We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I booked a room by telephone after reading trip advisor reviews. I got a better price than shown online which was nice. I had a fab double room, very large with a big bed. The deco was old world and very nice and luxurious. The bathroom as also large with a nice large walk in shower - however the bathroom could have done with a bit of work. The paint was faded on the ceiling and the was quite a lot of mildew. I ate out but the resturant looked pretty good and I'd heard good things about the food. Breakfast was very good - I had kippers which were lovely.

Room Tip: Phone and ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel was well located within the town and the decor was in-keeping with the age of the hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. However, the room was far too hot, we opened the windows to cool the room down and as a result had the worst two nights sleep ever when away from home. The church clock. I live near a church and love the sound of the bells on a Sunday but not the clock chiming every 15 minutes ALL night long!. The food in Dawson's was not what we had expected the standard to be, I expect hand cut chips to be crispy, these were bendy and had no crunch to them whatsoever. Also when we pulled the chairs out to sit down the tops came away in our hands. I believe at £280 for a 2 night stay is far too pricey.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep soundly, don't open the windows and sleep with ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanP082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Disappointing review - I suppose you can't please everyone!
You stayed this week obviously, which is half term and very busy, so you have paid full tariff. I have had no other complaints about the hotel being overly warm, each to his own I suppose when it comes to temperatures!
I have had a conversation with our vicar a couple of times re the church clock over the years - and he very politely reminds me that the church has been in Conwy over 700 years - and he has no intention of changing its operation!!
Most of our guests find the quirks of being in the middle of a 1000 year old town, with Medievel walls, charming and whilst on holiday, enjoy the experience. I'm sorry you didn't.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Everything about The Castle Hotel at Conway is wow. The staff (even before we got there) were so helpful and friendly. The hotel decor itself is tasteful and beautiful. The 5 course dinner was amazing, perfectly cooked, beautifully served and so tasty. Our upgraded room was a complete wow and made us feel very special. The only down point? Well, nothing the hotel were to blame for but someone gave our car a nasty scrape in the car park. BTW I always say I never give anyone top marks because there is always room for improvement - guess what? Top marks Castle Hotel, keep up there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftogigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you so much for a very positive review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Sorry to read about your car getting scratched though - it's so annoying when no one admits to doing it. Thankfully very rare occurance here, in fact can't remember another similar incident - so you were really unlucky!
Proud to receive a rare 5 stars from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A wonderful old hotel that is comfortable and well kept. Our suite was well decorated and we had a view of the castle that is really special at night. The bed was firm and the pillows as well. The bath was well stocked. The in room tub with shower feels a bit dated and would be difficult for anyone with knee issues to get in and out of as it sits very high. While I'm sure the intent is romance, the functionality suffers. There are some maintenance issues with the building as there was a large damp patch in the corner of our ceiling. The reception area is a bit dreary as it is a dark corner and the potted plants were dying. The carpet is worn and has no link in design or style with the rest of the building. There is no lift. The bar food was delicious, but you MUST book ahead, especially on a weekend night. This is the only game in town and it fills up quickly. An enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Go with the Premium Double over the Deluxe Double. The room sizes are similar and the 'spa'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVTraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are about to remodel our reception area (starts on the 13th!) so we agree that it needs bringing up to the specification of the rest of the ground floor.
I'm afraid with a building this age, there are always maintenance issues and with all the rain over the last few months, water egress is the most pressing. Sorry about the damp patch.
Yes, in room corner bath does 'nod' to romance, but at only 2 years old, not dated!
We're not the 'only game in town' with regards to food - but you're correct in saying that we are the busiest and reservations are advisable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A group of 6 of us enjoyed a fab weekend at the Castle over the Food Festival weekend. Our rooms were lovely full of character and the food was amazing! as per some of the previous reviews the hotel was very busy due to the festival but the staff coped very well and were all very polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. We met Andy the chef and complimented him on his food, so much so that we booked again for the Saturday night, we also tasted hiw Cawl on the Saturday afternoon and took some home on the Sunday! Fabulous weekend, we would definately recommend and will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollymoo1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review.
We enjoyed having you stay (from The Valleys!) and hope you enjoyed your 'carry out'!

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just returned from another weekend stay at this super hotel. We got an incredible deal for dinner bed and breakfast through travelzoo. Even at full price this hotel is good value offering something quite unique in a lovely welsh town. The food has to be the highlight. The evening meal was awseome even though it was from a fixed menu, because of the deal we were on. The breakfast also offered a very extensive choice and all cooked to perfection. Anyone who appreciates good food should visit this hotel and enjoy. We will be back!!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunlover187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thanks for the review.

Pleased you enjoyed your stay - and that it wasn't too busy for you, as you arrived on the Sunday of the Conwy Food Festival.
This is the second year we are doing a winter Travelzoo offer - but probably our last - so please keep your eye on our website offers and packages in the future!
It's great to read you appreciated our unique 'inn' in the middle of a very special walled town on the beautiful North Wales coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Went here on Sunday for lunch.
We were shown to a table and then we were asked to move as it was reserved but during our time there no one actually did sit at this table.
We had soup and king prawn spaghetti as starters which were very tasty.
We both opted for the Sunday dinner. One chicken and one lamb
We were quite disappointed with this overpriced plAte of food.
Having chicken I would have thought a portion of stuffing would have accompanied it but it didn't. It was served with bubble and squeak which - like the rest of the vegetables - actually tasted of nothing.
There was no seasoning and it just tasted of boiled potatoes.
The gravy was thin and watery and sparse.
At £10-95 for one course it was really a let down.
Wine by the glass has a very poor choice and their large is actually only a medium measure so be aware of this.
Not happy they put a service charge on. Although the service was very good it is something I like to choose to do myself rather than have it added on to my bill as a purchased item. After all the prices they charge reflect this already.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairandsquare07862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,694 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castlebank Hotel
Castlebank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Conwy
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
713 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,285 reviews
20.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range: $91 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing