We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Llangollen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best location in Llangollen”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We recently booked the whole place for a 40th birthday weekend. This is perfectly situated to get the best of Llangollen. Stunning views, pub at the bottom of the lane, rafting in the river dee. What more could you ask for. Not forgetting the lovely staff and owner, who were very accommodating. Thanks so much for an amazing weekend ! x Lisa

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    8
    10
    11
See reviews for
30
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have just come back from our weekend break in "The Den". We have stayed here before and had such a good experience last time we decided to return. The room can hold up to 6 guests however i would say that 4 adults should be the maximum number of guests as it is can get a little cramped. Overall the location is amazing, the accommodation is cheap, clean and for what you pay you CANNOT moan. If you want a luxury hotel then stay at the Hilton, however if you want a nice quiet break then this is your place. We will be returning again next year and would like to thank all of the staff for the warm welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamiehughes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We have been staying here regularly for years and will keep going back as long as they are available! I don't usually leave reviews but I was just flicking through reviews and was disgusted with what a couple of people have said on here. To start someone called it top end price?? A whole cottage for around £100 a night? How can that be expensive?
The location is perfect with amazing views. The owner is always friendly and helpful.
They don't have a 24 hour reception but would you really expect it? Last time we stayed it worked out £15 per night! I have never had a problem with cleanliness they have everything you need from towels to salt and pepper...
Over all in my opinion these places are very good value for money, excellent location with a very nice cosy feel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked two nights in the Chalet and it was a lovely little place to stay. Two bedrooms on the lower floor and then a living area/kitchen up stairs. It did have a tiny bathroom but that wasn't a problem. The place felt extremely cosy and the bedlinen was nice and fresh. The view is fantastic from the balcony; it would be a great place to stay in summer. There is a bbq next to the chalet. The location is superb and it's great having the Britannia pub within walking distance.
The chalet can sleep six people but I wouldn't recommend more than four to be honest. It only has basic seating so it would be very crammed. I'll definitely be going back sometime and maybe try one of the other places; the house looks good. It was a perfect break for us!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmpswooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Booked a couple of nights stay in October in the Chalet. Great location,with the added bonus of the Britannia pub at the bottom of the lane.
The chalet overall was comfortable, but the two Ikea chairs could do with new covers and I think four staying there would find it a squeeze - particularly the bathroom/shower for someone who was particularly large.
The people running the site were very pleasant and approachable and I would have no hesitation about staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked in the Den and it was ideal and plenty large enough for the 3 ( plus doggy ). We arrived late and we certainly didn't expect someone to meet us as we couldn't be precise on our arrival as we were coming up from Cornwall. We had the key left for us in a very secure box with an e mail with the code for just us to view. Excellent as we then didn't feel rushed to get there at a certain time. I loved the quirkiness of the whole building and the views were just amazing. I went to pay Phill the owner the next day and he was so helpful and he sleeps there also so if we did have a problem he was there to help. Obviously being in an extremely scenic area your going to have some small lanes ( we know this from Cornwall ) the lane going up is abut narrow but its accessible slowly. The beds were very clean and comfortable. Thank you to all the team as I think I got to speak to you all see you Nov the Fergusons especially Isla the doggy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 587Cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked The house as a base for a family wedding for 3 nights from the 13th of September and are so pleased we did. A few more family members stayed in The Lodge.
What can i say.... this place is probably one of the most tranquil & picturesque places i have ever stayed, i just didn't want to come home.
The house was huge and had such a lovely feel to it, it had everything we needed to feel at home, my little boy of 3 years loved the cast iron bath. The best thing for me was the log burning fire and the amazing views.
I would recommend this place to anyone who just wants to get away from it all. It would be an excellent choice for a large family get away as you can book individual properties but not be too far away from each other.

The only thing i would have liked to have seen would have been lighting on the steps that lead up to the house as in the dark they proved a bit tricky.

Anyway we will hopefully return next year for a break.

wish we were there now.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
1.7 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
246 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
751 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
457 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
381 reviews
9.2 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets

Property: Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets
Address: Pen y Bryn Horseshoe Pass, Llangollen LL20 8DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and rustic self catering accommodation with stunning views, set in the exquisite scenery of North Wales. Located at the bottom of the Horseshoe Pass, officially an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and 1.5 Miles from Llangollen town centre. Llangollen is a hub of exciting outdoor activities, has plenty of cafes, restaurants and traditional pubs. Amongst many other things Llangollen also boats the only standard gauge heritage railway in North Wales, a navigable canal, a medieval castle, and a bridge over the river Dee which is one of the seven wonders of Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing