We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on winter break deal to go winter walking in Snowdonia. The hotel is perfectly positioned in the centre of Conwy, within easy walking distance of all the main attractions. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated and with a great view of Conwy Castle, behind which the sun rises. Check-in was swift and service friendly. The restaurant food is delicious with a nice focus on local produce. Also an excellent selection of quality local ales in the hotel bar. Very enjoyable stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mbexknrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    287
    85
    41
    22
See reviews for
177
609
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a number of times in the past so decided to take advantage of the Easter Special weekend, as always the food exceptional!!!!! have now sampled most of the menu nothing disappoints the rooms wonderful, spotless a and staff very friendly and helpful!! Enjoyable stay cannot fault a single thing well done!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirrorsmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

On 27th march 1963 we spent the first night of our honeymoon at The Castle Hotel, 50 years
later, we returned to celebrate our Golden Wedding.Much has changed in that time, not least
the hotel and quality of food.Having booked one of the deals that was on offer at the time,we were
greeted by very friendly staff, supplied with a beautifully furnished room,with all the comforts for
a pleasant stay including a bottle of champagne.when we decided to go down for dinner,the dining
room staff were just as helpful,taking us through the menu with a great deal of knowledge and a
smile.The meal was an experience of culinary delight,together with a lovely bottle of wine.Breakfast the next morning was just as good.The date was memorable to start with made
unforgettable by a wonderful hotel, with fantastic food and staff. Thank you

Room Tip: All rooms are individual and furnished to the highest standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed bed and breakfast on Travel zoo deal, good value for money.Lovely room,comfortable bed, chilled bottle of champagne in room on arrival,nice touch,(bit risky though, sharing bottle of champers then walking around town on castle wall ).Very tasty 4 course meal .Hotel ideal location for visiting local attractions.Conwy well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked two nights at the hotel. Hotel was warm, inviting and relaxing.

Easy check in, booked deluxe room had castle view and jacuzzi. Had trouble finding the tv which came up from the end of the bed, great idea. Room warm and comfortable. Bar selling cask ales and had relaxed atmosphere. Had breakfast two mornings, plenty of choice.

Had evening meal served in room. Food was fabulous.

Had lovely two night break and came home feeling relaxed. Weather did not bother us due to the surroundings that we were in.

Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

A few years ago we were regular visitors to the Castle but recently we have only popped in for a evening meal (you all must try the haddock and chorizo risotto) or drink when visiting Conwy. But we stayed here this week for my wife's birthday and the experience we had reminded me how good the Castle is. We enjoyed a one nights dinner, bed and breakfast deal and it was made even more special by the welcome we received from the owner Joe (who we had not seen for a a number of years) and the reception we received from Mandy (I think that was her name) on the front desk. The service, accomodation and food made it a very special birthday for my wife.

Room Tip: If you visit in November the fireworks display by Conwy Castle is amazing and can be watched from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philly1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for the great review and coming back to see us again.
Pleased that my son Joe was his usual charming self and made you feel welcome - and yes it is Mandy on the front desk. We like to think the hotel is good too, but it's all about the people who visit and the great team we have here. Mandy has been with us for a number of years now and Joe has created a very professional, friendly group of people who always try their best and get it right most of the time.
See you soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night's dinner, B & B through a Travelzoo deal. This is a beautiful old building with loads of character. Our room wasn't that large, but was warm, comfortable, clean & well-furnished. Although it faced the high street we heard no noise at night. Just a slight "gripe"- we found the level of lighting was inadequate (just 2 bedside lamps and a lamp on the desk which couldn't be adjusted to throw more light into the room). The bathroom was spotlessly clean (apart from a dusty extractor fan!) with a range of toiletries and plenty of towels. The food was amazing - full marks to the chef! The drinks weren't too expensive either for a hotel of this calibre. The staff were polite, pleasant & and helpful. There is plenty of customer parking, although when entering the hotel from the front it would be beneficial to have signs directing guests to Reception, as it's not immediately apparent where to go to check in. All in all a very enjoyable experience and we would definitely like to go back some time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraGeorgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for a very constructive review.
We're really pleased that you enjoyed your one night stay with us especially the food. Since we bought the hotel in 2000, we have always strived to provide the very best food and drink experience we can. We like to think we offer good value for money even in these times of rapidly escallating costs.
Sorry about the dusty fan and low level of lighting in your bedroom. We converted all our lights to LED's around a year ago in an effort to reduce our carbon footprint, but some guests find the light a little dull sometimes. We do have extra lamps available if required to try and compensate, for guests who need more light.
Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing