We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Content”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sychnant Pass Country House
Ranked #4 of 21 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally Content”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We would not have come here four times had we been anything other than totally satisfied. The hosts offer the best welcome we have ever received in a country house and this is just one of the things that make the place so special to us. It is in an ideal location for anyone who wants to leave their car and walk in the hills above Conway. There is a pool and sauna after all the exertion and excellent food and a well-thought out wine list. If we fancy a day's touring by car, it is convenient for Bodnant, Great Orme and Anglesey. We think Sychnant Pass House offers us very good value and great contentment - we will return! Note that this place bills itself as a Country House, not as a stereotypical hotel.

Room Tip: Best views from rooms at front of house e.g. Gwalchmai Double showers and jacuzzi bath and balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    46
    12
    16
    4
See reviews for
50
152
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went for a 2 night break away location was lovely,,, hotel really needed updating! Didn't justify the £185 a night billing. We had a private hot tub on our balcony which got turned off at midnight with out any notification as we had been out for the day came back had a few drinks an wanted to relax in hot tub didn't get much time to!!! We also tried to relax in the double spa bath but couldn't as plug didn't work an the water was draining,,, over all could do with a revamp don't mind paying the price but just expected a lot better .... Left disappointed!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights whilst on a course nearby for work and wanted a bit of luxury after a hard day, instead of using the local youth hostel! I found the hotel very comfortable with all the facilities needed. My room (4) was nice and big, with a little sitting room which I found really useful for work. It could probably do with a bit of updating if it were to warrant the term 'luxury', though - a lot of the furnishings seemed to be done on rather a budget. The lounge was lovely, with comfy sofas and lovely antiques which really did add to the country house atmosphere.
Breakfast was the usual British fayre and was plentiful and well cooked. I stayed for dinner one evening and that was lovely although a little expensive, but you're paying for the fact that this is billed more as a private country retreat than a hotel.
The best thing about this place is Hugh who is a very genial host who makes you feel like a guest in the true sense of the word. Both Hugh and Diane were really helpful with a couple of work-related tasks.
I used the pool and the sauna which were fine and I had them all to myself, and the changing facilities were large, clean and well-equipped.
The setting and grounds are beautiful as you would expect in Snowdonia!
My only gripe is the gate - it's to be kept shut but this gives an unwelcoming air and when I first arrived I wasn't sure I was at the right place and it seemed rather too private and closed. You also have to wobble your way over the cattle grid to open and close it, unless you can be bothered to go all the way round and through the pedestrian entrance. Maybe an investment in an electronic system would help.
All in all I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_Tiger31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Agree with Paul B of Manchester.
£185!!!!! ... same price as a suite at the Park Plaza
Peeling paint, poor finish to all paintwork
Loud music from the kitchen
Arrived to find the room hot and stuffy.
Although we knew there was no shower (only a bath) there was not even a hand held shower attachment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SBCC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in the Ebenezer Room; this room is ideal for people with walking difficulties as it is on the ground floor and close to the lounge, dining room and swimming pool and the patio doors open out to the meadow where you can enjoy seeing the sheep and lambs grazing We were lucky to see the wild horses on the hills too. Food was delicious and although it is stated that the evening meal is from 7.00 o'clock actual dining was much later. It is well worth a ride up the Pass to Penmenmawr, some lovely scenery on route. Enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Two ground floor rooms are Aberystwyth and Ebenezer. All rooms seemed really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. As all our food is freshly prepared in the kitchen by our chef, it does take a little longer to prepare and cook. Our guests usually find it's well worth the short wait.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here whilst on business in North Wales having searched via the laterooms.com website. Although the hotel seems more aimed to holiday makers, weddings etc it is a wonderful place to stay if you are away on business - so very different from the many soulless hotels I have had the misfortune to stay at.
Hugh rang me to check I was on my way and to see if I wanted to have dinner that night. On arriving at the hotel I was treated as a loyal returning guest (as opposed to a first-time visitor) and was given a comprehensive review of all the facilities including the gym, pool etc. Hugh even put the sauna on for me especially. The outdoor hot tub was wonderful - sitting in 40 degree water watching the new lambs grazing in the next field was a very special experience.
At dinner I came down to the lounge area and offered drinks whilst I chose my meal and after a short delay was taken to my table. Whilst all the other guests I am guessing were retired they were all very pleasant and greeted me politely.
The food was simply delicious. I had goats cheese salad, roast rump of lamb and creme brulee all of which were cooked to order.
My room had a lovely four-posted bed but retained a modern feel. I was even able to access the WiFi in my bedroom as I was close to the lounge.
Breakfast was a feast - a choice of continental and then hot food cooked to order.

Both Hugh and Diane were warm and genuine in their welcome and hospitality. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a personalised stay in a beautiful area.

Room Tip: Room 1 (Aberystwyth) has both a four-poster bed and is close enough to reception to get access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank licenseguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review. We are so glad you enjoyed all the facilities here. We do take your point about it seeming to be more for the leisure trade, but we do have quite a few business people who come here regularly and enjoy the personal touch we are able to give them. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Can't say for the hefty price of £135.00 that this hotel was good value for money..... Shown to room 8 & I'd wished I'd booked in to the local Travel Lodge,as soon as the door was opened there was evident marks on the wall-paper,entering the room & the marks were joined by heavy stains as well as a heavily stained fabric lamp-shade as well as a hole in the floor board between the bed & radiator......
The bath-room looked like something out of Rouge Traders with mouldy sealent pealing away from the corner bath as well as cracked & missing grouting around the bath tiles but to top it off was the exposed electric earth wire behind the toilet......
I wouldn't expect to find 1 of these faults for the price of the room let alone all of them.....
A guided walk was enough to know it was a mistake especially the indoor pool with mould & filth collecting in the corners of the steps in,fancy a dip? no thanks I don't want to be off work for the next week with an infection!!
Next time I'll save my money & book at the Travel Lodge!!!!
It may boast it was in the "Good Hotel Guide 2011" but what a difference 2 years can make.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
1.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sychnant Pass Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sychnant Pass Country House

Property: Sychnant Pass Country House
Address: Sychnant Pass House Sychnant Pass Road, Conwy LL32 8BJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sychnant Pass Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Edwardian country house is set in 3 acres of grounds with leisure facilities which includes swimming pool, sauna, gym and outdoor hot tub. We have charging points for electric cars and ample off-street parking. Situated in the Snowdonia National Park, we are in the heart of the countryside and yet only 1.5 Miles from the historic town of Conwy and less than 15 minutes' drive from the seaside resort of Llandudno (voted top UK seaside resort on Trip Advisor). We are easily accessible and well placed for both business and leisure stays. Our candlelit restaurant is highly recommended and is open 7 nights as week to residents and non-residents alike. Our seasonal menu offers a choice of starters, main courses and desserts and the food is freshly cooked to order, using local ingredients wherever possible. We can offer a great wine list to complement your food. Our location is convenient for Conwy, Llandudno, Bodnant Gardens, Mount Snowdon, Anglesey and we are a very useful stopping off point for those travelling to the Holyhead ferry terminal. Outdoor pursuits of walking, golf, mountain biking are all on our doorstep and just a short drive away, you will find the longest zip-wire in Europe and the only indoor surf resort at Surf Snowdonia - as well as plenty of other outdoor activities to enjoy. Alternatively, you can just curl up with a good book in our comfortable lounge! A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sychnant Pass Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sychnant Pass House Hotel Conwy
Sychnant Pass Country House Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing