We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleased”
Review of Bryn Howel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bryn Howel Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Reviewed March 24, 2013

my wife and I stayed here for two nights in February 2013.

the room and all parts of the hotel were very clean,

all staff were very polite.

a good selection of breakfast was available

quality of sleep was ok, but the cooling fans were just outside our window,

we could hear them for most of the night..

our room was on the second floor and whilst it was spotlessly clean,

the bathroom was showing small signs of wear and tear.

we found our room a little the small side.

but in terms of decor very very good

the hotel is located right on the Llangollen canal which is stunning

i would say it was good value and a brilliant location

would certainly stay again and happily recommenced to others

Room Tip: our room was part of the main house which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yarmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn-Howel-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bryn Howel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank You Both Kindly for you comments,
As you will have seen from your visit, Bryn Howel Hotel has undergone allot of changes over the past 5 months, We are very excited indeed with the new investment and changes taking place. it would be fair to say that there is much to do in terms of Refurbishment throughout Bryn Howel Hotel, However the whole team are working extremely hard indeed to maintain the high standards set by the new owner, Mr Canavan has put allot of effort into ensuring the rooms have had a complete overhaul in number of rooms with an ongoing program to replace complete bathrooms in due course, during the 5 months under the Canavan family ownership Bryn Howel has seen a complete change of Standards and service to all departments, Bryn Howel Hotel is an old building dating back to 1869 and as such as a number of areas that prove difficult, such as the placement cooling equipment , this is a problem we are dealing with and hope to have it resloved very soon by way of a replacement motor and a surround sound proofing,
Thank you for you comment on the lovely walks and views here at Bryn Howel, everyone that visits us has a big surpries when they see the breath taking views from the gardens and across the Dee Valley and along the Llangollen Canal, We have many walking parties throughout the year all of which comment on how lovely the views are around Bryn Howel.
We are very lucky to live and work in such a beautiful part of Wales.

Please accept our Gratitude and Thanks for taking the time to post your comments, the team at Bryn Howel Hotel shall look forward to welcoming you both back very soon.

All our very best to you both
Lorraine
On Behalf of the whole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 566 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at this hotel, having been several times before. Now under different management from our previous stays but if anything improved on the attention to cstomers since our lasr visit. The food is just as good as always. The only reason I have not scored this hotel a 4 is because in the time I was there we never had water hot enough to have a bath (room 10) and the contiual hum of the kitchen extractot fan system.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the kitchen extractor fan. Ask for a room looking towards Llangollen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn-Howel-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bryn Howel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Everyone at Bryn Howel would like to say a big thank you for your kind review.
We would very much like to apologise for the problem with the hot water during your stay, this was due to the power being down as a result of the snow, although the generator kept the heating and lights in operation it did not keep the boiler running as it was programmed to for the hot water, due to the timer being out, which only after a full investigation come to light,
As you know Bryn Howel Hotel is under new ownership and it is company policy to ensure everything possible is done, to exceed our customer expectations, It is clear that things are going to go wrong from time to time however given the opportunity by guests such as your good self, we can rectify each and every problem in due course. We are very delighted that you allowed us this opportunity.
We shall look forward to welcoming you back to Bryn Howel Hotel very soon to a nice warm room with lots of boiling water to enjoy your Bath.
From all the Team at Bryn Howel Hotel, Llangollen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My partner and I where looking for A weekend away from the hassle of london, we decided to have a go with the Bryn howel hotel in north wales. This Hotel is set in a valley beside a canal walk that seems to go on forever. The management and staff of this hotel are so relaxed you have to be there to believe it. you can see from the minute you walk in there are changes being made here for the better I might add. The staff are more than happy to tell you about the changes being made and where to go and see in the local area. The food was very nice but maybe a little too much on the plate. the staff serving us was local and tried to teach us a few local sayings. our room was comfortable and clean, The phone system needs updating but we where told that will happen soon. We did walk to a lovely little pub about five minutes from the hotel, it was lovely to hear people speak well about their neighbors / businesses and not bad mouth as is often the case. They knew the staff in the hotel and had been invited to lunch by the owner. While we did not meet the owner but where told he likes to meet and greet, well maybe next time. it was lovely in the winter, we will be back in the summer. Sean & Bethan
keep up the improvements.

Room Tip: ask to be shown the staff are more than happy to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed just for one night and very much enjoyed ourselves the room was lovely and had a brilliant hot shower and bath, we enjoyed our visit that much that we plan to return, even though we had to dig and be towed out of the drive due to heavy snow fall and we are very grateful to all that helped us get out and hope others were just as successful too.

Room Tip: if visiting in the winter months do try to have a spare shovel and wellies in car as may need them i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel several times over past 6 years and never had a problem. Always happy what paid for so was aware toons were in need of upgrade... This time wow.... Filthy room. Bed coverings. Dusty cobwebs. Dirty eating left in draw hair grip under dressing table... Urine spots in floor hair ibath and we paid 20 for upgrade. Tryst me went in 3 rooms before this they were worse . Shower leaked all over Urine splattered floor and lower toilet basin was given towels no gloves to clean up our selves room was soaking and carpets nut owner worried about ceilings underheath mite than ourcomfort. Deputy manager rude. Breakfast disgusting. Expressed our upset to both owner and deputy manager and the excuse was going to refurbish!!!! Still don't expect dirt and rudeness. Didn't sleep in bed covers dirty sat all night on sofa. Write letter to manager the same day as left and to date heard no reply........ Avoid at all costs and take my advice a hotel in rosset doing same deal with spa facilities is well worth a visit.... Very disappointed customer who has returned several times...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevlaw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn-Howel-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bryn Howel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest
Please allow us to apologies for the blunder made during your check-in process.
Due to a system error your room was showing on our system as "Ready for Guest " and therefore ready for you to check-in, which was clearly not the case,
Our housekeeping team work extremely hard to ensure all our rooms are spotlessly Clean and fresh for each guests on arrival. Bryn Howel Hotel prides itself on the cleanliness of our bedrooms We have invested in a complete new set of bedding for all 36 rooms including luxury towels and duvets, However on this occasion we certainly got it wrong, We cannot apologies enough for the error and wish to assure you that the problem has been rectified. I was delighted to learn that you where given a free upgrade to one of our four poster rooms. Also I would like to thank you for taking the time to discuss the error beforehand and allowing us the opportunity to correct it for you. I am somewhat surprised to read some of your review which dose correspond with our conversation during your stay.
However please do contact me direct when re-booking and I will ensure your stay with us is as pleasant as it always has been in the past,
I am delighted to learn that you have used Bryn Howel Hotel many times in the past and therefore know that this sort of mistake is very rare indeed. In fact Bryn Howel Hotel is very please with the progress we have made over the last few months under new ownership.
We shall look forward to welcoming you back very soon and that you once again for taking the time to speak to the team and giving us the opportunity to resolve your issues.

On behalf of the whole team

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Liked; Almost everything! The staff were excellent, even though obviously running on winter staffing levels. Nothing was too much trouble and the young lady receptionist made us feel really welcome on arrival. The restaurant looked stunning and was scrupulously clean. There were variable menus and the plentiful, first class food, was hot when it should be. Location superb, with fabulous views from our bedroom. Despite the "didn't like" points, would definitely return and recommend it to others.

Disliked; We were in room 10 and there was a constant drone of plant running in the adjoining building which went on 24hrs per day. The radiator in our room needed bleeding and there was a noise of rushing water through it every time the heating kicked in. Not very good at 05.30 in the morning. The log fire in the lounge was left unattended, with no fuel for long periods and hence the room was cold, with patrons having to sit with their coats/jackets on. We would have rated this hotel as excellent were it not for these points.

Room Tip: Room 10 very noisy 24 hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyEnviroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn-Howel-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bryn Howel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Malcolm and Anne
Thank you for your feed back, The whole Team work very hard indeed to ensure our guests have a enjoyable stay, I'm very proud of them all,
It is especially nice to read that you have appreciated our Housekeeping team they will be please to read that you noted their hard work in keeping everywhere clean and dust free, in a hotel this size that is a job and a half. Chef has worked very hard indeed to ensure there is a variety of menus and dishes available to suit all tastes from our extensive Lounge Bar Menu to our Fine Dining Menu served in our award winning Cedar Tree Restaurant, Your comment on the views around Bryn Howel as so true in fact they are somewhat amazing when looking done the valley from the gardens, Guests can sit on the lawns for hours watching the views.
Thank you once again for your kind comments.
On your point regarding the noise, We are so sorry, this was due to having new radiators fitted in some of the room and as a result we had to have the system pumped to unblock any air locks. We have addressed your comment regarding the log Fire, this should not of happened, Our log fire is so important and I am also disappointed that this was allowed to happen.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to Bryn Howel Hotel very soon your eagle eye and positive comments are extremely useful and helpful in ensuring we are doing our job right.
Yours sincerely
All at Bryn Howel Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We found the staff and hotel to be super friendly and helpful. Since we visit wales frequently we will definitely stay here again.
The hotel premises are a bit dated but in a nice kind of way so if you are looking for modern this will not be a good choice. For a nice country weekend near the canal for some nice walks and a real country atmosphere this is ideal. I would highly recommend the dinner here also we had a truly enjoyable three course meal. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter201026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
2.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
792 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
291 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
510 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
829 reviews
8 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Howel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Howel Hotel

Address: Bryn Howel Lane, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range: $67 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryn Howel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryn Howel Hotel is a fine Country House property, originally built in 1896, and set at the heart of the beautiful Vale of Llangollen, alongside the Llangollen Canal, with absolutely outstanding views from the Restaurant and many rooms. Our famous lounge bar with its oak wood paneled surround and open fire in season provides you with a welcoming appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Bryn Howel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Howel Llangollen
Bryn Howel Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing