We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets
Stoke-On-Trent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked the Snug for a few days and on entering it is clean, compact and has everything you need for a short stay. We had stayed in Bala before where the views are fantastic, the same goes for this location. Plenty of wildlife to be seen here and the views in the morning mist were spectacular. We were visited by the many different birds in a short space of time they had obviously been encouraged before. On day one we had rabbits too who were joined by a not too shy cheeky Robbin.
Unfortunatley this was short lived because of the neighbours dogs (who were beautiful) left to run freely and scare whatever they saw away, they were allowed to bark early morning and throughout the day without control. Because of this and the carpark's size and structure it was a nightmere to get out.
The accomodation however nice/basic does need sound proofing as you can QUITE CLEARLY hear EVERYTHING and is in need of updating. It could be a little goldmine if care was taken to updating these holiday lets to a good standard.
we would most certainly come back again for a short stay and hope that there would be more control over pets and their owners.

Room Tip: The Snug is ideal for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank peppa111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternaltraveller69, Manager at Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive remarks; guests are allowed to bring dogs here, but generally they bring them to give them long walks in the stunningly beautiful landscape we're so lucky to have all around us. All that exercise and the wonderful mountain air leaves most dogs happy, and not wanting to do much other than snooze! We're very pleased you have expressed a wish to come back and we look forwards to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    22
    8
    9
    11
See reviews for
28
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just returned from a two night break in the Den. When you walk into the Den you will notice a certificate of 4 stars awarded by Tripadvisor. Well let me tell you this is wrong because if anywhere should be given 5 stars then its this place. It is so hard to put into words the magic of the lets at this (or any) time of year. Also a quick mention of the owner Phil who bends over backwards to help. One of those rare place's that you cant wait to return to.

Room Tip: Leave the car and walk, the views are to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hatedaftnames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternaltraveller69, Manager at Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for leaving one of the nicest reviews on here, we really appreciate your kind comments and we're delighted you had such a great stay with us. We look forwards to seeing you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

After finding the lets up a very steep track at the side of a pub carpark we were amazed at the view from the lodge.We could see over the mountains although the trees in the garden needed trimming a bit to enjoy the view more. We chose the small lodge ,advertising for up to 6 although we couldn't stay there with kids or friends because of the size but we would definitely go back and stay in one of the other lodges.. The owner was very friendly and full of information.It was lovely and quiet which is what we wanted and the bedrooms were on the ground floor with living area upstairs. It's only a short drive into Llangollen so if you don't fancy cooking you can have a choice of pubs or restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisydo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I managed to book the The Snug two days beforehand for a two night midweek break for my wife and I. We arrived at 2pm and let ourselves into the accommodation, had a brew, then nipped out to buy a few supplies in Llangollen and have a walk across the Pontcycyllte Aqueduct. On our return around tea time we popped round to see Phil to settle up, and found him to be a very affable man, eager to please, and full of useful and also fascinating information about the place and the local area.
The Snug was fine - clean, tidy, well equipped, comfortable and well...snug! Beautiful views from the bedroom and the private balcony were a pleasure to behold. A fry up on the balcony for breakfast sat in the sunshine was a genuine treat, whilst watching the view and the abundant birdlife.
After a grand day out a Chirk Castle, we followed Phil's advice and walked up the path over the hill from the house (from where you will be amazed by the view below you) down to the Horseshoe falls and on to Llangollen, where a few excellent pints of DHB and a very nice meal in the Corn Mill were eagerly consumed. I would also highly recommend this course of action.
A really great, good value place to stay if you want to explore this lovely corner of Wales.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AdamStinkfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I took our two young sons away to enjoy Llangollen and the wonderful railway and to our delight I booked us into the house at the horseshoe pass holiday lets, on our arrival we was met by Phil who kindly welcomed us then shown us around, Phil handed me the keys and off he went, the standard and spec of the accommodation was excellent, it had everything we needed to feel at home, the hygiene throughout the house was, excellent each room had a rustic feel to it and was clearly well kept and maintained, the location was perfect in terms of easy and short distance from Llangollen "however" whilst at the house we felt like we was in our own world with a breathtaking view.

What we liked the best: the freedom of the house with the views to die for

What we liked the least: going home (wishing we stayed longer)

Booking again for shore

John & Boys

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternaltraveller69, Manager at Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for leaving this excellent review, and sharing your enthusiasm for our holiday lets with lots of prospective guests on this site. We're delighted you and the boys had such a great time you didn't want to go home! The only remedy is to come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is probably one of the most beautiful locations in Wales. you can never get tired of looking at the views from these holiday lets. A very peaceful and relaxing retreat.
The accommodations are well equipped and the landscaped gardens are beautiful. The owner Phil has recently cut the surrounding conifers right down and - wow, great job. You can see right across
the valley - stunning!
We would have liked blinds or backed curtains in the bedroom instead of cream cotton as the sun comes blazing in very early in the morning and hence you are awake by 5am - not the best when you don't have to get up for work :-) but maybe take an eye mask for sleeping.
Others have mentioned the steep drive up, but to be honest as long as you take it easy, it is not that difficult and this is Wales - You have to go up into the gods to get the best views and you will not be disappointed.
We where able to take our 2 dogs with us which was great and we will definitely return - loved every minute of it!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank get-what-u-pay-for
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I had an amazing stay in the Lodge. It is very clean and well equipped even to the point of having a washer and dryer. There is a lovely wood burner in the sitting room. The terrace has a barbeque, table and chairs. The views are breathtaking, all in all this is one of the loveliest self catering properties i have stayed in. Phil is very accommodating and is there for help and advise if needed. We have booked again for next year. Thanks Phil, look forward to seeing you in 2013.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternaltraveller69, Manager at Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write such a wonderful review, we really appreciate it. We're delighted you're going to stay with us again - that in itself is the best recommend anyone can give - and we look forwards to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
1.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
3.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cornerstones Guesthouse
Cornerstones Guesthouse
#2 of 28 in Llangollen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets

Property: Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets
Address: Pen y Bryn Horseshoe Pass, Llangollen LL20 8DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and rustic self catering accommodation with stunning views, set in the exquisite scenery of North Wales. Located at the bottom of the Horseshoe Pass, officially an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and 1.5 Miles from Llangollen town centre. Llangollen is a hub of exciting outdoor activities, has plenty of cafes, restaurants and traditional pubs. Amongst many other things Llangollen also boats the only standard gauge heritage railway in North Wales, a navigable canal, a medieval castle, and a bridge over the river Dee which is one of the seven wonders of Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing