We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Church Cottage is beautifully decorated and...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Church Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Conwy, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Andrea W
Newland, NC, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Church Cottage is beautifully decorated and centrally located in the little town of Conwy, Wales.”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The kitchen was well stocked so we made our breakfasts and one dinner there. There are stairs to climb to the bedrooms which are well furnished and comfortable. It is very cozy.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no wi-fi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PamM299
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Cute cottage, great location, gorgeous town ... unfortunately that's where the positives end. The cottage was really grubby, it hadn't been cleaned properly after the previous guest; toilet and shower hadn't been cleaned, no toilet paper, liquid soap and dishwashing detergent bottles were empty, dirty linen still in kitchen and we had to retrieve our towels from the dryer. Second bedroom had not been made up, ie no sheets, therefore we had to use the bedroom on the 3rd floor (no bathroom on this floor). We complained, and received an apology, and promise to investigate, however no one came to clean the property. They did however drop off toilet paper, soap and detergents. I asked for a top sheet as I wasn't convinced the duvet cover had been laundered since the last guest, my request was declined, so for peace of mind, I washed the duvet myself. The oven was unusable (extremely dirty), as was the ironing board and iron (stained and burnt). The house was very musty, in particular the wardrobes and cupoards, therefore were also unusable. Incense sticks were used to disguise the 'musty' smell and dog smell. Personal items were still in the cottage, ie clothes, food, liquor etc. I would not recommend the property to anyone with allergies (asthma) as damp/lack of ventiltion, along with animal odours may cause adverse reactions. We were really disappointed as the cottage looked great in the photos, but unfortunately the pictures don't tell the true story. Also there is no wifi and the mobile data reception is poor - therefore if you require internet access, book somewhere else.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Everything - was extremely dirty
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
I have thought long and hard about this vitriolic and untrue review and have decided not to dignify it by refuting it point by point. I would just urge people to consider the 34 good or excellent reviews against the views of this disgruntled person. If you have already booked, please be assured the cottage is clean and will be prepared for your stay. We are proud of our lovely cottage in Conwy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateH2311
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a wonderful time when we stayed in church cottage, the central location was perfect for us. The cottage was warm, welcoming and had almost everything we needed. I think a few small touches would have improved our experience e.g. a visitors welcome pack explaining where everything is with a few suggestions of things to see and do. Some information was emailed, but there was no Wi-Fi to download the attachments. Also, one of the beds wasn't made which wasn't a major problem as we were only using one room. But I would have liked a choice over where to sleep. Overall our stay was very enjoyable and I would definitely recommend this cottage!

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Church Cottage and that you would recommend it to others. With regards to a welcome pack, there is a basket of information on the under shelf of the console table, but I will make this clearer on the pre stay information e mail. Thanks again, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
956lisa
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent location and well appointed.”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I, and our 2 children aged 7 and 10 stayed for a short mid week break. Church cottage was lovely! Clean, furnishings of a high standard and with everything we required for our stay. It is situated in the heart of the walled town, so everything is no more than a couple of minutes away. Allocated parking is close by and vital. There is no outside space, which was not a problem for a short break, but may have been more tricky with kids for a longer stay. However, I would highly recommend the accommodation.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Thanks, Lisa, so glad you had a good time.
Kind regards,
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan H
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All we needed in a very good location”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely stay at Church Cottage. It had everything we needed for the week we were in Conwy. Plenty to do in the area - highlights for us were great bike rides to Betws y Coed, along the estuary into Llandudno and the Marine Drive around the Great Orme, The Bronze Age copper mine on the Great Orme is a must see if you are interested in history - more interesting than Stonehenge imho, Surf Snowdonia (yes surfing in Snowdonia!) and Conwy itself.

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
avd69
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was the first time I had ever rented a holiday home and it far surpassed my expectations. The cottage was beautifully appointed with everything you could ever need. It was like staying in a boutique hotel. It was situated right in the middle of beautiful Conwy, yet was still very quiet. A perfect holiday and we will definitely rent the cottage again soon.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.