We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no thank you!”
Review of YHA Conwy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our first impression of the YHA Conwy was good. There is a TV room, a huge dining room and a big kitchen. However, the first positive impression was diminished. The beds were small as well as the room. Furthermore, there were a lot of unforeseen costs (e.g. there is no free WiFi in year 2014! Any coffee shop has it nowadays!) The stuff was less than cheerful and answered questions about buses poorly. They made us feel bothering them, but we were dependent on them as we did not have access to the internet. After having been to better and cheaper hostels, definitively our last stay in YHA Conwy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeSm350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwymanager, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. I am sorry that you felt that there were 'hidden fees' for services while staying with us. All YHA's offer free wifi to YHA/Hostelling International members. A one year membership costs as little as £7.50 and with it you will receive not only the wifi but discount on every night that you stay with us (£3.00) per night. This is valid in over 150 hostels in in England & Wales as well as over 4,000 hostels worldwide. If you are not a member or choose not to take the membership then there are 1,3 & 7 day wifi passes available.

Regards

Eric Audige-Soutter
YHA Conwy
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 440 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

A clean and tidy hostel with awesome views! We stayed in a private room with our own ensuite. Large kitchen and dining area which were both really good lots of kitchen space. A short walk to town but hostel was up a steep hill, the benefit was great views of the area.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank alw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwymanager, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear alw3

Thank you for your kind comments! We are very lucky with the location. Over looking the Snowdonia National Park on one side and Conwy Castle above the river estuary on the other...
Hope to see you again!
Eric Audigé-Soutter
Manager
YHA Conwy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Another fabulous stay at YHA Conwy...never fails to exceed my expectations. Great place & happy, smiley staff. Have already booked in for my April trip to North Wales. Happily recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwymanager, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Christina B
Thank you very much.
Looking forward to see you soon again. From the whole YHA Conwy team.
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Went for a two night break away by the sea. We Were very impressed by the value for money and size of the room and liked the feel of the hostel. The hostel was clean, spacious and we enjoyed the great views from the dining room. One of the best value youth hostels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwymanager, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear John B

Thank you!

Eric Audige-Soutter
Manager
YHA Conwy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Set high up above the historic town of Conwy this hostel has beautiful views north over the estuary and south towards Snowdonia. It has just been redecorated, has friendly staff and good food. It is bright, cheerful and comfortable. The hostel is within easy walking distance of the town rail station (be prepared for a steep hill). More trains stop at Llandudno Junction station and you may find it's quicker, and cheaper, to travel to and from there and take the lovely walk across the river bridge to the YHA

I would recommend a visit to the nearby Victorian seaside resort of Llandudno. For those using public transport a day rover pass on the buses allows you to make an economical circular trip through the mountains

I have been here several times before and hope to return

Room Tip: Ask if you could have a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LichfieldAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwymanager, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

It is always brilliant to hear about our regular guess.
Diolch y fawr!
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Anyone seeking a post xmas break, then I can certainly reccomend this outstanding town. As well as the many features in Conwy the hostel is a great base to explore from.. The staff were most helpful and the food was exellent. I was cycling, but the walking is good, so much so that I intend returning hopefully for a week.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwymanager, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Tony A.
Many thanks for your kind comments. Hoppe you will be coming back again soon!
Regards
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Located on a hill of this lovely scenic Welsh city of Conwy, this hostel has everything (many with a small fee) :)

The rooms are great with windows to view the scenery, heaters for the winter, stable bunk beds, personal lights and electric outlets, comfortable mattresses, customer embroidered sheets, oversized lockers, and complete bathroom units with sink/toilet/shower.

Amenities and features for this facility include: laundry room, tv room, game room, dining room with full breakfast and dinner options (possibly lunch), self-serve kitchen, observatory room, and viewing deck.

For a FEE:
- The food is great...full English (maybe it was Welsh) Breakfast, and different 3course dinner options and wine and beer was available. AWESOME.
- clean towels
- wifi, but only in the tv and game room area

Room Tip: Though there is a sign at the final turn, it would have been nice to see other signs throughout the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,311 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rosaire
Rosaire
#61 of 146 in Llandudno
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Erskine Arms
The Erskine Arms
#7 of 22 in Conwy
31 reviews
2.6 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#95 of 146 in Llandudno
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Conwy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Conwy

Address: Larkhill Pass Rd, Conwy LL32 8AJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Conwy
Price Range: $32 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Conwy 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious modern hostel with views of Conwy's Castle, medieval walls and harbour. Conwy Youth Hostel is an ideal base for exploring North Wales. A great location for backpackers, families, youth organization and anyone wanting easy access to the coastal resorts of Llandudno and the Snowdonia National park. The hostel is situated on hill just outside the town walls of Conwy in large grounds with a summer house, barbecue and picnic area. There are spectacular views from the roof terrace of the ancient medieval town of Conwy and the North Wales coastline. The town centre with its pubs, tea shops and local attractions is just a 10 minute walk away. The Conwy Castle is well worth a visit and the quayside is great for sitting back and watching the yachts and fishing boats go by. Guest Rooms – Spacious, light, clean with security lockers and all room fully en-suite. Bar – Relax tasting the Local beer lounging in our new Bar or admire the view from the patio/terrace overlooking the Snowdonia National Park. Outside – Plenty of room for a game of football in our large garden, enjoy the peace and quiet of the summerhouse or eat al fresco in our picnic and BBQ areas. Common areas – Relax and enjoy the views from our observation lounge and roof terrace, chill out in front of the TV with the kids in our family area, challenge someone to a game of pool or table football in the games room or if you just want peace and quiet sit and read your favourite book in our quiet lounge. Meals – All our meals are delicious and great value for money. If after a hard days sightseeing you don’t feel like cooking enjoy one of our evening meal specialties such as Welsh lamb casserole or Lemon and Herb salmon. We even have a special children’s menu with old favourites like Fish Fingers and Chips and Bangers and Mash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Conwy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Conwy Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing