We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accomodation with fabulous views”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Maes Masarn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Conwy, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
juliaclar...
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent accomodation with fabulous views”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We received a very warm welcome with tea and coffee already in the cottage and milk in the fridge. Kitchen/diner facilities were great as we were doing our own cooking. Bedrooms were a good size with comfortable beds.
Lovely large lounge/diner with a real open fire and as many logs as you need.
Location is great with so much to see in the immediate area or you can go further. All in all, we had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another year”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This cottage has been our holiday destination for many years and is still the best we ever visit. All is found and always clean. The area has so much to offer for visitors and the hard work put into the cottages by Catrin and Neil is reflected in the high standard. Roll on next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. It is great to see you every year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan_Ath...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Lovely. But there's a 'but'.”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First impressions of this cottage are excellent. It's set back from the road about 2 miles south of Conwy and is one of 6 cottages surrounding a central cobbled courtyard. It's lovely and tranquil and surrounded by fields and trees. Parking is separate from the cottages making it a safe haven for little ones to play.

You could be in the middle of nowhere which is just what we wanted!

On the inside, it's generally positive. A large and modern well-equipped kitchen diner with a separate utility room containing another sink and washer. There’s also a large lounge with another dining table and comfy seating for 9 as well as the all-important log fire (logs for which are provided free).

Upstairs there are 3 good sized bedrooms with sleeping for 7, one family bathroom and one en-suite.

Perfect then? Well, not quite.

The double bed is very uncomfortable. You could almost feel each spring digging into you as you tried to get comfy. We still slept though so not a huge problem.

The real bind though is that the only shower is in the en-suite meaning that getting ready in the morning was a bit of a chore. We had to wait for the residents of that room to rise and then take it in turns to enter.

The shower room itself is awful. A tiny trickle of water coming from a head that wouldn't stay up and in a cubicle that needed condemning. Badly applied sealant has been used to fill holes in the base and this was rising up making the whole thing look appalling. The shower appeared to be electric at first but it was actually just a mixer fed from the immersion heater meaning that there was never enough water for everyone to take a shower in the morning.

Once we got used to the immersion heater we managed to have hot water when we needed it (adults shower in the morning, kids at night) but it was all a bit of a faff.

The main bathroom was pleasant enough (aside from having no shower and the hot water tap wouldn’t turn off but that’s easily fixed.)

If they put a shower in the main bathroom and update the one in the en-suite then I would happily give this place 4 stars. If they did this and also replaced the mattresses with something a bit less lumpy (and perhaps fit a combi boiler instead of the immersion heater) then it would easily be a 5.

At the moment it’s just not quite there…..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, log fire
Liked least: The bathroom/shower
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2015
Thank you for your positive comments about the cottage. We are sorry you were not happy with everything at the cottage. The en suite shower room has now been fully refurbished (see photos). With regard to the hot water as you say there is as much as you need and we have checked with people who have stayed since who have confirmed it was fine. We have also asked about the mattress but to date everyone has been OK but we will monitor it. Thank you again for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretJ...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We have visited Maes Masarn for 4 consecutive years as we love both the property and the area.”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have visited several times, first with toddler grandchildren and, latterly, with elderly parents in their 90's. Good location for visiting the Conway Valley as well as coastal towns such as Llandudno, Rhos and Conway itself. We like the privacy of the garden and views over to the Great Orme. Well away from road and set in pretty cobbled courtyard. No noise. Facilities of good standard. If you need it, log fire very cosy. Owner, Neil, friendly and accommodating. Would highly recommend this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attractive property in pretty location
Liked least: Stairs a bit steep for infirm
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this cottage many times and find everything about it first class. The cottage is always very clean and comfortable with everything you need provided. The owners Neil and Catrin make you welcome at all times. We highly recommend this to anyone who wishes to spend time in this lovely area of North Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall expierence of the cottage and its location
Liked least: Nothing can be said
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy beds
Liked least: The only quibble is that we couldn't unload our cars closer to the building
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 8, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and garden with bbq.
Liked least: It was cold when we first arrived.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing