We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I had booked a deluxe room via Booking.com, having checked the hotels website I enquired on arrival if a suite was available - the receptionist was able to show me both rooms and let me choose (the bath & champagne sold the suite to me!)
The customer service was excellent; nothing was too much trouble. The night porter was especially helpful for a midnight snack!
Room 214 was great and had nearly everything we needed...... Only 1 plug point which I found in the cupboard to be able to charge my phone and there seems to be no wi-fi at this end of the hotel? iPad picked it up great in the bar but lost it once in the room, perhaps this wasn't a bad thing though as I was on holiday to get away from emails etc....
Breakfast was included in the price of the room and I was able to have it in the room for a small charge.
Car parking facilities are excellent and safe, there was very little noise from the high street and it's a great base as you are within easy walking distance from all the attractions. Lovely view of the cable from the bedroom window.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank welsh696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for your review.

We're really pleased you enjoyed upgrading to our Caer Rhun Suite - it is definitely worth the extra - even if it's just for the 2 person bath!
Not sure about the lack of sockets comment - there are several in the lounge to the suite which would have done your recharge for you.
Apologies for the Wifi signal problem in the room - obviously with 300 year old walls (3 feet thick in places!), it's challenging to get strong signal everywhere. To achieve this we have installed signal 'boosters' all over the place and since reading your review, I've noticed the one nearest the suite doesn't seem to be working for some reason! Just called IT/electrician to fix!
Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    313
    88
    44
    23
See reviews for
199
649
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We live locally and wanted to go somewhere different from our usual places. We decided on Shakespeare's restaurant in the Castle Hotel after looking at the menu online. The food was absolutely delicious and the service very good. It was my daughters birthday and so we thought it worth paying a bit extra. We would definitely think of going there for another special occasion.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here so I can't comment on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Always nice to hear from one of our local customers, thank you for writing.
We absolutely depend on our reputation in our area and the all year round business we enjoy from our locals.
Hope you can visit us more often than just for special occasions!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

what a superb hotel the castle is. we arrived in conwy already knocked out by the town itself, not having realised the mediaeval walls are intact, so the town is a marvellous to look at harbour town with a stunning castle, several other interesting old buildings, shops and places to eat.
staying at the castle hotel then put the cherry on top.
it's two old inns put together on the site of a cistercian monastery, with the town church at the back where the welsh princes were buried, so before you start the place is oozing character and history.
then you get to your room along wonderful corridors lined with antiques and lamps that makes it feel like a country house - and when you get to the room it gets better as all the history goes with a mingling of stunning classic decor and modern stylish touches. as you'd expect, the rooms are large, with a bed, dressing table, sofa and tables and the en suite very modern and of superb quality. the bed was comfortable, and the whole place breathed relaxation in style.
i suppose the only criticisms were no lift (staff will help with luggage) and no air con - but it would be so wrong to mess with the fabric of a beautiful old building like this: a fan was available & good enough. also the shower was what the scots call a bit peely wally, with a surprisingly weak flow and i had real trouble rinsing my hair.
those are tiny points though in the scheme of things - breakfast was truly excellent with a good cold buffet and great cooked breakfast - not a hot buffet, so all was well cooked and piping hot.
i suppose another disappointment was how busy the bar was so we had to sit outside in the corridor to have a drink after dinner, but i guess it's testament to how popular a spot this is. we had a few places we wanted to try for dinner in town, so we didn't try the hotel restaurant.
i'd have no hesitation at all in recommending the castle and would love to stay there again as soon as can be arranged . . . . next time i think we will eat at the hotel too, if the food is as good as the ambience and comfort level, it will be worth it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hfulton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review.

It's always nice to read of our guests' experiences when they stay with us and hear of their time in Conwy.
You will have to dine with us next time, as I can say with all modesty that we offer the best food in town!
Sorry about the poor water pressure in your room. Hopefully, we have cured that problem as we installed a new hot water system over a couple of nights last week - and so far so good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A warm welcome awaited us on our recent over night stay at the Castle Hotel in Conwy (Sept 6th 2012) - followed by a beautiful room No. 117 - with Champagne on ice and Hand made Chocolates as pre-booked waiting for us (double delux/fst/Bose radio alarm/Deep corner bath in room/beautifully decorated and co-ordinated). A stroll round Conwy taking in the views of the harbour and castle and seagulls of course - calling in at a couple of the local pubs - then back to the Hotel. Leisurely down to the Hotel Bar then through to the Restaurant for our evening meal - the food was excellent and so was the service - checked out with ease the next day - nice drive through the mountain pass before joining the dreaded motorway back home - a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay just what we needed - will definately be returning one day.

Room Tip: No. 117 was a beautiful room - with a view of Conwy Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
What a great review - thank you very much.

Sounds like you did it right to me - very civilised visit!
We think Conwy is a great destination, even just for an overnight stay and you obviously think so too.
We like to think, we 'add value' to the Conwy experience and create a comfortable and atmospheric element to the town's natural charm and heritage.

Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We took our 13 year old son out for dinner and enjoyed a really fantastic meal at The Castle Hotel. We all eat out regularly and enjoy a wide variety of cooking styles and he hasn't needed the children's menu since he was tiny as we preferred to let him choose Starter portions etc however at this hotel we noticed that they do offer a far more attractive children's menu than the usual.The food was excellent, imaginative, beautifully presented and offering a wide variety of options including gluten free and vegetarian. The staff were attentive, efficient but not officious, friendly but not intrusive.A thoroughly enjoyable evening in a relaxed atmosphere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review.

We're very pleased that you enjoyed some quality family time and that your son enjoyed his meal.
We try and treat the children who visit as our furure customers, so do offer a range of smaller portions from our main a la carte menu, not just the usual nuggets and chips (although we've got those too for the plainer eaters!)

We're also pleased our front of house team looked after you to 'compliment' the good food you chose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a very old hotel with a lot of charecter but you do have to accept that it will have creaking floors, a lot of stairs and no lifts. the rooms are large and well furnished and the restaurent and bar are good but lack trained staff. My main problem during our stay was that the advertised WiFi did not work in my room and they were not interested in fixing it. A bit too expensive for the standard which I would put at 3.5 star

Room Tip: Dont have room 121 if you want to use the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haleharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for your review.

Yes, we are OLD - parts date back to 16th century, so the odd creak is expected. Actually some guests demand creaky floorboards and find the charm in the place.
But we do have modern amenities including FREE wifi everywhere - but not when you stayed it appears! Due to the age of the building and walls getting on for 3 feet (1.8m!) wide in places, we have to put in signal repeaters and unfortunately the one nearest Room 121 (the furthest room from the hub) had blown an internal fuse, so no signal boost. Specialist job to fix I'm afraid - but working again now.
Staff all trained or in training! We took the view 12 months ago that whilst the economy was tough, we needed to be on our 'A Game' at all times, so we entered into a major training programme.
I think if you read other reviews than just this one, you will see a pretty constant theme running complimenting our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We often pop into the hotel for a drink when in Conwy where you can expect to taste a well kept drink of beer. Thought we would like to try the food so turned up for Sunday lunch. We had the choice of sitting in the restaurant or bar so chose the restaurant. Staff were very friendly and obliging. However the food was not up to the standard I would expect from this hotel. The meals of beef and lamb came plated up. The roast beef was so tough that we asked for a sharp knife to cut it. Both the meals of beef and lamb were very bland and lacked taste.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for your review.

Obviously impossible to comment on any food related problem as you didn't mention you had a problem when you were here.
We offer a plated Sunday roast option in addition to our extensive menu- all of which are "plated". We have served literally hundreds of portions of Welsh beef over the last couple of months and yours is the only complaint we've had. "Bland" is a word I've never heard used re our food in 12 years we've owned the hotel!
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your meals. Should have gone nicely with one of our local ales!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,562 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
674 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,362 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
973 reviews
24.4 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing