We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, Relaxed Hostel”
Review of Llangollen Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Llangollen Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hostel is one of the best hostels i have used in the UK. It is a nice building with good facilities and i found it perfect after a days mountain biking. The kitchen is great, room clean and comfortable and bathrooms nice and clean. Shops are close by and there is parking at the rear(free after 6pm). As you would expect from a hostel in North Wales it is never going to be packed but the atmosphere among the guest when i was there was good offering company while winding down after a long day in the saddle. Would be sure to use again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeAsABackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 153 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great accomodation for a hostel, and friendly service. The location is superb... great for some countryside trips, near Chirk Castle, and also the canal and aquaduct and viaducts. Very picturesque. Only downside was the beds which were didn't have much rooms for my legs (but then I'm 6'4'' so this wouldn't be a problem for most people.)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishGladiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our first hostel trip with family (2 and 5 yrs) and it was great. Children loved it! Clean and comfortable and the staff were really friendly and helpful. We were really impressed with the overall comfort and facilities. We stayed in a family room which was great.It had a double with bunk over and separate bunks, plus space for travel cot. Ensuite was small but perfectly adequate and great with young children. Only downside was the traffic noise at the front as it was very noisy on a saturday night which was bit disturbing, maybe we were just unlucky as it was a very busy weekend during the International Eisteddfod. Also the bathroom fan is attached to the light and is very noisy and on for a long time when creeping in trying not to wake children, maybe some sort of little light in bathroom not on main switch would be useful.
Great breakfast, good choice of cerals and toast etc. Very well equipped kitchen and handy for local takeaways if you don fancy cooking but staying in babysitting!.No parking at the hostel itself but big pay and display carpark right behind, just may need to whizz out in morning to get new ticket if you're not dashing off a crack of dawn! Overall a great stay and a really good hostel, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Superb location. CAMRA pubs within 300 yards and plenty of places to eat. Nisa supermarket opposite.

Hosts are very friendley and a visitors lounge is provided with plenty of things to do in it. Free wifi too

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here for a night at the end of July and thought the hostel was excellent value for money. Perfect situation for walking into town, friendly staff, clean and comfortable room with ensuite shower room,relaxation and games room (complete with piano and guitar!) and well equipped kitchen with plenty of essentials like bread, milk, cereals, tea, coffee etc. It was our first experience of staying in a hostel and if Llangollen Hostel is anything to go by, we will be doing more of the same in future! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pollyGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed here with my children and found it clean, comfortable and great value for money. The bedrooms were comfortable, bathrooms modern and clean, kitchen was well equipped and the staff were really friendly. It was quiet at night and my children enjoyed the games room. We liked it so much after travelling further on, we stayed there again on our journey home. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on both the top floor and then the ground floor when we returned. Both were quiet, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MielBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hostel was very clean and friendly and very welcoming we booked a family ensuite room and thought it was fabulous. We did not sleep here each night but when we did we found it great not to noisy and just perfect thanks for a lovely stay the owners maintain this hostel very well indeed highly recommended.

Room Tip: Have a chat with the owner and explain what you are looking for they are both very helpful at all ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter201026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
6.7 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manorhaus Llangollen
Manorhaus Llangollen
#6 of 26 in Llangollen
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
792 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llangollen Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llangollen Hostel

Address: Isallt Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8NB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Llangollen
Price Range: $53 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Llangollen Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llangollen Hostel offers clean and comfortable twin and double rooms, en-suite family rooms, private four-bed and six-bed en-suite rooms, and a great value six-bed dorm. Our friendly staff will ensure you have a pleasant and happy stay. We have a fully-fitted kitchen for your self-catered accommodation, and as an added extra, all prices include a complimentary breakfast. You can enjoy your meals in the dining room, then relax in the spacious lounge by the log fire. We have a book exchange, free wi-fi internet, plenty of games and activities for adults and children alike, laundry facilities, a drying room, and bicycle and canoe storage. The hostel is perfectly located to explore the Vale of Llangollen, with its walking, climbing, canoeing and mountain biking. Llangollen offers a great choice of restaurants and traditional pubs. The town is home to many cultural events, including the Llangollen Fringe music and arts festival, and the annual International Eisteddfod. With Llandegla, Chester, Wrexham, the Offa's Dyke Path, and the whole of North Wales nearby, it's a great place to visit. At Llangollen Hostel you're assured of a happy and comfortable stay, freedom to come and go as you please, and above all, a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Llangollen Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llangollen Hostel Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing