We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine stay at Castlebank”
Review of Castlebank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castlebank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2012

A standard British guest house, 19th century building; friendly host and hostess.
The neighborhood is quiet. Spacious carpark with plenty of spaces, lots of room to maneuver.

Standard English cooked breakfast, with good selection of cold cereals, fruit, yogurt.
Porridge was not offered. They gladly accomodated our 8am brekky request.

Ordinary size bedroom, with bed 72" wide.
Bathroom layout a bit idiosyncratic, but plumbing ok, no drips, always hot water when needed.
Huge bathtowels.

Wi-fi worked fine.

We had dinner there on Friday, and food was fine.

Everything as advertised on website.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calothamnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 468 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Castlebank on Sunday 17th and Monday 18th June 2012 and allthough the glorious weather played its part it could not detract from how welcoming Jo and Henrique were towards us and made us instantly welcome. There attension to detail and a uncanny knack of being on hand when required was most welcome. Our room (7) was clean and bright and covered all our needs. Breakfast was first class and all you could wish for. Free parking was just outside the main entrance which is also a bonus in such a tight little village. We visited both the Marina and the Castle and enjoyed both imensly as was our peaceful strolls along the beach. We saw plenty of evidence of the mountain walks being taken advantage of although we did not partake. The town is not very large but we found everyone was most welcoming and helpful wherever we went, We were most impressed by what Conwy had to offer and will most certaintly visit the Castlebank again, thanks for a great 2 days, Paul and Denise Pawson from Sheffield.

Room Tip: We only saw the one bedroom but all the downstairs rooms were quaint and in keeping with the hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Jo & Henrique have made this 1850ish home into a marvelous B&B. As other reviewers have said, the views & location are terrific. Short walk through the town wall into the charming old town, restaurants & the castle.

We spent two nights here & would have liked to have spent a week. Very well-equipped & lighted lounge/study, cozy bar & lovely, classy breakfast area. Breakfast were terrific & the duties were shared by Henrique & an employee. Although the hotel was filled (9 rooms), it was very quiet & we felt like we were by ourselves.

Jo recommended the Castle Hotel's restaurant, which is terrific (see seperate review).

Terrific location for anything you wish to do in North Wales.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pfcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast and warm welcome. Pity the weather wasn't up to much. Would definitely recommend this Hotel .

Room Tip: Green room was perfect for couple although overlooked the back of Hotel, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul1963_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed here over Valentine's weekend '12.

Set right alongside the castle this bed and breakfast is in an ideal location for exploring the town of Conwy.

Very warm welcome, private car park and a truely beautiful and very clean hotel. We had the Venetian room on the first floor, very spacious, yet cosy, with tea/coffee making facilities, freeview TV and plenty of wardrobe space. Cleaned each morning to a good standard.

Breakfast was gorgeous and the dining area was very atmospheric, quick service and well cooked, it set us up for our day ahead.

The host was very knowledgeable about the local area, and even recommended a place to eat out one night, which turned out to be amazing!

Conwy itself was a bit of a let down, the castle is very imposing but really is the only thing there. A few shops to look around but mostly geared towards walkers/hiking. Wouldn't recommend the town for people with walking difficulties, as lots of hills and steps!

Overall, we would return to this lovely hotel and would happily advise all to visit!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katylovesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I are 70 and come from Los Angeles. What a great place. It is a 1 minute walk through a hole in the wall to enter Conwy. no car worries, they have a private lot.
Jo cooks a great hot breakfast, but the magic man is Henrique who does everything from serve, advise and entertain in the evening with great stories.
If you are going to Conwy-this is the place.
Make sure Henrique pours you a glass of port at the bar in the evening and have fun.

Room Tip: stay two nights and get a room on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in room 8, at the top of the hotel, in a lovely family room. Had a lovely nights sleep and a great breakfast. Friendly owner, lovely bar and a relaxing lounge with board games. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2680joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,308 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,691 reviews
20.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
0.1 mi away
Gwynfryn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlebank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlebank Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant, Conwy LL32 8NY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Price Range: $98 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castlebank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlebank Hotel Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing