We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Training Venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Conwy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
YHA Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Llangefni
1 review
“Fantastic Training Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Used Conwy YHA as a base for a navigation training course last week. What a great venue! Efficient, helpful and flexible booking service, great staff, nice atmosphere, well equipped lecture room opening onto lovely gardens, great food, immaculately clean and all in a convenient but spectacular location. What more could you ask for? I could not fault it and hope to be using it again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rog p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwymanager, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for all your positive words, and we will hopefully see you again soon.

YHA Conwy Youth Hostel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    132
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
136
48
86
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

conwy is fantastic north wales is by far better than south wales u have space and the mountains are the greatest i live in south wales and we have nothing on you up there u are the greatest i live near caerphilly castle visit our castle as well as caerphilly infact all our castles are great wales is a super country and its people conwy hostel is fantastic its one of the best ands ive been to hundreds of them all over the world get to conwy as soons as u can incase the world ends then u will miss out big time lots of love steve ( south wales)

Room Tip: any room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very, very good quality hostel, topped off by fantastic views.
My only gripe is the lights/fan in the bathroom: it's automatic. What a brilliant idea: an automatic light switch, saves you all that effort of lifting your hand up and switching it on and off. The only problem is, when you go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, you're unable to switch it off again. Instead you have to wait 10 minutes for it to switch off automatically. If you're sharing a room with a few others you're then going to be worried that all others think you've forgotten to switch it off.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank namremmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our weekend here. The location is fantastic for Snowdonia National Park, NCN5 and is, itself a very beautiful place.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, the place was clean and practical, although quite limited fridge space (you might want to think about that when buying in food).
We are certainly going to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Another great YHA hostel :-) Booked as weather was rubbish, but room was great with good views of the sea and Snowdonia. Staff friendly and accommodating. Room was spacious for the family. The self catering kitchen was clean and well equipped.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just come back from taking a group of school children to Conwy for a residential and needed to write a review. The place is top class, complete with breathtaking views of the harbour and mountains. The service was impeccable and the events organiser, Ben, was just fantastic!
The place seems very popular with walkers and groups and is spotlessly clean. The food is really good and plentiful and really good value. Conwy itself is a very quaint little town, with the fantastic castle and town walls - both a must visit.

Thanks again Ben and the team for a great stay and will see you all soon

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ross186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwymanager, Manager at YHA Conwy, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear "ross186356"
Many thanks for taking the time to review Conwy Youth Hostel. I will make sure that all team members involve are informed of your kind words. Hope to see you soon again! From all the team of YHA Conwy Youth Hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Jewel in Conwy! Wonderful hostel surrounded by awesome views. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Room a little bit small, but modern and comfortable. Nice place to be your homebase in North Wales. Needs to post a more specific direction on how to get out of the hostel during off hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Glan Heulog Guest House
3.6 mi away
YHA Rowen
YHA Rowen
#2 of 2 in Rowen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bridge Inn Conwy
Bridge Inn Conwy
#6 of 21 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Conwy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Conwy

Property: YHA Conwy
Address: Larkhill Pass Rd, Conwy LL32 8AJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Conwy 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious modern hostel with views of Conwy's Castle, medieval walls and harbour. Conwy Youth Hostel is an ideal base for exploring North Wales. A great location for backpackers, families, youth organization and anyone wanting easy access to the coastal resorts of Llandudno and the Snowdonia National park. The hostel is situated on hill just outside the town walls of Conwy in large grounds with a summer house, barbecue and picnic area. There are spectacular views from the roof terrace of the ancient medieval town of Conwy and the North Wales coastline. The town centre with its pubs, tea shops and local attractions is just a 10 minute walk away. The Conwy Castle is well worth a visit and the quayside is great for sitting back and watching the yachts and fishing boats go by. Guest Rooms – Spacious, light, clean with security lockers and all room fully en-suite. Bar – Relax tasting the Local beer lounging in our new Bar or admire the view from the patio/terrace overlooking the Snowdonia National Park. Outside – Plenty of room for a game of football in our large garden, enjoy the peace and quiet of the summerhouse or eat al fresco in our picnic and BBQ areas. Common areas – Relax and enjoy the views from our observation lounge and roof terrace, chill out in front of the TV with the kids in our family area, challenge someone to a game of pool or table football in the games room or if you just want peace and quiet sit and read your favourite book in our quiet lounge. Meals – All our meals are delicious and great value for money. If after a hard days sightseeing you don’t feel like cooking enjoy one of our evening meal specialties such as Welsh lamb casserole or Lemon and Herb salmon. We even have a special children’s menu with old favourites like Fish Fingers and Chips and Bangers and Mash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your YHA Conwy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Conwy Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing