We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best place to enjoy a special celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were made to feel most welcome in this lovely B&B - such a wonderful atmosphere, with every need catered for. The Rouge Room is gorgeous, and the rool-top bath so deep I nearly got lost in it. Every corner of each room has something beautiful to look at, and we cannot wait to see how their new venture, the Chapel, turns out! We cannot wait to return and see the friendliest, most helpful hosts we have ever met.

A true gem.

Room Tip: Rouge room has views towards Conwy town walls and mountains beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynfrynbb, Owner at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Hi Lynda, thank you so much for your wonderful review about our B&B. Sorry it's taken a while to respond. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Birthday stay at Gwynfryn B&B and your visit to Conwy North Wales. Receiving such wonderful reviews and meeting such lovely people makes all the hard work worth while.
We do hope to see you again at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast during your next visit to Conwy.
Thanks
Colin & Monica
Gwynfryn B&B Conwy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 490 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

My mother and I reserved two rooms (Rouge and Violet) at Gwynfryn for an entire week in mid October as we visited Conwy, the home place of my maternal grandparents. From the moment we opened the door, we we were greeted with the many thoughful touches that made for a truly memorable stay! Colin and Monica offer an establishment as warm and welcoming as their engaging personalities. Each room was spotless, and decorated with a unique collection of furniture and accessories that highlighted the love and care that has been taken to assure each guest with the best possible B&B experience. Colin cooked a delicious made to order breakfast each morning that offered more options than I have even seen in some large hotel chain restaurants. My overall experience could not have been better. I am happy to highly recommend this B&B for vacation or business travelers.

Furthermore, as I understand it, Colin and Monica will be extending their " unique brand" as they lovingly renovate a recently purchased old chapel located behind Gwynfryn. I for one, can't wait to see what they will do with it!

I love North Wales. Conwy is an amazing medieval walled town with a beautiful castle, and Gwynfryn is a very special bed and breakfast.I look forward to my next visit to both!

SP
North Carolina

Room Tip: The Rouge Room is on the third floor, but has a comfortable, king bed and large bathroom with claw f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin_and_Monica, Owner at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi Sharon & Mum, thank you so much for your wonderful review about our B&B. Sorry it's taken a while to respond. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Gwynfryn B&B and your visit to Conwy North Wales. Receiving such wonderful reviews and meeting such lovely people makes all the hard work worth while. We look forward to seeing you both again at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast during your next visit to Conwy. Thanks Colin & Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have been visiting Conwy and Gwynfryn for five years now and wouldn't think about staying anywhere else.
From the beginning Colin and Monica made us feel completely at home in their beautiful bed and breakfast, with nothing being too much trouble.

We often visit several times a year to really get away from everything and enjoy the town, lovely walks and more recently to take in Conwy food festival. When ever we leave we feel truly rested and like we have been away for weeks!

The B& B is spotlessly clean and each room we have stayed in has always provided everything we could possibly ask for, with tiny details taken into account. The rooms are all beautifully decorated with Monicas flair for interior design not being lost. You feel like you have walked into luxury...

Breakfast is always a treat. Colin is a fantastic chef and he always offers a huge variety of options, whilst catering for different tastes that might not be on the menu aswell. We almost have to be rolled away from the table (after we've read the complementary newspapers that are left out to read) because we have eaten so much! Though this really sets us up for the day.

I would say if you are having any doubts about staying at Gwynfryn, don't, just book now and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemJem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin_and_Monica, Owner at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi Gem & Mike, thank you so much for your wonderful review about our B&B. Sorry it's taken a while to respond. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Gwynfryn B&B and your visit to Conwy North Wales. Receiving such wonderful reviews and meeting such lovely people makes all the hard work worth while. We look forward to seeing you both again at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast during your next visit to Conwy. Thanks Colin & Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

One of the best B & Bs we have stayed in. Colin & Monica were fantastic hosts and created a really friendly atmosphere. Conwy is a lovely town with a great atmodphere. The rooms were really well presented with lots of nice touches.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin_and_Monica, Owner at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi Sid & Sam, thank you so much for your wonderful review about our B&B. Sorry it's taken a while to respond. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Gwynfryn B&B and your visit to Conwy North Wales. Receiving such wonderful reviews and meeting such lovely people makes all the hard work worth while. We look forward to seeing you both again at Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast during your next visit to Conwy. Thanks Colin & Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Finding somewhere to stay in Conway that met the high standards of my clients was a challenge.
Gwynfryn proved a gem. Colin and Monica Boutillier had thought of everything. The rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean. Tea tray, TV, internet, hairdryer etc were all to hand. Breakfast was exactly what was needed from fresh fruit and yoghourt to the full English breakfast.
Parking was available for the car just around the corner and Colin was at the ready to carry our bags.
Close by were all amenities from fish and chips to Watsons Bistro. The Bistro offered a delicious menu and we enjoyed a memorable dinner -the best wild mushroom soup I have tasted- at a very competitive price.
Enjoy the Castle and town walls which are two minutes from Gwynfryn as is Plas Mawr, a very interesting Tudor Merchants house.
We were sorry to say good bye to Gwynfryn after three very comfortable nights spent there

Room Tip: I cannot speak highly enough of this B&B. Colin will see that you have the appropriate room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sawrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My partner and I have just got back from a wonderful trip to Conwy staying in the gorgeous Gwynfryn bed & breakfast. Everything about the stay was perfect - the rooms are beautiful and amazingly spotless! The owners Colin and Monica were very friendly and went out their way for us helping us park the car and carrying our bags. The breakfast was gorgeous too. We will definitely be coming back again and will be recommending here to our friends and family! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ele016181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Gwynfryn was a first rate place to stay. There was nothing missing from the room.....there were so many comfortable pillows! There was enough milk to make plenty of drinks.....often missing in some places.

Room Tip: At the top of the building we had those lovely sloping eaves
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Conwy
1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castlebank Hotel
Castlebank Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
473 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.3 mi away
Glan Heulog Guest House
1.5 mi away
Sychnant Pass Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4 York Place | Off Lancaster Square, Conwy LL32 8AB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range: $127 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B set within the heart of the historical walled town of Conwy. Visit Wales 4 Star accomoation close to all attractions, shops & restaurants. Conwy Castle is only 2 minutes walk away from our Bed and Breakfast. Free parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwynfryn Bed And Breakfast Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing