We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bob on with Beth”
Review of Llangollen Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Llangollen Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here this weekend, great location and Beth met me and showed me where everything was.
Very clean, great facilities and very friendly, municipal parking out back, supermarket out front.
Really enjoyed my stay, will be back again, can't recommend it enough, don't think I will be taking a tent anywhere again with places like this, recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 152 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Hostel is in a great location, with a super market across the street. It was clean, sunny and quiet. We had the en suite room for our party of 4 adults. The kitchen was big and well stocked with what you'd need to cook a meal. Breakfast was toast and a variety of cereals. Coffee is instant, turns out that that is the norm in the Welsh hostels, so bring your own if it doesn't suit. Or drink tea like a native. We had a car and there was a pay parking lot out the back door. We should have stayed in the area longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likestodream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hostel is well located right next to the town centre, ideal for days out countryside as much as evenings in the town. Welcoming and friendly people, excellent rooms, warm, clean and tidy, lovely communal areas - very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Why pay hotel prices when you could stay here cheap as chips, friendly atmosphere, clean and comfy rooms, great staff, will be back if I'm ever in the area.located in a great town close to great mountain biking!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roblisa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

A great town, and a great place to stay.

Clean, warm, friendly staff, with light continental breakfast included.

The hostel is absolutely fantastic ....... a home away from home.

They even set the fire in the lounge room - so all you have to do is light it .... fabulous.

Lightening fast wifi ...unlimited cups of tea, and clean and warm...what more could you ask for ?
Oh, and a sensationally picturesque town, and 4 mile walk to the famous aqueduct..... can either walk back - or catch the bus ....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almostgreynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hostel is one of the best hostels i have used in the UK. It is a nice building with good facilities and i found it perfect after a days mountain biking. The kitchen is great, room clean and comfortable and bathrooms nice and clean. Shops are close by and there is parking at the rear(free after 6pm). As you would expect from a hostel in North Wales it is never going to be packed but the atmosphere among the guest when i was there was good offering company while winding down after a long day in the saddle. Would be sure to use again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeAsABackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great accomodation for a hostel, and friendly service. The location is superb... great for some countryside trips, near Chirk Castle, and also the canal and aquaduct and viaducts. Very picturesque. Only downside was the beds which were didn't have much rooms for my legs (but then I'm 6'4'' so this wouldn't be a problem for most people.)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishGladiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
6.6 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bridge End Hotel
Bridge End Hotel
#13 of 26 in Llangollen
172 reviews
3.6 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#7 of 26 in Llangollen
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Panorama Cottages
Panorama Cottages
#2 of 8 in Llangollen
93 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
786 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llangollen Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llangollen Hostel

Address: Isallt Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8NB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Llangollen
Price Range: $26 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Llangollen Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llangollen Hostel offers clean and comfortable twin and double rooms, en-suite family rooms, private four-bed and six-bed en-suite rooms, and a great value six-bed dorm. Our friendly staff will ensure you have a pleasant and happy stay. We have a fully-fitted kitchen for your self-catered accommodation, and as an added extra, all prices include a complimentary breakfast. You can enjoy your meals in the dining room, then relax in the spacious lounge by the log fire. We have a book exchange, free wi-fi internet, plenty of games and activities for adults and children alike, laundry facilities, a drying room, and bicycle and canoe storage. The hostel is perfectly located to explore the Vale of Llangollen, with its walking, climbing, canoeing and mountain biking. Llangollen offers a great choice of restaurants and traditional pubs. The town is home to many cultural events, including the Llangollen Fringe music and arts festival, and the annual International Eisteddfod. With Llandegla, Chester, Wrexham, the Offa's Dyke Path, and the whole of North Wales nearby, it's a great place to visit. At Llangollen Hostel you're assured of a happy and comfortable stay, freedom to come and go as you please, and above all, a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Llangollen Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llangollen Hostel Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing