We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Evening”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Special Evening”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had an evening with our daughter and her boyfriend,
The meals were some of the best we have eaten. The lamb
was so tasty in a wonderful sauce, Steaks were cooked
to our liking, we had amazing Deserts! We enjoyed a great
bottle of Malbec, and relaxed in the comfortable chairs and
luxurious surroundings. The service was really good too,
all in all a wonderful evening all round. We will definitely be
going back to enjoy another great evening!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    320
    91
    46
    24
See reviews for
213
669
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a one night break and thoroughly enjoyed staying here. The staff were excellent, great customer service, very friendly and accommodating. The room was a club type and big enough, with a very large en suite, very clean. The bed was really comfortable and gave us a good nights sleep. The evening meal was superb, only a small choice from the set menu, but a really good selection, The mullet and belly pork starters were very tasty and we both had the very succulent chicken for mains and added a treat of dessert. The wine was great, the service very good, food cooked to order, not nuked as is so often the case these days! We struck lucky with the weather and were able to walk the walls and visit the castle and the quayside (suggestions from one staff member) and enjoyed all activities. Breakfast was really good with plenty of toast and coffee. The only blip came when checking out as the bill had duplicated some transactions which took a while to sort out. All in all, a great stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvAnTiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Arrived on Friday afternoon, car park full, attended reception advised them of this fact. We had two dogs with us, and it is a requirement that dogs be placed in car whilst guests dine. This presented no problem to the staff, the reception manager immediately removed her car, so we could have the space. We stayed in room 210 which was excellent, even if the wallpaper was a tad quirky, spacious with all the facilities you would expect from a four star establishment. Both evening meal and breakfast were of excellent quality. The staff were attentive and very well versed in their duties. The dogs had a brilliant time as did we, they are allowed in the lounge after 1800. One small teething problem a new computer system appears to be doubling up prices on the bill, this situation is being addressed. A great time had by all, we will be back.

Pat & Al

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights gorgeous hotel if you want luxury and amazing food chef is excellent!!a lovely setting scrumptious rooms,and staff and service brilliant this hotel is for you !!!will definitely return
Amazing
Ali and nick madeley

Room Tip: All rooms look lovely xxxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al11971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed one night on a voucher deal and due to the hotel having no premier rooms left were upgraded to a deluxe room at no extra charge. The choice on the special offer menu was a bit limited as we had been anticipating the gorgeous main menu, but the food itself along with the wine, was delicious. The location is ideal but parking is a bit tight if the hotel is busy. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the room was lovely with a splended view of the castle. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huwsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Booked midweek offer of dinner bed and breakfast for 2 for £99.

Frankly I was worried that at this price it wouldn't be up to much. However was pleasantly surprised. Room was fine, dinner was two courses from a limited menu with a bottle of wine (an extra £5 each for third course). Food was well presented and of a good gastro pub standard with reasonable portions. Could have easily paid £70 for meal alone.

Nice bar area with good selection of beers. Staff friendly and helpful.

If I had paid twice the price I might raise a couple of minor issues but at this price no complaints. Will be looking out for further offers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I'll keep this brief. As to many superlatives can spoil the compliment.

This hotel is excellent. Brilliant location. Stunning views. Amazing food and gorgeous rooms.

The suite we stayed in is especially luxurious. Caer Rhun. If you can - get it!

The staff are super too.

5 stars. Enough said!

Room Tip: Get the Swit Caer Rhun if you can splash out. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,591 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,230 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,382 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
997 reviews
24.4 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing