We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Llangollen”
Review of Bridge End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bridge End Hotel
Ranked #14 of 26 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from a weekend in Llangollen. It was my wife's birthday so we booked two nights at the Bridge End Hotel along with a Murder Mystery evening (llangollen-railway.co.uk/events.php) and a canal boat trip across the Pontcysyllte aqueduct. The Bridge End hotel is excellent value for money, The rooms are warm and comfortable if a little on the small side, the TV had a limited Freeview service and was placed in such a position that it could only really be watched from a laying position on the bed without getting a stiff neck from looking up. There was no internet access and storage space for clothes and such was limited. That said, the bar was friendly and welcoming with a "no children" policy. The dining area (children welcome here) was spacious and comfortable, the food was good and freshly cooked,. plenty of it and at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was excellent although we did have to wait for some 30 minutes whilst it was cooked, it was worth waiting for though. We had a Sunday Roast for dinner and can't praise it enough, very much recommended! Service in the hotel was good with the staff being attentive and friendly without being intrusive. For anyone looking to spend time in LLangollen, this hotel is a good choice, very close to the railway station and just below the canal for boat trips. It is set no more than a 10 minute walk from anywhere in Llangollen town centre, provides limited free parking at the rear of the hotel, but is still far enough away from the main street to be quiet at night despite being on a main road. Ask for a front facing room as the views over the town and River Dee are good. The Murder Mystery Train ride was fun and also comes recommended for anyone looking for an evening with a difference, do check what the period is though as dressing in costume may win you a prize! Ours was a Guy Fawkes special and my wife and I took first prize for our 16th Century outfits. The canal boat trip on Sunday afternoon was also a pleasure with mince pie and mulled wine provided in the cost (http://www.horsedrawnboats.co.uk/aqueduct-trips.aspx). All in all a good couple of days and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidEviel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 170 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had dinner here tonight, whilst on a four day break staying in a neighbouring hotel. We were looking for a Sunday roast, and this place looked warm welcoming and popular. We were not disappointed. The staff were very pleasant, the food was lovely, plentiful and piping hot. The menu was varied and reasonable, and the atmosphere was friendly and cheerful, with a lively bar. May have to visit again tomorrow.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank suecocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

A group of 10 of us from The Isle of Man stayed here for 2 nights and couldn`t be more pleased with this hotel. The roooms were clean and the service was excellent. The food was good quality and plenty of it. Excellent stay would highly reccommend the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband, teenage nephew and I called for Sunday lunch after visiting Pontcysyllte Aqueduct. We were ready for a meal and were delighted with the selection, service and the food which was fresh and hot and there was plenty for the three of us.

Room Tip: We didn't have accommodation, only a meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank auntielin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Bridge End Hotel, not having visited it previously. Our room was a basic double at the rear (our choice). Facilities were adequate with generous hospitality tray. TV perched up near the ceiling was not ideally located. Shower facilities were acceptable. We missed pictures on the walls, but were told they did not have them due to previous thefts by guests! Breakfast was taken in a lovely large room overlooking pretty Llangollen bridge & River Dee. Excellent service & food. For the money, this was good value, with the bonus of a private car park at the rear & immediate access to the town. We would stay here again, but next time would choose a front room as traffic noise did not appear to be much of a problem. (our visit coincided with that of a hotel inspector, who was also satisfied with the standard of her accommodation).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night only in July. Our only concern was that we were not able to stay longer. The hotel is a typical old country style hotel. The bed room which overlooked the town and river though small was clean as was the Ensuite. It was very adequate. The food both dinner and breakfast was excellent. The location at the top of the town was very good with an easy walk to the shops.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here on 23rd July 2012, on arriving we were shown to a lovely room on the front of the building overlooking the main street and the river, Immaculately clean, with plenty of drinks left for us on hospitality tray, we had the room for 3 adults and were very pleased with it.. The only problem we found is that we went when it was haymaking time and it was very hot, so we couldnt have the windows open because of the noise of tractors and trailers booming up and down the road, just bad timing on our behalf. The breakfast was consistantly excellent every morning, with very friendly helpful staff.. There isnt much parking, but we were told just park in the middle of carpark it would be fine.:) overall a very pleasant stay..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.7 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
417 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge End Hotel

Address: Mill Street, Llangollen LL20 8RY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range: $87 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bridge End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge End Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing