We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“girly weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I booked a weekend away for my friends 40th 16 women we took over the challet the the lodge and annexe we had a great weekend slept like logs. We had few meals at the brittania at the bottom of the drive excellent food. the only thing you have to keep in mind if you walking to the pup, it is quite steep. Clean friendly and very reasonable cant wait to book again just checking dates now so decided to leave a review. Josie from Newton - le - willows

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josieMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternaltraveller69, Manager at Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We're delighted you had a great stay with us - it's fantastic for large parties - dropping in on your friends in their respective 'houses', and seeing how unique they all are, is all part of the fun!
It's great that you're planning another stay with us, we really appreciate all our returning guests, and, as a little 'thank you', we would like to offer you a 20% discount on your next holiday here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 116 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at The Chalet (we can't judge the other accommodations) and did not like it at all. It was uncomfortable, not cosy, quite oldish, and not very clean.
The double bedroom had a very strange smell (whether of humidity or puke...), none of the bed stuff (pillows, mattress, sheets) looked clean and smelled fresh. Same comments for the carpets. The French-doors are not in good conditions and as it was windy outside, it was windy inside. Not to mention the many spiders (but you are in the middle of the nature).
We are not picky travelers, but we felt this place was really lacking comfort and cleanliness. It would be OK for a group of young people who do not pay too much attention to comfort, but The Chalet won't really do it for most families or older people.
We were also unimpressed by the welcome: it was hard to find someone, and we did not know the keys were on the chalet already.
Pricing: not good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank LondonVibrations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternaltraveller69, Owner at Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views with everybody. I'm surprised that it took you eight months to getting around to it if you were so disappointed.

I'm sorry that there was nobody at reception when you arrived out-of-hours, however you knew that would be the case as you had acknowledged receiving our full information pack before you left home. The pack also had full information about getting the keys. Pity you didn't read the pack fully or bring it with you.

I am also surprised that none of the issues raised were mentioned to either myself or any of my staff at the time - even though you knew that I lived on-site and was available to chat to at any time. I would have been happy to attend to any problems or give you a free up-grade to any other of our vacant properties.

Fortunately, most people will see your review as being totally out of sync with the vast majority of guests including those who stayed in the Chalet directly before and after yourselves. Both left us excellent reviews.

The Chalet is the most re-booked of all of our properties with guests returning time and time again.

However, in response to your specific points.... We have never had any issues either before or since with strange smells. All of our laundry is undertaken in-house and stocks of bedding and are replaced on a regular basis. The carpets were less than 12 months old and showing no signs of stains or spillages.

I do have to agree with you on one point, though. You say that the Chalet is rather old. Although we cannot be exactly certain of the date it was built, it is somewhere in the region of 300 - 400 years old. Well spotted!

Finally, I notice that you also left around 15 reviews of other properties on or about the same day that you left ours. I notice most of those are quite negative too. I hope your next few years brings you more luck in your travels.

Good luck!

Phil. (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed during the period between Christmas and New Year and had both The House and The Lodge for our group. Prior to our arrival, I'd had an in depth chat with Phil who owns and manages the accommodation. As organiser of our group trip to Horseshoe Holiday Cottages, and being unfamiliar with the area, I had a number of queries and found Phil to be really helpful in explaining things about the accommodation, location, and facilities. The accommodation proved to be great value for money and was very comfortable. The Lodge is a perfect cottage for a family or two couples whereas The House afforded greater living space, and we tended to congregate here for meals and general socialising. Phil said he is planning to refurbish The House during 2013 which will update the interior. The views from all the properties on site are absolutely stunning, and there are a number of walks that can be done from the location. It is very much a place where you can escape the hustle and bustle, breathe and benefit from the unspoilt countryside. There is a pub at the bottom of the track leading to the cottages -The Britannia Inn - which we didn't try, but would do so on a next visit since it looked welcoming and had a good menu. We did take a trip into Llangollen to the Corn Mill for a meal one evening and the food there was delicious.
Our group really enjoyed the stay, and I would certainly recommend the place to others.

Room Tip: The Lodge is slightly separate from the other cottages, so you would have the benefit of being sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leedsstilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternaltraveller69, Manager at Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we really appreciate it, and yes, it is the perfect retreat here. Thank you for mentioning us to other people and spreading the word too. We would like to extend our thanks further by offering you a 20% discount on all your future holidays with us, and we look forwards to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A group of us have just come back from a stay in the House and we had a ball! So relaxing.Fantastic views and just generally a great place to stay. Very clean and cosy.Just what you want from a cottage break. Phil the owner was really helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend!!!! Will definitely be going back!!!!

Room Tip: The House was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternaltraveller69, Manager at Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for your really positive review - we boast about our views, but it's not until you see them for yourself that you realise what a fantastic spot this really is - photographs just don't do them justice! It's nice to see Phil getting a pat on the back for all his hard work too. You've mentioned a return visit? We would like to offer you a 20% discount on your next holiday with us. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a short break in the snug, the views are spectacular, we have been to many places for short breaks, this is definitely a lucky find. The owners are very helpful and friendly and offer a very clean and modern accommodation. There are some absolutely beautiful walks short and some very long as we found out, but the views are breathtaking. The town of llangollen is an hours walk from the cottages and very picturesque, beautiful little town and some lovely places to eat. Thanks to the owners for a wonderful place to stay and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: The snug has a lovely big window where lots of birds and smaller animals can be seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellep83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternaltraveller69, Manager at Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely and heartfelt review, we really appreciate your comments, and would like to welcome you back for any future stays with us with a 20% discount on your next holiday here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in the Snug which is part of a lovely old building with great views. The spacious upstairs bedroom has lovely timber beams reputably from the nearby abbey after it closed in 1539. The outlook is private and it was great not to have the need to draw the bedroom curtains at night - being able to watch daybreak over the nearby hills. We found the heating and hot water to the unit very efficient so were very cosy during the recent bad weather. The apartment is a little tired with loose carpet, damage to walls and ceilings however owner Phil informed us that The Snug is about to undergo refurbishment and an extension. We found Phil very friendly and accommodating; he even gave us the run of the complex laundry room despite delaying his own laundry needs. Even though there are enough beds for 4, I think it is better suited for a comfortable stay for a couple desiring self-catering accommodation.

Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets is located about 2 miles out of Llangollen near the Valle Crucis Abbey. Phil provided excellent directions but we relied on our Tom Tom navigator which sent us to an incorrect location...... so make sure you have Phil's written directions on hand.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmoreBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternaltraveller69, Manager at Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for leaving us such a positive and helpful review. We are delighted you had such a lovely, relaxing stay and we look forwards to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here last week for a peaceful break with my parents..and Wow ! the whole place blew us away..not windy, just stunning views all around our cottage. lt's the quietest place ever. We met the very friendly Housekeeper (arms full of crisp clean bedding). We planned to read and relax, but instead we walked our socks off ! In the evenings, we found some lovely local pubs with great food, and then back to a roaring log fire. We've booked the 'House in November (as there's 8 of us) to celebrate my 55th, Our stay here, couldnt have been bettered !

Room Tip: We found it to be, a great place for all ages, and overall, very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternaltraveller69, Manager at Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time out to write such a friendly review, we are really pleased you had such a great stay with us, and we were able to share our little slice of heaven with you - the views and walks are world class aren't they? We look forwards to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
2.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
497 reviews
1.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
786 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
821 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
3.8 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets

Address: Pen y Bryn Horseshoe Pass | Ll208dw, Llangollen LL20 8DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Llangollen
Price Range: $118 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and rustic self catering accommodation with stunning views, set in the exquisite scenery of North Wales. Located at the bottom of the Horseshoe Pass, officially an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and 1.5 Miles from Llangollen town centre. Llangollen is a hub of exciting outdoor activities, has plenty of cafes, restaurants and traditional pubs. Amongst many other things Llangollen also boats the only standard gauge heritage railway in North Wales, a navigable canal, a medieval castle, and a bridge over the river Dee which is one of the seven wonders of Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing