We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
We loved our ride on the Llangollen Railway!

We visited one morning during the October half term as our 4 year old Son loves steam trains. We... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
KandJWarwickshire
,
Warwickshire
via mobile
Curry mile

We had a family day out visting llangollen and llangollen railway were we travelled from llangollen... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
thomas3600
via mobile
Read all 1,056 reviews
  
Reviews (1,056)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveler rating
703
247
62
16
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
247
62
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puppet show station cafe carrog station rover ticket steam engine fat controller return journey santa train the river grouse inn steam train trip rolling stock thomas the tank engine afternoon tea mince pies lovely journey step back in time
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We visited one morning during the October half term as our 4 year old Son loves steam trains. We bought tickets for a round trip and we enjoyed every minute of this scenic route which follows the river. We even got to sit in first class!!! All of the staff were so friendly and welcoming, it all added to the lovely experience. Not surprisingly, our Son absolutely loved it and can't wait to go again!

Thank KandJWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We had a family day out visting llangollen and llangollen railway were we travelled from llangollen to corwen 10 miles and back to llangollen some very beautiful views its what family memories are made for we will come back here very soon keep up good work

Thank thomas3600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a beautifully preserved and well run piece of history.We could choose between steam,diesel or vintage trains.The vintage train was truly unique with seperate passenger carriages.We got off at the last stop and went for a drink in the local pub.Just enough time before our picturesque journey back through welsh countryside.Staff were helpful and we had a good experience.

Thank claire100014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We travelled from the Midlands for what we thought was a good day out, but not. We paid £68 for four adults and there was only one engine being used and only three journeys that day. We paid for a rover and only had one trip because we missed one by a few minutes and the next was two hours later. There was nothing else to see like other places so very disappointing.

1  Thank janey1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Grandparents, parents and two grand daughters, made the round trip from Corwen to Llangollen and back. A family ticket is available, free car parking is available at Corwen. It was a grand day out. We all thoroughly enjoyed it. There was enough time to walk around Llangollen, have a leisurely lunch, go for another wander and get the train back.

The views over the river Dee are most impressive. Staff are friendly and clearly most proud of the railway. Highly Recommended.

Thank Mark_L_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The train and journey was lovely, really stunning views and loved the kids map for things to spot.

My main issue with the experiences was the cost. For 4 adults and 2 kids it was over £70 for what is short train journey. Train was majority empty. Would reckon if prices were reduced there would have been more customers.

Advertised at an hours journey so we thought it was worth the large expense. However train journey is actually a lot shorter due to the strange stopped times at stations, some picked up and left, whilst at another you stop for 20mins.

If you like walking you can get a rover ticket, meaning you can pop on and off and walk at each station.

Thank hcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Berwyn Station Masters house so we had tickets to use the trains, which we did every day.
We really enjoyed our trips on the train - a great day out for kids and grownups

Thank grahamj69611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The flyer shows a photo of Thomas going over a bridge/viaduct where in reality it only travels up and down the platform ( twice ) the displays were poor and that being generous and the puppet show was a joke but not in a funny way. For 60 pounds ( including postage for tickets which never actually arrived ) for 2 adults and a 5 and 3 yr old was not good value at all.

Thank paultinaellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went up the line on a Railcar but this didn't spoil it as we could sit right behind the driver. The sdenery was great as the leaves were turning. Went to the ens of the line and then got off at the Chainbridge on the way back.
This enabled us to see the Horseshoe Falls. They had just had a lot of rain and there were trees brought down everywhere . We then walked back to the Llangollen Basin which was quite pleasant.

Thank vandjthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A disappointing day. We got on Thomas and waited -everyone was told to get off as there was some problem that needed seeing to. We were told to go on a nearby steam engine. That ran late and took us to a disappointing puppet show. We again had to wait to get back. Even when the train arrived it waited for some time to leave. When we got back to Llangollen Thomas was out and the children were tired by this point so we left. A waste of money. A day in the park would have been preferable.

Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews