We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Pub!”

The Albion Ale House
Ranked #1 of 3 Nightlife in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Traditional 1920's grade II listed pub specialising in locally produced ale from 'Conwy Brewery' 'Great Orme brewery' Bragdy'r Nant brewery' and 'Purple Moose brewery' -CAMRA Wales' Pub of the Year 2013. -Winner of English Heritage Pub design of the Year award 2013.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Loved The Albion, did not even no it was there until waiter in our hotel told us about it.

It is a gem. Warm, inviting and fabulous selection of Ale.

Opted for black dragon and did not disappoint. Hubby went for thatchers cider.

Lovely evening spent, can't wait for next visit.

1  Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 262 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

I visited this pub whilst on a return visit to my old stomping ground of Conwy with a friend. Back in the day, The Albion was not a pub you would want to drink in. Thankfully this has changed.

Excellent beer, lovely fire, good choice of malt whiskies - there's not much wrong with it. I loved the fact that they have kept food to a minimum, with Edwards pork pies as bar snacks. We had some excellent British pork scratchings.

My only criticism is that the layout of the pub isn't great. But it was quiet when we were there, and I suspect that the lack of tables is a bonus on a busy night as there's plenty of space for people to stand around and chat.

All in all, worth a visit.

1  Thank SomeRandomBinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Super friendly pub were i spent my Birthday afternoon on 4th March. Great beers with nice relaxing surroundings. No annoying TVs, gaming or jukebox. Just a tradional well run, well organised boozer. Plenty of Ales and Lager to try. Snowdon Lager was a firm favorite for me. Great Orme Ales spot on. Made another memorable visit to a pub.

Thank wwfc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, Manager at The Albion Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your visit, and took time to review us so positively. It makes the hard work that the team here worthwhile. Hope to see you again soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

what a brilliant pub going back to the good old days just a really good selection of real ales served by staff who know what they are talking about no piped music no pool tables just happy punters enjoyingthier drinks in front of open fires a really warm and friendly atmosphere well done to all involved.

2  Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, Manager at The Albion Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Shaun, thankyou for making the time to visit us, it was lovely to sit with you and chat with you. As a Landlord yourself, you understand what goes into making a pub work and we are glad you appreciate it. Like you also said, the absence of distractions does encourage conversation and 'bonhomie' and it is this that everyone at 'The Albion' try to promote. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks for giving us such a great review. Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Best pint in Conwy great choice of ales and largers love this place allows dogs which is great for us, Really friendly atmosphere can't fault it

3  Thank Gozza1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, Manager at The Albion Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you so much for the top rating. We are keen on trying new ales, lagers and wines for our lovely customers. If you have any suggestions, please feel free to give them. Thanks also for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Albion Ale House also viewed

Conwy, Conwy County
Llanddulas, Conwy County
 
Conwy, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to The Albion Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing