We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sychnant Pass Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tan Lan Hotel(Llandudno)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Evans Hotel(Llandudno)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
199
56
14
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
56
14
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubswimming pooldouble showerleisure facilitieswarm welcomegenial hostbridal suitechanging facilitiesromantic breakpower cutsitting roomlick of paintthe snowdonia national parkwalk in wardrobecompliments to the chefchain hotelscomfy sofas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 290 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We've found a little piece of Welsh heaven! A warm greeting, relaxing environment and beautiful countryside, just minutes from the spectacular medieval town of Conwy and the stunning coast around Llandudno. A spontaneous one-night stop-off became a family holiday with something for everyone - the children loved the pool, the gardens, their own sofa beds - we loved the hearty country walks right from the front door, drinks in front of the fire and the amazing food (I tried lots of new things as I had complete trust in the chef - everything was delicious). One evening was even child-free as our baby monitor worked. A brilliant way to start 2014.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We've been lucky enough to stay at a few hotels this year, but absolutely none of them came anywhere close to comparing to our stay at the Sychnant Pass Country House.

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and were warmly greeted by Hugh and taken on a tour of the house - a personal touch which we really enjoyed. We were impressed by the pool, sauna and outdoor hot tub and as we were visiting during a quiet time had the facilities completely to ourselves - what a treat! Watching the sun set behind the mountains as we sat in the hot tub was a brilliant experience, would recommend this to anyone!

We stayed in Calon Lan which has its own hot tub on a private secluded terrace. This was definitely the highlight of our stay, and we found it really refreshing being outdoors in it, even in the rain! The room itself was really large, with a big bed and a lounge area with a sofa in it. The bathroom didn't have a shower per say, but it did have a shower attachment to use over the bath so no complaints there. The bath itself was brilliant - big enough for two and with jacuzzi jets built in!

We popped down for a drink downstairs before going out for dinner, and Hugh was incredibly helpful, refilling our glasses and stopping for a chat! There weren't many staying at the same time as us, but the large lounge area is a fantastic idea that you don't get in other hotels, and I can imagine that when there are more staying there is a good atmosphere in there.

Breakfast was a treat too - endless amounts of tea, coffee and toast, and delicious home cooked hot food to set you up for the day! There's also a wide range of cereals and fruit as well - we were really impressed with the selection on offer for such a small hotel!

We were made to feel so welcome during our stay here, and we thought the house was absolutely beautiful and full of character. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Sychnant Pass gave us the quiet get away we needed! Beautiful surroundings, beautiful house, lovely personal service.
Cleanliness was to a high standard throughout the stay, pool and sauna area was nice and clean, pool lovely and warm a very generous 31 degrees!
Room was lovely, we booked the Calon Lan suite, which has the added bonus of a hot tub on the private terrace area. A lovely modern bathroom with jacuzzi bath and big comfy bed.
Food was absolutely amazing, we has 5 course dinner and breakfast -neither disappointed!
We will definitely return here, will not hesitate to book again! Thank you for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaraP215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just had our third or fourth visit to SPCH. Great warm welcome, beautiful room, superb food. Weather was the usual mix of rain and sun, but good quiet location of the hotel helps you ignore the weather. Hope to be back in the spring.

Room Tip: We like room 11, but all the others we have seen have been good.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASG-Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I'm getting a bit weary of so-called "Country House Hotels"
They promise Downton Abbey ....and just don't deliver !!!!
A bin full of umbrellas in the porch does not a make a country house experience.!

Luckily, Sychnant Pass House DOES deliver....and it does it in style!
The major difference is that this is not a country house hotel ,it's the home of Hugh Rees Phillips and his family and you actually get treated like a member of the family rather than as an anonymous guest.
Meeting Hugh is like meeting up with a cousin you haven't seen for a year or two ......funny and warm and a tremendous host, nothing is too much trouble and he works tirelessly to ensure that you enjoy your stay.

We stayed in the Cwm Rhondda suite which has the most enormous bed and a some lovely period furniture to lounge about on. The facilities were first rate and the views over Snowdonia quite something.
But ,for us the focal point of the hotel was the lounge and we spent a lovely evening reading and chatting with our feet up.....and being fed a constant diet of G&T's by Hugh
Another advantage for us is that our dog ,Patch, was actually welcomed ,not just tolerated

We didn't dine at the hotel but other guests told us that the food was excellent....certainly our breakfast was cooked beautifully and served with a smile..

Sychnant Pass House itself is very well placed in the hills just outside Conway giving access to the coast ,the mountains of Snowdonia and the Lleyn peninsula.

Like other reviewers, we did enjoy the pool and sauna and the hot tub is a bit of a faff being outside...but it was OK .

We are usually glad to be on our way after a day or two ,but I would happily spend a week or two at Sychnant House as a guest of Hugh and his family....especially if he kept those large G&T's coming thick and fast!!!!

We will certainly be going back for another stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caterad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews