We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I adore this hotel......”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I adore this hotel......”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I must start by saying that my husband and I absolutely adore this hotel. This was our third visit, the first being in 2003, along with our daughter, and the second in 2009 when our daughter had her wedding at Conwy Castle and a total of eight family members stayed for three nights. This time, it was just myself and my husband. We booked about six months in advance and choose the Explore North Wales Offer, which included a premium room for three nights, breakfast each day, a dinner allowance each evening, several drinks and bottles of wine on the various nights, as well as a complimentary visit to Conwy Castle. We were assigned an absolutely lovely room on the first floor at the front of the hotel, looking out over the high street. The room was very spacious, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. The food in the restaurant, as on the first two visits, was wonderful. The menu is vast and varied and everything we ordered was always cooked to perfection. The people who work at the Castle Hotel are unfailingly friendly and helpful. You simply could not ask for better treatment. The one thing I would wish for is perhaps a more detailed accounting of charges at checkout. Because of the special offer we were on, our meals up to 22 pounds per person per night were meant to have been deducted from our bill and they were not for the second and third nights. I noticed this and pointed it out and it was immediately rectified, with apologies. However I believe there were also a couple of other charges on our bill which should not have been included - perhaps the complimentary drinks or wine on one or two nights. Since the charges were not actually itemized on the bill I could not easily identify them, and therefore I did not dispute them. We had in fact charged coffee and drinks and one lunch to our room from the bar over the three days, and I just couldn't remember what amounts should have been included and what should not have been. This was entirely my fault for not keeping track. It was very minor blip - since I'd booked our stay more than six months beforehand, we were given the lower price that had been in effect at the time of our booking rather than the current price for this offer, which more than made up for any small errors on our bill. In 20 trips to the UK, this is truly one of our favorite hotels and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting North Wales. Aside from the ideal base from which to visit Conwy Castle, it is also an easy bus ride to visit Caernarfon and Beaumaris castles. Thank you to all at Conwy Castle Hotel for making our stay so pleasant. We hope to be back again soon. We would not dream of staying any place else on visits to North Wales.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    320
    91
    46
    24
See reviews for
213
669
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

One night via travel zoo at Castle wasn't enough. The room was super and the foes was delicious. Staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSGGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The whole experience here was "just wonderful". Rooms luxurious, stylish and such a comfortable big bed along with the jacuzzi bath. Dinner in the restaurant was first class as was breakfast. The staff couldn't have been more helpful to this party of 6 and a babe.The hotel is in a perfect spot to explore Conwy. Thanks we had a great time and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: view of castle over the car park lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

we were a party of 8 staying for 1 night on a travel zoo offer and so pleased that we booked it, everything was perfect, the stylish decor, beautiful rooms with comfortable beds, duvets and pillows. The interior and exterior of this hotel will not let you down. Dinner and breakfast was excellent, staff are a credit to the hotel and it's owners.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

a warm freindly and genuine welcome awaits you at the Castle Hotel.Family run by people who take a pride in their hotel and employ staff with the same friendly outlook.
Great rooms with nice little 'touches'(we peacked in a few as we arrived early before other guets) and nothing but nothing is too much trouble from the staff to ensure a great stay.We went curtosy of a Travel Zool deal and meals where menu of the day-- two nights saw faultless plates of local well cooked and presented dishes and again no problem if you prefered this veg or that style of potatoe.
Thanks guys a memorable visit and a pleasure to spend time with you.
p.s. check out the unique room key fob!!!!

Room Tip: we orginaly had a classic room which was great-- a minor minor problem and the hotel insisted we mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

If you like staying in stark, white, contemporary box-type hotels, then this place isn't for you. Why? Because this hotel has charm, character and heaps of personality.

And when I say much loved by all, I don't just mean the guests; as a family run business you really can enjoy the absolute dedication from them all to ensure your stay is a welcoming, comfortable and thoroughly relaxing. Even the resident Jack Russell, Jerry, who was kept at a discreet distance, was very pleased to welcome you, if caught the rare chance for a stoke!

The investment the team has made really shows. The rooms are beautifully appointed with extravagant drapes, luscious wall papers and sumptuous beds. We stayed in room 112 which also came with a sofa, large flat screen TV, sound system and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was modern by contrast, giving us the option of either shower or bath. We were lucky enough to benefit from the Sunday Sinner offer, which gave us an upgraded room with hearty breakfast for only £99.

We indulged in three meals there on our overnight stay and thoroughly enjoyed them all; breakfast, Sunday lunch and an evening snack. Thoughtful favour combinations, good value, good choice, nicely presented and politely served.

What really impressed me with this property was the perfect balance of old and new. The renovation work they've carried out was done tastefully and in-keeping with a historic building yet worked perfectly with a modern twist; it didn't feel at all antiquated which could easily have happened.

Sadly our mission to complete a UK tour (which seem to keep landing near castles) means we probably won't be back in Conwy, not at least for a while, but when we do, this will be my number one destination. Well done to Joe and the team for an very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get the Premium rooms, they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jagpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Thank you, not only for another fabulous meal, but for making sure that we had comfortable seats for my dodgy back ... I really appreciated this individual touch and made the meal even more enjoyable. Despite a slightly lively end to the Wedding party which had drifted into the bar, all the service was attentive and the food of real quality. Starters of salmon and dill souffle, mains of venison and desert of panacotta with bramble jelly was just heavenly. A good place for foodies! Consistently high quality food - and we have eaten here every time we have visited Conwy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.7 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,591 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,230 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,382 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
997 reviews
24.4 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing