We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ... left early; chalet small and expense”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets
Roslin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointed ... left early; chalet small and expense”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were so disappointed that we left after 3 nights even though we paid for 4.

We selected Horseshoe Pass against higher quality B&B as the booking.com description suggested luxury accommodation at upper end prices.

The view lives up to the script but the leyandii "wind break" will defeat the owner very soon.

To be fair on Phil (the owner) he responded to some of our discontent, replacing a mattress because of defective springs on the same day and providing us access to another shower in another unlet property because of inadequate water pressure. However these were all known faults and should have been dealt with previously (see other reviews); if I had wanted to walk to a shower, I would have hired a caravan. As the other properties were mostly unoccupied and the chalet was not fully functional he could of offered us one of the many unlet properties as an alternative.

We stayed in the chalet, two people and two dogs..... the property is billed as occupancy by 4-6 people which would require a great deal of synchronized movement and living. We struggled with two adults, sheepdog and a lurcher.......

So we have heavily marked down for poor value, lack of attention for detail and impaired ambience...see photo front of chalet showing bin park (some interest watching tree rats, aka grey squirrels raiding bins from balcony) and poorly maintained property as shown by balcony doors.

Our first disappointment on booking through booking.com and trip advisor.

Room Tip: Can get better value.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YON_FISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    8
    10
    11
See reviews for
30
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Went here back in Feb and stayed in the Annexe which was very cosy. Loved the garden and surroundings, scenery was superb. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and it was a good choice. Had really great weather so we did as much as could in the area. would definitely like to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in the chalet in May 2012. Amazing Views!! Very cozy and comfortable. This property is a diamond in the ruff. Plenty of potential but needs some work. Minimal water in the shower ( had to rinse my hair in the kitchen sink) , huge cobwebs throughout the cottage, no lighting up the steep narrow driveway, and the door to the balcony need repair. The cottages are very close together so there is no pricacy when sitting outside.
One huge complaint though, was that check in was any time after 2. We arrived at 2 and the owner Phil was not there until 5. Luckily a cleaning staff was still onsite and let us in after finding us wandering around looking lost.
Even with my complaints the view and location is what we were most impressed with.
.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wales03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternaltraveller69, Owner at Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you very much for the feedback on the Chalet

I take all comments seriously and use the information to help improve the experience for future guests.

The issue with the shower pressure is being investigated as I write.

For cobwebs in the rooms, there can be no excuse and steps have been taken to see that it is not overlooked in the future.

The balcony door has now been serviced to prevent any future difficulty in opening.

Regarding the lighting on the lane up to the cottages, we are located in the countryside where most lanes are unlit at night. The lane doesn't usually cause people inconvenience or problems. That said, we have installed our own street-lamp in the narrowest part for convenience. The bulb appears to have blown and has now been replaced.

Regarding the comments on privacy - yes, the properties are all on the same complex and facing into the main garden but the Chalet has its own private lawn at the side which is completely private and is a superb sun-trap!

Finally, I would like to respond to the complaint regarding my absence on your arrival......

As with all bookings, you were sent a full information pack in which you were told that it was not necessary to check-in immediately and that you should go straight to your Chalet if there was nobody at reception, where we would call to meet you on return.

You were given a complete plan of the layout and clear directions to find the Chalet, along with the key number - which you acknowledged that you had received. You also had a mobile number to contact me at any time if you had any problems or questions. My mobile number is also written on the door of reception in case you did not have it with you. I'm not sure why you were "Wandering around looking lost."

Nevertheless, we do try to greet all guests on arrival out of courtesy which is why we ask you to give is an approximate arrival time. You didn't do this when you acknowledged receipt of your information pack so we emailed you again to ask you the arrival time and you replied saying that you were unable to give a time. We tried to contact you again by phone on the day of your arrival but you had only supplied is with your Canadian land-line number but that was of little use as you had already left.

I feel that we had done all that we could to try to be there when you arrived. For practical reasons, we cannot be there 24 hours a day - and it is difficult to plan ahead without arrival information from the guest.

In conclusion, I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the location and the views and found everything else to your satisfaction. I just wish that you had expressed your concerns and discussed the issues with me at the time. As you know, I live on site and would have been more than happy to address any issues you had.

Thanks again for your feedback,

Phil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Booked 'The Den' room which is like a bedsit (inc fridge/microwave/kettle/toaster, sky tv and dvd player) Had everything you would need. Phil the Manager was very friendly and helpful, as we hadn't researched the area prior to visiting, he advised us on the best places to walk/drink and eat. We took his advice and visited the places he recommended. The Horseshoe Pass holiday lets are at the top of a track at the side of the Britannia Pub car park. Only downfall was we discovered that when it gets dark the track and the main street leading to the next pub doesn't have any lights, and the main road has no pavements, so after the 1st night of trying to navigate a pitch black road, then the track back to The Den we decided on the 2nd night to head back to the room just as it was getting dark. We were very lucky with the weather, it was just like summer all weekend, and the views from the place are fantastic.
Would definately recommend staying here, its well worth the money and very clean, and the bed is very comfy. Just remember your torch if planning on stopping out on foot after dark!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We rented the House, Annexe and Snug which opened up into one big cosy house. There was ample room for the 18 of us that stayed. Plenty of room in the House living room for socialising with everyone in our group. 3 well equipped kitchens were also enough for everyone to cook the meals they wanted. The question we all had upon leaving was "When are we coming back?". We had 10 Land Rovers between us and there was enough parking for us also! Nicely situated just out of Llangollen.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzuki716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Lovely place, relaxing atmosphere, fantastic views. Stayed in Chalet & Den - both were cosy & comfortable with all you needed. Enjoyed sitting on balcony (of Chalet) every morning for breakfast. Phil, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here along with my partner and 8 others. My partner and I stayed in the snug which was just that. Bedroom was massive and great views from every angle. The bed was really cosy and place was clean as expected! Deffo would reccommend to anyone and will be going back. Only thing I would say is I didn't meet Phil until two mins before we were due to leave and that was only because I went looking for him, would have been nice to put a face to the name as booked over phone with card.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
1.7 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
248 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
751 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
461 reviews
9.2 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
494 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bridge End Hotel
Bridge End Hotel
#13 of 26 in Llangollen
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets

Property: Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets
Address: Pen y Bryn Horseshoe Pass, Llangollen LL20 8DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and rustic self catering accommodation with stunning views, set in the exquisite scenery of North Wales. Located at the bottom of the Horseshoe Pass, officially an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and 1.5 Miles from Llangollen town centre. Llangollen is a hub of exciting outdoor activities, has plenty of cafes, restaurants and traditional pubs. Amongst many other things Llangollen also boats the only standard gauge heritage railway in North Wales, a navigable canal, a medieval castle, and a bridge over the river Dee which is one of the seven wonders of Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Pass Holiday Lets Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing