We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most relaxing, enjoyable hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bryn Howel Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bryn Howel Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A most relaxing, enjoyable hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We found this hotel quite by accident on the internet about 4 years ago & have been returning 3 or 4 times a year since. We now choose one particular room close to the lift as this has a free standing shower which is handy as both of us are disabled. We have always found the staff friendly & helpful, especially the staff in the dining room. The menu has excellent choices & the food is well cooked & presented.We have stayed in different rooms & found all of them to be well furnished, clean, quiet , warm in winter & with opening windows in summer. The views from the dining room down over the valley to Llangollen are second to none & sitting on the lawn for afternoon tea is a real treat. We love staying here as we find it is totally relaxing & hopefully we shall continue to visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleofeastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    178
    75
    30
    28
See reviews for
76
270
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Everything about my stay was OK. No complaints. The Llangollen canal which has a good towpath for walking or cycling is easily accessible at the end of the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Beautiful location in valley. Room spacious, well equipped and very clean. Bed comfortable. Very large bathroom with large jaccuzi bath. Excellent, well presented food in restaurant. good selection at breakfast. beautiful view from restaurant.

Room Tip: Room overlooking valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I took my wife to this hotel for a birthday treat and we both enjoyed the whole experience. The price was right. Our room had views right along the valley and on to mountains. The staff were polite, attentive and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was really excellent. Plenty of choices were available at dinner. The starters were great. The maincourses were well cooked and not overcooked. The desserts were to die for.
We were there to enjoy the walks in the area and the choice was wide from canal towpaths to mounatins north and south.
Apart from our room and the dining room we asked for nothing more. There is no gym, no pool, no extra facilities but several lounges give opportunities to relax for those who need that. The car park will hold about 80 vehicles and it is easy to find. The garden will offer lovely seats in summer but it was almost winter whilst wer were there.
So no extras but the food, room staff, sleep were wonderful. The hotal is on the side of a wonderful canal with a clean well made up towpath and Llangollen at 2.5 miles distance offers many choices for interests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

The hotel was clean and tidy, the room we has ok, but a bit compact. The Location was excellent, we were lucky enough to get nice weather so in the evening we sat by the canal and watched the barges goes past. After a good nights sleep and a hearty breakfast we walked along the canal, everyone we met said "good morning" which was nice, lots of dog walkers, joggers ect. It was an ideal way to burn off the calories from breakfast. The staff were very accomodating and helpful, would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerseysideUKHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed one night and found the food about average and the bedroom was ok with lovely views. The hotel needs upgrading as it has a perfect location and excellent canal walks. Very peacful in hotel a place you could have a relaxing weekend. I would return again.

Room Tip: Ask forone overlooking the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymondmccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September 2011. I is a nice hotel but badly in need of an upgrade. The rooms are very old and worn as is the whole hotel. Having said that, the staff are excellent and the food was also top notch. The location is quite good, while not in the town of Llangollen it is within easy reach, and is in an excellent location for touring north Wales. The hotel itself is below average for the price, but the food and the staff pull it up a little. The Internet service, while free is very slow and unreliable, also there are no elevators.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steelpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
2.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.5 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Howel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Howel Hotel

Property: Bryn Howel Hotel
Address: Bryn Howel Lane, Llangollen LL20 7UW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#4 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryn Howel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Howel Hotel the most perfect setting for your perfect day, Set in the spectacular Dee Valley, alongside the Llangollen Canal absolutely outstanding views, Our aim is to provide perfect service and excellent food to all guests regardless of your choice of dining be it in our famous lounge bar with its oak wood paneled surround and blazing open fire, to the amazing Ceder Tree Restaurant both of which have undergone major investment. Our award winning team of chefs are here to cater for your requirements, What ever they may be. The service team have undergone intense training to ensure your requirements are carried out to the letter, we pride our reputation on our standards of service, refer to Facebook or TripAdvisor for your satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bryn Howel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Howel Llangollen
Bryn Howel Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing