We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tradition At Its Very Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tradition At Its Very Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Many small towns have that hotel that used to be the bees knees, but is now looking faded and jaded, unable to compete with the MotoLodge type establishment on the by-pass. It used to be the 'posh' hotel in town, but is now the place you want to avoid.

The Castle most definitely DOES NOT fall into that category.

The traditional feel of the place is stil there in spades, as are modern management systems which are not allowed to show themselves too obtrusively other than, for example, the computerised restaurant booking system where you might have expected to see a dog-eared A4 diary.

Make no mistake, the Castle is pretty pricey, but if you want a few nights of real luxury it's a small price to pay compared to cheap alternatives.

I would thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusmanOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    287
    85
    42
    22
See reviews for
177
611
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the castle hotel last year on a travel zoo offer. We had such a good time we returned with friends to celebrate two birthdays last weekend. The location is so convenient for the many attractions of Conwy, we went to the harbour, walked part of the castle wall and had a few drinks in the Albion pub. We also stocked up at Edwards the butcher - the best pork pies!
All three rooms were charming and different and all our party slept well.
We dined in the Shakespeare restaurant - local lamb and Conway mussels were delicious, as was breakfast the next morning.
We would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Last year we stayed in a room at the rear of the hotel with amazing view of the castle lit up at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Conwy town is very nice but one day/night is probably enough to see everything of interest, we loved the hotel, very old and full of character, we ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was very good and so was the breakfast next morning, the staff in the bar and restaurant were excellent, but oh dear , the staff at reception, when we arrived they could not be have been less interested in us, and the same when we were checking out they just stood around talking amongst themselves, but apart from them we had a loveley time, the champagne in the room was perfect, and the room was very comfortable with a view of the castle, would go back again if we could avoid reception and go straight to our room

Room Tip: rooms with castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
179 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to the restaurant twice (4 people), once for dinner and once for lunch.

Really, REALLY good food. Local ingredients are featured. Some excellent wines too.

What confused me was the restaurant name. Maybe they were in the middle of re-branding. Anyhow, I'll refer to it as the restaurant at the Castle Hotel...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disgusted17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We arrived early for check in which was not a problem for reception. The room was ready and spotless, possibly one of the fanciest showers I've ever used, cleaned bits of me I have never reached. We had a room in the front overlooking the car park, I am a light sleeper but needn't of worried the windows kept what little noise there was out.

We ate in the hotel, and I can't fault anything about the food. Service was excellent and nothing was any trouble.

We had a walk down to the harbour and a beer or two in the pub whilst the live music was on.

Breakfast in the morning was served at the table, full Welsh for me which was ample and had just normal local pork sausages, I'm not a lover of the pork and whatever so no complaints.

We will be back later this year and are looking forward to it.

Stayed December 2011
Helpful?
Thank moggsie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at the Castle for three nights when on business in Llandudno Junction. The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of Conwy and the rooms are very clean and quiet. The wifi is excellent and free to, the restaurant is superb and the food all round is superb. It's a little on the pricey side to eat but well worth it, especially the full Welsh breakfast in the morning! Definitely the place to stay, just watch out for the tight car park entrance when you arrive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edyboy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Been here several times and it never disappoints. Couldn't get the internet in the room we were in so they moved us no quibbling to another room. We had a room on the front with a bay window which was great for people watching. If you like a lie in a room at the front may not be for you due to early morning road noise which is to be expected in a busy town Hotel. We enjoyed the view of the hustle and bustle so the benefit far outweighed the slight noise.
The food in the restaurant is gourmet dining and can not be faulted. All staff are friendly and attentive and a credit to the establishment.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the advantage of overlooking the busy high street however if you prefer a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiler1Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing