We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD BASIC ACCOMMODATION”
Review of YHA Conwy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This did exactly what it said on the tin type accommodation. No problems with the room and the breakfast was good and plentiful. This is a very basic accommodation where you have to make and strip your own bed, clear your breakfast table etc, but for the price, you can't complain and it was clean.

Room Tip: Go for the private en suite, which though small (usually bunk beds) cuts down on noise in a large do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahNorthwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 444 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Location great. Steep climb by car so beware. Hostel nice, with lift. Layout great, views excellent. Breakfast great. Had no dinners so cannot comment. Self catering kitchen big and roomy enough to cook in. Rooms fine and clean except shower tray area ( between tray and outer tray wall - think of it as a moat) was pretty grimy and could have done with a blooming good clean. Damp may have been an issue as we had some friendly wood lice in the shower room. Showers looked overdue for upgrade and a bit odd and temperamental
but I don't want to put you off. It's the only constructive criticism I would make and why the cleanliness score suffers. For the price it's just fine. Small games room for kids. Overall it's recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redplanet2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our group of 5 ( 3 adults, 2 11 year olds) had a great 2 day break here. Beautiful location with lovely views across to the castle and bay in one direction and the mountains in the other. Easy walking distance to the town and a wealth of activties for the whole family within easy striking distance. The hostel has a large and well equipped self catering area and a variety of places to relax - making it easy to accomodate children as well as people wanting a quieter evening! The staff were supportive in adding a spare bed to our family room so that the whole group could be accomodated. The only downside was that it was a broken bed and the solution was to put the materess on the floor! But the room was large enough to accomodate all 5 of us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the 5th year that we had taken a large group - 30+ to Conway, staying at the youth hostel. We have come back all these times because it has been excellent in the past. This year, however we were disappointed especially around the food and the service in the dining room. On the first night we were served undercooked chicken, and when we complained were told by the 'catering manager' that it was cooked despite it leaking blood! I spoke to the deputy manager of the hostel who did check up on the food the night after. The breakfasts were not great either, serving veggie sausage and constantly running out of things. Again the 'catering manager' did not take any responsibility and her attitude was a disgrace. To be fair to the deputy manager, she did listen to my feedback, and stated that as it was a new catering and management team this year, they were suffering some teething problems. We are left with considering looking elsewhere for next year which is a real shame.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwymanager, General Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

It is unfortunate that we couldn't, in this case measure to your expectation. We had a number of new members of staffs in key position, which may have contribute to the problem. New Member of staff are continually trained and progress monitor. This will be discussed and be assured look into it seriously. We hope you will still come back in the future.
PS I am afraid, we do not serve vegetarian sausages for our breakfast, unless the customer requested to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I booked this venue for our annual cadet summer camp 5th - 9th August. It was recommended to me by another group and I am thankful they did.
I wanted to try North Wales as a venue to go somewhere different. I had a group of 30 cadets ranging from 13 - 18yrs and 7 staff. The management at the YHA were very helpful during the booking process. Our numbers changed a few times due to cadets changing their mind about coming or not but they managed to keep us together and accomodate us.
I was pleasently surprised by the actual venue. The facilities were superb. There is a small games room with a pool table etc in. A drying room with a washing machine and tumble dryer available for use at small cost.
A small but comfortable lounge area with a TV and bar available until 10.30pm as well as a conference room which you can book out should you need to. We did to host our talent competition and it was perfect.
The 4 bed rooms felt more spacious than the two bed rooms. All were bunk beds and all had en-suite shower rooms. The showers were fabulous. No shortage of power or hot water which I have experienced in other venues.
The YHA booked our activities for us through Proactive Adventure who were also brilliant. they came to meet us in the mornings at the YHA and we followed them to the booked outdoor activities. It was nice to deal with one company instead of separate invoices and hastle by doing it all independantly.
We had full board durring our 4 night stay. The food was very good. There is a buffet style breakfast which is better than some hotels. Croissants, toast, fruit, yoghurt, cereal and the full English available. The packed lunch included fruit, sandwiches, cake, tracker bar and water and the evening meal began with soup followed by a choice of 3 main dishes followed by desert.
They even did a BBQ for us which was so nice we had seconds. We had one person who had lots of allergies to food products. The chef was brilliant at making sure she had a suitable meal every day.
The staff live in and all multitask. They are all very friendly and helpful I certainly couldn't say a bad word about any of them. They are a credit to company.
The hostel itself is a short walk from Conwy town and has amazing views across the river and castle. There is a lovely walk from the hostel up the nearby fell which is also where we did rock climbing.
There was a self catering kitchen which provided access to snacks and drinks all day and night. The venue was kept clean and tidy. It has alot to offer and a good base for outdoor activities.

If i had to pick a negative it would be the doors can be quite noisy if left to close on their own. It did cause a few complaints.

If all the YHA hostels are like this one we will certainly be going again.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same. Noise does travel so if you are not a large group yourself you will pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwymanager, General Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is not the perfect hostel for us, but it gets close. Location is superb. My wife and I took with us 2 grandchildren aged 7 and 5. We had a private en-suite room with 2 pairs of modern indestructable bunk beds which seemed surprisingly quiet when climbing onto the top bunk. The room was large for hostel standards.
The YHA location is superb, on a ridge so there are views over the Snowdonia and across the Conwy estuary towards Llandudno. Ample safe play areas for the children, a large kitchen, huge dining room and several different sitting areas. The hostel is within walking distance of the walled town and castle. With a car one has a great variety of beach and mountain choices. Llandudno is only about 6 miles away and gives many opportunities to spend your money on holiday pleasures. The staff are very helpful and sociable.
No place is perfect and this hostel is no exception. We had to ring the office to get confirmation our Tesco Vouchers had arrived. In hot weather the rooms feel like a greenhouse. The power shower hot settings would have scalded the children. That is serious! We found the non stick frying pans needed replacing. Peeling potatoes was a challenge with the tools provided. The bedroom doors slammed. Lets be fair on the hostel ... 2 of these faults could have been prevented by greater care from the other occupants. The experience in the hostel is greatly influenced by the behaviour of the other guests. I am always pleasantly pleased by the courtesy of hostel guests but perfection is difficult to find. This hostel seems to bring out the best in people and .... please can we come back?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noddy2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

B & B were either full or very overpriced as this was peak season, so decided to give the youth hostel a try - I haven't been hosteling since my youth. Things have certainly changed. This place was excellent - rooftop viewing room to see the surrounds, great kitchen and dining area, huge flat screen TV and exceptionally friendly and helpful service. Only thing negative was the room size - pretty small, but slept well there as it was silent. All round, very very impressed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Happy-Traveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Conwy hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glan Heulog Guest House
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bridge Inn Conwy
Bridge Inn Conwy
#6 of 22 in Conwy
91 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sychnant Pass Country House
0.4 mi away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#9 of 22 in Conwy
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Conwy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Conwy

Address: Larkhill Pass Rd, Conwy LL32 8AJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Conwy
Price Range: $35 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Conwy 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious modern hostel with views of Conwy's Castle, medieval walls and harbour. Conwy Youth Hostel is an ideal base for exploring North Wales. A great location for backpackers, families, youth organization and anyone wanting easy access to the coastal resorts of Llandudno and the Snowdonia National park. The hostel is situated on hill just outside the town walls of Conwy in large grounds with a summer house, barbecue and picnic area. There are spectacular views from the roof terrace of the ancient medieval town of Conwy and the North Wales coastline. The town centre with its pubs, tea shops and local attractions is just a 10 minute walk away. The Conwy Castle is well worth a visit and the quayside is great for sitting back and watching the yachts and fishing boats go by. Guest Rooms – Spacious, light, clean with security lockers and all room fully en-suite. Bar – Relax tasting the Local beer lounging in our new Bar or admire the view from the patio/terrace overlooking the Snowdonia National Park. Outside – Plenty of room for a game of football in our large garden, enjoy the peace and quiet of the summerhouse or eat al fresco in our picnic and BBQ areas. Common areas – Relax and enjoy the views from our observation lounge and roof terrace, chill out in front of the TV with the kids in our family area, challenge someone to a game of pool or table football in the games room or if you just want peace and quiet sit and read your favourite book in our quiet lounge. Meals – All our meals are delicious and great value for money. If after a hard days sightseeing you don’t feel like cooking enjoy one of our evening meal specialties such as Welsh lamb casserole or Lemon and Herb salmon. We even have a special children’s menu with old favourites like Fish Fingers and Chips and Bangers and Mash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Conwy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Conwy Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing