We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian chic”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Victorian chic”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

An excellent spot for a weekend break. The restaurant is superb, and the decor amazing. Local painters produced large scale paintings of Shakespearian subjects which add to the warm and welcoming atmosphere

It is an old building, so although decor is top notch there are ups and downs to reach rooms, and no lifts.

We went on a special offer via Travelzoo, which made it fantastic value.

Room Tip: Romms overlooking ghe street have best views, but mornings can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianbollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    321
    92
    47
    24
See reviews for
215
672
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Castle Hotel is centrally located in the delightful walled town of Conwy in North Wales. It is on a site that has hosted a hotel/inn for hundreds of years, and is built of old stone and red bricks and retains its 19 century style. The public areas are full of fascinating artworks that pertain to its distinguished history and the well-known figures that have stayed there.
The public areas and rooms are clean and well-maintained. I had a single room with elegant bathroom and a very comfortable bed. There is the usual (and very welcome) facility to make tea and coffee in the room and the now ubiquitous flat screen TV. Wireless internet is freely available (highly commendable) but unsecured. I can imagine some business travellers would feel more comfortable if they had to use a wireless access code. There is no air conditioning but a small electric fan is provided. Staff everywhere were helpful and polite. A daily national newspaper or two would be welcome in the public lounge. There is no elevator, and unless there are some ground floor bedrooms that I did not know about, access by some disabled people would be difficult. You have to ask about that when booking.
The room prices are on the high side, £70 per person in a double room (£85 single occupancy) in high season. There are some 'special deals' however. The price includes breakfast but the separate breakfast price is £14, which is high, but with no reduced price for those who want a light 'continental' breakfast. The breakfast coffee is ok and the two cooked breakfasts I tried were very nice but the fruit salad was unimpressive.
There is a restaurant for other meals with fairly standard (not excessive) prices and some good, well prepared dishes and good service. The 'posh fish and chips' was unimpressive for £19. They serve good after dinner coffee.
There is a largeish parking area at the back but it becomes quite full. Access is through a narrow archway to the left of the front door, but the mechanical wear to the archway walls testifies to some lack of care on the part of quite a few drivers.
Overall this is a very good place to stay especially for the business traveller on expenses but private travellers would find their budgets stretched somewhat.

Room Tip: No special recommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnestoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We also had the pleasure of using a TravelZoo deal once again to this hotel and as always, the serice, room, food, and everything else was superb. We would be happy to go to this hotel at anytime as it is so friendly and the staff go out of their way to help you, from booking the right room for me as a cancer sufferer , to the very end ofr our stay.

Room Tip: Just speak to the lovely lady at reception when you book and explain your requiremtns. She will alw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tworods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I are newly weds and as a gift from close friends we received a Travel Zoo voucher to stay for one night DBB with Champagne in room on arrival.

I must stay, the location is great, staff are friendly, the food was fantastic and the bedrooms are lovely & cozy.

After having some trouble in our hotel in Chester the previous night (let's not go there right now), Castle Hotel made up for our terrible experience and turned our getaway into a dream! Thank you!

We both wish we could stay longer but we are defiantly planning to return again in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Mrs_Lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Castle Hotel is in an excellent central location in Conwy and was the perfect choice for a family celebration. Seven of us stayed for two nights, benefiting from the April special offer. We were given a warm welcome and all the staff were friendly, attentive and efficient throughout our stay. The bedrooms are beautiful with clean and bright bathrooms. Our meals, both dinner and breakfast, were excellent, with just the right amount of choice. If some hot desserts were added, then the choice would be perfect! The hotel has great character, is beautifully decorated, and has many interesting and attractive fixtures and fittings. The lounge is very comfortable, a perfect place to relax in or perhaps play one of the games provided. We all loved the traditional feel of the hotel ( especially the creaky floors) and would love to come again.

Room Tip: Note to Trip Advisor: the Hotel does not have a fitness centre or offer children'd activities (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClwydCircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel. but on a very recent 4 day visit to the area we went here on all 4 days and had three fantastic meals.the mussels are AMAZING but so is the other choices on the menu. we ate in the bar it is only small but gorgeous a great atmosphere and the staff are fantastic. We are organizing a further visit to this beautiful area with friends and cant wait to take them to the Castle WHAT A GREAT FIND !!!

for the management we are the couple who questioned the size of the medium mussel dish as it was so massive !!

For all the staff that looked after us THANK YOU ! We will be back Peter & Rita

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hoteliers please note if you want to see how an hotel should be operated, visit The Castle Hotel in Conwy.
The establishment is immaculate and tastefully furnished - welcoming and warm, it was cold and pouring with rain when I arrived. However - I had a very warm welcome from Debb's on reception with a fantastic smile, I liked them hotel so much I immediately converted a one nights stay into two nights... I had note even seen the room!
I was not disappointed great staff, it's difficult picking out special mentions - but Debbs on reception was perhaps the best receptionist I have ever encountered, Holly in the dining room was the waitress with the mostest, nothing was too much trouble and she did not fuss or hover - she was just there when needed with such a fantastic smile. Last but not least Emlyn the night porter - nothing was too much trouble and he was so efficient and friendly - a great asset.

The Management need commending - the staff are a credit to the Hotel and the industry.

An Hotel that deserves visiting, wonderful location, fantastic staff and succulent food, try the corned beef hash - it was exquisite - the menu even mentioned the source of the food.

I will visit the Castle Hotel again for sure.

Room Tip: I stayed in 102 - it was very restful and I had two great nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,595 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
998 reviews
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,384 reviews
24.4 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing