing, i had best night sleep ever, very quite, if you want to stay in a house which has lots of charm this is it. the owners are very nice people , made us cup of coffee and home made biscuits on arrival, breakfeast was good, also please visit acquduct in place called trevor it is a must see(hope your not scared of heights) also drive up horseshoe pass to cafe at top enjoy....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coco037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Attractive old farmhouse with eye-catching personal effects in the large dining room, in which we shared breakfast around the large dining table with other guests. Bed comfortable, and our female hostess was pleasant and helpful, although her husband seemed a little curt, with his first (and only) words to us being an abrupt order to not park our car where we had pulled up! Maybe just a man of few words - but he did not seem friendly. Toilet seat in our ensuite loose - needed fixing! However, very central and convenient, with a great Indian restaurant in Llangollen - wish I could remember the name!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShaniCat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed for three nights in the ground floor room and loved it. The room has a separate bathroom with a kitchen area in between - no cooking facilities but useful for preparing pack-ups. The evenings were quite cold and the owners not only lit the large solid fuel stove in the adjacent guest living room but turned on the central heating!
Surrounded by stunning countryside, the Tyn Celyn is very quiet and good for walking, with lots of places to visit and things to do within easy reach by car.
The owners were very friendly and breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice including a delicious and very generous full cooked option - or addition!
If you are looking for a quiet place to stay that has character and feels like a pair of comfy slippers, this is the place for you. We would love to return.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor room and you will get a food prep. room as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerry_lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights, the location is outstanding and our hosts were very charming. Unfortunately for us, our room was not quite what we expected. It is a farmhouse and the house is over 300yrs old, we had a boiler in our room within a cupboard that fed the other rooms in the B&B and whenever someone took a shower the boiler noise was imposing and kept us up. The bathroom decor was dated and shower was flimsy. The room we stayed in had a four poster bed. The biggest concern we had was that the room was not lockable once we left and we didnt have a front door key so felt we could not be in very late at night. The breakfast was very nice with lots of choices of cereals, fruit and cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: La de la planta baja es lúgubre; las demás no las vimos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JordiRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
1.6 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
781 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
548 reviews
4.1 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#7 of 26 in Llangollen
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyn Celyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn Celyn

Address: Tyn Celyn Tyn Celyn Tyn Dwr, Llangollen LL20 8AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range: $97 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tyn Celyn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tyn Celyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyn Celyn Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing