We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
$114
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hotel(Llangollen)
$105
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Chainbridge Hotel(Llangollen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
59
27
8
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
27
8
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barnhorseshoe passbritannia publog burneramazing viewsbig kitchenliving areabase to explorehen partythe main houseamazing weekendself cateringshort drivelovely walkeach morningphilchalet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 116 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

What can I say, couldn't believe our luck when we woke up, we booked the house
Although the track was steep we found our way to the top and parked up.
As arranged we were arrived late and let ourselves in (great idea) tea/coffee/milk was provided so a welcome brew was first on the list, it was huge! Large lounge with a log burner (£5 for logs) central heating was on so nice and warm and cosy
The kitchen was great too and the bedrooms large with amazing views in the morning,
The house was well equipped clean and had the deepest bath I've ever been in which was so welcome after our trek up snowden the following day.
We will definitely return again as there is so much to do in the area.
We didn't meet Phil but after a long phone conversation he advised us on the best places to visit and eat and we had the best curry we have tasted in years.
Sure there were the odd things that could have been tidier or improved but these were outnumbered by the overall package
This is the very first review I have ever left on trip advisor and because our party enjoyed the Wales experience with the horseshoe lets we felt it deserved every one it can get
Did I say we were going to return.....
Can't wait, thanks Phil and the team for making it so good.
Colin,nicky,dave and tracey

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked the Snug for a few days and on entering it is clean, compact and has everything you need for a short stay. We had stayed in Bala before where the views are fantastic, the same goes for this location. Plenty of wildlife to be seen here and the views in the morning mist were spectacular. We were visited by the many different birds in a short space of time they had obviously been encouraged before. On day one we had rabbits too who were joined by a not too shy cheeky Robbin.
Unfortunatley this was short lived because of the neighbours dogs (who were beautiful) left to run freely and scare whatever they saw away, they were allowed to bark early morning and throughout the day without control. Because of this and the carpark's size and structure it was a nightmere to get out.
The accomodation however nice/basic does need sound proofing as you can QUITE CLEARLY hear EVERYTHING and is in need of updating. It could be a little goldmine if care was taken to updating these holiday lets to a good standard.
we would most certainly come back again for a short stay and hope that there would be more control over pets and their owners.

Room Tip: The Snug is ideal for two
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank peppa111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternaltraveller69, Manager at Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your positive remarks; guests are allowed to bring dogs here, but generally they bring them to give them long walks in the stunningly beautiful landscape we're so lucky to have all around us. All that exercise and the wonderful mountain air leaves most dogs happy, and not wanting to do much other than snooze! We're very pleased you have expressed a wish to come back and we look forwards to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just returned from a two night break in the Den. When you walk into the Den you will notice a certificate of 4 stars awarded by Tripadvisor. Well let me tell you this is wrong because if anywhere should be given 5 stars then its this place. It is so hard to put into words the magic of the lets at this (or any) time of year. Also a quick mention of the owner Phil who bends over backwards to help. One of those rare place's that you cant wait to return to.

Room Tip: Leave the car and walk, the views are to die for
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatedaftnames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternaltraveller69, Manager at Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for leaving one of the nicest reviews on here, we really appreciate your kind comments and we're delighted you had such a great stay with us. We look forwards to seeing you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

After finding the lets up a very steep track at the side of a pub carpark we were amazed at the view from the lodge.We could see over the mountains although the trees in the garden needed trimming a bit to enjoy the view more. We chose the small lodge ,advertising for up to 6 although we couldn't stay there with kids or friends because of the size but we would definitely go back and stay in one of the other lodges.. The owner was very friendly and full of information.It was lovely and quiet which is what we wanted and the bedrooms were on the ground floor with living area upstairs. It's only a short drive into Llangollen so if you don't fancy cooking you can have a choice of pubs or restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisydo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I managed to book the The Snug two days beforehand for a two night midweek break for my wife and I. We arrived at 2pm and let ourselves into the accommodation, had a brew, then nipped out to buy a few supplies in Llangollen and have a walk across the Pontcycyllte Aqueduct. On our return around tea time we popped round to see Phil to settle up, and found him to be a very affable man, eager to please, and full of useful and also fascinating information about the place and the local area.
The Snug was fine - clean, tidy, well equipped, comfortable and well...snug! Beautiful views from the bedroom and the private balcony were a pleasure to behold. A fry up on the balcony for breakfast sat in the sunshine was a genuine treat, whilst watching the view and the abundant birdlife.
After a grand day out a Chirk Castle, we followed Phil's advice and walked up the path over the hill from the house (from where you will be amazed by the view below you) down to the Horseshoe falls and on to Llangollen, where a few excellent pints of DHB and a very nice meal in the Corn Mill were eagerly consumed. I would also highly recommend this course of action.
A really great, good value place to stay if you want to explore this lovely corner of Wales.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank AdamStinkfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews