We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B we have stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My partner and I have just got back from a wonderful trip to Conwy staying in the gorgeous Gwynfryn bed & breakfast. Everything about the stay was perfect - the rooms are beautiful and amazingly spotless! The owners Colin and Monica were very friendly and went out their way for us helping us park the car and carrying our bags. The breakfast was gorgeous too. We will definitely be coming back again and will be recommending here to our friends and family! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ele016181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 489 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Gwynfryn was a first rate place to stay. There was nothing missing from the room.....there were so many comfortable pillows! There was enough milk to make plenty of drinks.....often missing in some places.

Room Tip: At the top of the building we had those lovely sloping eaves
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Thank you Monica and Colin provide us so lovely guest house, you always care what we need, everyday I can enjoy the perfect breakfast, I really enjoy my trip and the guest house, it is so beautiful and comfortable, thanks again.

Room Tip: Room Le Olive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanMOMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed four nights in the smallest room in the house (with private bath in the hall). You'd think this would mean a lower review -- but the room had such good storage, and the bath was so large, that the size didn't matter. Large bathrobes were provided for the hallway "trip." There's also a great living room if the bedroom feels cramped. Colin and Monica are terrific hosts -- hardworking and fun. They have some rules (no shoes past the front door, slippers provided) that are different, but just add to the charm of the place. Monica's eclectic decorations are delightful. They had great advice about eating places and how to take advantage of their great location. Parking is a hassle, but Colin really helps, and we always found something. This is a friendly house that invites sharing at breakfast (also very good -- try the Welsh rarebit!). We loved everything about North Wales, and this was a perfect, centrally located "home" for our visit there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trixie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Colin and Monica were wonderful hosts during our 4 day visit to Conwy. We stayed in the comfortable Violet Room at the top of the stairs. Colin whipped our cases up past Monica's extraordinary and eclectic decorations. The frogs and butterflies dominated and amused. Breakfast excelled, although caution is recommended with the Welsh Rarebit - an acquired taste. qThe WiFi worked well. The shower was hot and strong. Colin always found us a place to park and was a proverbial ball of energy. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank RobM441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Conwy is a good base for touring Wales and the Gwynfryn B & B is dead in the center of Conwy. The hosts do all they can to make it a pleasant stay. Colin is everywhere, lugging suitcases, parking cars, cooking and assisting in every way possible. The breakfast menu is extensive and well prepared. A lot of effort has gone into the decoration of the interior which is part of the charm of the place. It is an old building with accompanying limitations, but much has been done to make things comfortable for the guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our stay at Gwynfryn B&B was extraordinary! It was our first time in the wonderful surroundings of North Wales, and we enjoyed every minute of our journey. To be based in Conwy meant that we could reach everything we wanted to explore very conveniently. And the town was lovely, with fantastic places to see like Conwy Castle or Plas Mawr and nice spots to eat at like "Watsons". But what made our trip perfect was the hospitality and helpfulness in every aspect of Monica and Colin at the Gwynfryn B&B. Every detail in the house and rooms was perfectly arranged, the room had a spacious bathroom, a huge and comfortable bed, a small fridge and Wifi as well as a TV with DVD-player. The varied breakfasts were great and bestowed an ideal start to each day. As we had to leave quite early on our last day, Colin even prepared a superb food-package for us! Monica and Colin helped to make our whole journey to be quite a once-in-a-liftetime experience and we definitely recommend this B&B to everyone who wants to have a perfect stay in Northern Wales.

Room Tip: We had the Bleu Room, which was exquisitely nice - neatly decorated with a huge and comfortable bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,308 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castlebank Hotel
Castlebank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Conwy
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.3 mi away
Glan Heulog Guest House
1.5 mi away
Sychnant Pass Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4 York Place | Off Lancaster Square, Conwy LL32 8AB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range: $115 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B set within the heart of the historical walled town of Conwy. Visit Wales 4 Star accomoation close to all attractions, shops & restaurants. Conwy Castle is only 2 minutes walk away from our Bed and Breakfast. Free parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwynfryn Bed And Breakfast Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing