We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel - clean place and friendly staff”
Review of YHA Conwy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hostel - clean place and friendly staff”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hostel in Conwy is located on top of a hill above the city, easy to reach by car and not too far by foot. It is a big modern building with clean facilities and great views of the city from the terrace. The staff were friendly and helpful.
However, compared to other hostels it was quite pricey and we only stayed there because we didn't have much of a choice...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    137
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
138
51
87
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newhey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed at Conwy YHA whilst rallying around LLandudno, Its a great base for the North Welsh Forests and easy to get too.

Rooms were very clean and the staff were VERY helpful. Menu looked good and at a good price, Sadly I was not able to eat there due to the nature of my stay but wished i had as i only ended up with aa KFC.

Would recommend staying there and will again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had stayed at a YHA hostel in Edinburgh, Scotland back in 2011, so while planning my visit to Wales in Oct 2013, it was my first choice. I was travelling from London late in the evening. When I informed the hostel that I would be checking in late, they made sure someone stayed back beyond the regular reception time to make sure I wasn't stranded in a strange town. The facilities were excellent. The rooms were comfortable and staff friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhartibedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location-near enough to town to walk with fantastic views. Took 70year old grandma who was impressed with facilities, as we all were. Staff friendly and very helpful. First time here but will definitely be back. Recommend race it's really exciting to watch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwymanager, General Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Anni98
Thank you for your kind words. We are very fortunate that we have such a great dinning room overlooking the Conwy estuary on one side and the Snowdonia National park on the other. No one get tire of the scenery.
Regards
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokenchurch, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Conwy is a comfortable, well-equipped and welcoming youth hostel with a perfect situation in Conwy for walking & outdoor pursuits.
We had a great stay and were impressed with how well kitted out the place was.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwymanager, General Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Many thanks! Hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here for several days and really liked the hostel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hostel has a good kitchen for self catering, it also has nice outdoor spaces and is a short walk from town, about 20 minutes. My only complaint is the ridiculously priced internet, £5 for 24 hours, in this day and age it really should free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lega88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

if you arrive by train, you will have to go uphill, so make sure you got a strong arm with you, who can pull the heavy baggage for you. ;)

the hostel itself sits on top of the small but beautiful conwy, a 5 minutes walk outside the city walls.

it is very clean, it is modern and well equipped, a shower per room (at least in rooms 9 and 10, where we stayed) and the nice staff is very friendly and prices are fair. bad thing, the breakfast comes extra (i.e. 5 euro for an english breakfast). i never tried it myself but i've been told it's worth it.

if i'd come to north wales again, i'd surely book this great hostel again. it really feels more like a hotel than a hostel.

Room Tip: room 9 was a female dorm & 10 was a male dorm room. each had four beds, a window with mountain v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwymanager, General Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Bastian D
Hop you had a safe journey back home? Just to confirm to you all our bed room, whatever if they are the 2 bedded room or the 4 bedded room this being all our room, are fully ensuite. Again thanks you!
Regards
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,138 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
#2 of 21 in Caernarfon
200 reviews
3.6 mi away
YHA Rowen
YHA Rowen
#2 of 2 in Rowen
20 reviews
13.2 mi away
YHA Idwal Cottage
YHA Idwal Cottage
#2 of 4 in Bethesda
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Conwy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Conwy

Property: YHA Conwy
Address: Larkhill Pass Rd, Conwy LL32 8AJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Conwy 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious modern hostel with views of Conwy's Castle, medieval walls and harbour. Conwy Youth Hostel is an ideal base for exploring North Wales. A great location for backpackers, families, youth organization and anyone wanting easy access to the coastal resorts of Llandudno and the Snowdonia National park. The hostel is situated on hill just outside the town walls of Conwy in large grounds with a summer house, barbecue and picnic area. There are spectacular views from the roof terrace of the ancient medieval town of Conwy and the North Wales coastline. The town centre with its pubs, tea shops and local attractions is just a 10 minute walk away. The Conwy Castle is well worth a visit and the quayside is great for sitting back and watching the yachts and fishing boats go by. Guest Rooms – Spacious, light, clean with security lockers and all room fully en-suite. Bar – Relax tasting the Local beer lounging in our new Bar or admire the view from the patio/terrace overlooking the Snowdonia National Park. Outside – Plenty of room for a game of football in our large garden, enjoy the peace and quiet of the summerhouse or eat al fresco in our picnic and BBQ areas. Common areas – Relax and enjoy the views from our observation lounge and roof terrace, chill out in front of the TV with the kids in our family area, challenge someone to a game of pool or table football in the games room or if you just want peace and quiet sit and read your favourite book in our quiet lounge. Meals – All our meals are delicious and great value for money. If after a hard days sightseeing you don’t feel like cooking enjoy one of our evening meal specialties such as Welsh lamb casserole or Lemon and Herb salmon. We even have a special children’s menu with old favourites like Fish Fingers and Chips and Bangers and Mash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Conwy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Conwy Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing