We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room, good kitchen, brilliant view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Conwy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small room, good kitchen, brilliant view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

A clean and friendly hostel with a big, well equipped kitchen. Stayed in an twin room (bunk beds), which was very small but thoughtful with little bunk lights and shelves. Great value for money and the fantastic views can be enjoyed from an outdoor terrace. Note - if you're traveling by train choose your luggage carefully - it is a very steep hill up from the station!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    132
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
136
49
86
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A clean and practical hostel with great views and friendly helpful staff in a spectacular location, close enough to walk easily into town. Large smart self-catering kitchen, in need maybe of a few more utensils, but otherwise well equipped with water boiler and plenty of cookers and toasters. Lovely ensuite bedrooms with super powerful easy-to-operate showers. Impossible to keep the bedroom cool in hot weather though, even with the window open and curtains closed. Big garden with ample picnic tables and parasols leading from self-catering kitchen and also a shed of outdoor toys.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Definitely the best youth hostel I've been to due to location and great facilities. Views are amazing, especially from the roof terrace! Staff were very friendly and helped us with getting to know the area and suggesting places to go. The room was spacious enough for the four of us and the bathroom was great considering what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We needed somewhere cheap, clean and in a good location to stay before we climbed Snowdon on Saturday and YHA Conwy provided just that. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was very hot but we were just lucky that we happened to be there on the hottest day of the year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

A group of eight of us stopped here for one night following our Three Peaks Challenge. It was about a 40-minute drive from Snowdon but we chose the accommodation based on price and reviews. We were not disappointed. Our two four-bed rooms were tidy and comfortable, breakfast was a good price and staff were impressively helpful. The setting just completed the experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davegoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our first YHA stay. It was a family trip 2 adults 2 kids 12 & 10. We had adventures planned. Complete the 1 mile long zip wire and climb Snowden. We had a loverly welcome very friendly and helpful. We had walk into Conwy to get some food. It was the hottest weekend of the year so far so lots of people were out and about adding to the atmosphere of the area. Conwy is beautiful and only a 10min walk from the YHA.
The hostel was full but didn't feel like it. We had breakfast there and that was a good freshly cooked meal to set us up for our Snowden trip. It was about a 30mile trip but all the other YHAs were fully booked. But as Conwy was so beautiful it turned out to be a good choice

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sklouby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Many thanks to all the staff, really friendly cheers. what a great surprise the town and surrounding area is! breakfast was nice, would have been nice not to be in a bunk bed but then again I had just completed the Welsh 3000 so was only going to fall straight to sleep and snore!

many thanks, the female staff member who was serving breakfast has a lovely smile and fantastic teeth :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwymanager, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. It's always nice to hear that people are happy with our staffs services.

The team at Conwy Youth Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Glan Heulog Guest House
3.6 mi away
YHA Rowen
YHA Rowen
#2 of 2 in Rowen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
15.7 mi away
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
#2 of 21 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Conwy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Conwy

Property: YHA Conwy
Address: Larkhill Pass Rd, Conwy LL32 8AJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Conwy 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious modern hostel with views of Conwy's Castle, medieval walls and harbour. Conwy Youth Hostel is an ideal base for exploring North Wales. A great location for backpackers, families, youth organization and anyone wanting easy access to the coastal resorts of Llandudno and the Snowdonia National park. The hostel is situated on hill just outside the town walls of Conwy in large grounds with a summer house, barbecue and picnic area. There are spectacular views from the roof terrace of the ancient medieval town of Conwy and the North Wales coastline. The town centre with its pubs, tea shops and local attractions is just a 10 minute walk away. The Conwy Castle is well worth a visit and the quayside is great for sitting back and watching the yachts and fishing boats go by. Guest Rooms – Spacious, light, clean with security lockers and all room fully en-suite. Bar – Relax tasting the Local beer lounging in our new Bar or admire the view from the patio/terrace overlooking the Snowdonia National Park. Outside – Plenty of room for a game of football in our large garden, enjoy the peace and quiet of the summerhouse or eat al fresco in our picnic and BBQ areas. Common areas – Relax and enjoy the views from our observation lounge and roof terrace, chill out in front of the TV with the kids in our family area, challenge someone to a game of pool or table football in the games room or if you just want peace and quiet sit and read your favourite book in our quiet lounge. Meals – All our meals are delicious and great value for money. If after a hard days sightseeing you don’t feel like cooking enjoy one of our evening meal specialties such as Welsh lamb casserole or Lemon and Herb salmon. We even have a special children’s menu with old favourites like Fish Fingers and Chips and Bangers and Mash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your YHA Conwy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Conwy Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing