We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlebank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Conwy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2006

What a Gem of a find!

We’ve just returned from a 3 night stay at the Castlebank Hotel, Conwy, after finding their website whilst browsing the Internet for a quick breakaway.

The hotel is about a 3 to 4 minute walk away from the centre of Conwy’s shops but its location is very peaceful and quiet, being just outside the perimeter of the castle walls. It’s an ideal base for anyone wanting to explore the North Wales coast or to just chill out, as the hotel’s ‘ambience’ is really relaxing.

Hosts for our stay were Jo and Henrique, one of 2 couples who own and personally run the hotel. They were genuinely nice, friendly people, very attentive (without being intrusive) and nothing was too much trouble.

The breakfast at the hotel was really nice and set you up for the rest of the day! The restaurant is well worth a visit, we booked in for a meal on our last night and now wish we’d gone in every night as the quality and choice of the food served was gorgeous.

We’ve already recommended this hotel to family and friends and we will most definitely be going back.

Helpful?
10 Thank Warrington_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    55
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
248
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2006

We began our trip through Northern Wales, England and Scotland with three days at the Castlebank Hotel in Conway. We were rewarded with a perfect stay in a beautiful location.
Clean, comfortable rooms (ours had a view of the castle and the town wall, and the town square is just a few minutes away on foot), a cozy little bar, great breakfasts and an incredibly delicious dinner, coupled with the friendliness and courtesy of Henrique and his wife, Jo, made our stay at in Conwy thoroughly happy and memorable. From the Castlebank we drove to Carnarvon, Port Madoc, Portmerion, Llundudno, Bodnant Gardens and stops in between. The hotel's location is just right for a wonderful stay in Northern Wales. You'll love the Castlebank.

Helpful?
5 Thank DrBoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2006

Castlebank Hotel was in a great location next to castle walls which we walked around following morning, parking, good room and nice breakfast. Really felt that this place was atmospheric and well located - 2 minutes walk and we were on the castle walls!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2006

Just returned from a weekend at the Castlebank Hotel, what a good weekend it turned out to be. Conwy is a perfect base for touring the north Wales coast and visiting Snowdonia. The hotel was a real find, the welcome was warm and friendly and throughout our stay we found the owners fantastic. The hotel is very comfortable, spotlessly clean and has a relaxing atmosphere. The cooked breakfast was second to none, dinner was resonably priced, well cooked and beautifully served.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
121 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2006

Stayed here for one night in January - got a top floor room at the back - fairly small in size but clean and comfortable, especially the bed. The hotel is in a good location, a short walk to the town and estuary. Worth a stay.

Stayed January 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank iamallovertheplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2005

The New Owners of the Castlebank Hotel have made this 9 Bedroom Hotel quite unique with superb individuality to all the rooms, including restaurant, bar and lounge.

Food is of a very high standard and the hospitality is both genuine and warm.

The Castlebank has an ideal position in Conwy with it's own private car park, but is also ideal for using as a base for all of the North Wales coast, Anglesey and Snowdonia - don't forget Llandudno which is just minutes away and one of the famous travel writer Bill Bryson's favourite resorts.

Don't discount going out of season, as you will be well looked after at the Castlebank and you see some tremendous different colours in the scenery in the others seasons outside of summer.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JohnBSheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2005

Stayed at the Castle Bank for my birthday, We had a top floor room, very clean, helpful staff and good breakfast. Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nwp1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conwy) Hotel
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conw...
#1 of 1 in Llandudno Junction
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
3.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Property: Castlebank Hotel
Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing