We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“80 minute wait for meal at our pre booked table”

Dawson's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 55 Restaurants in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $54
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: High Street
Transit: Trains: There is a main rail stop in the town of Llandudno Junction (a 5 minute taxi ride away), also Conwy has its own station accessed by a fantastic Telford bridge across the Conwy estuary but this is a requested stop, and only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Buses: Being a world heritage site Conwy is accessed regularly by all bus routes.
Description: Dawson"s at the Castle Hotel Conwy offers inspired use of fantastic local produce to create our Michelin guide recommended, AA 2 rosette awarded dishes that suit all occasions, from a quick bite to eat to that special occasion dinner. With a choice of different areas, bar/lounge and dining room, the ambience and "buzz" of satisfied diners adds to the overall experience and our friendly, un-stuffy service will hope to satisfy your every need. The building dates back to the 16thC but has been transformed with the tasteful marriage of modern, sophisticated style and sympathetic renovation of period features, meaning whichever area you choose to dine in you are sure of being enveloped in over a hundred years of celebrations and good times, the intangible made real. The wine list is also worth note, with no fewer than 19 wines by the glass, from white, to red to rose and then sparkling, you are sure to find a favorite being offered! PLEASE STATE YOUR ROOM PREFERENCE WHEN BOOKING.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We endured an 80 minute wait for our meal , having booked well in advance for a 7.30 pm sitting. Very clear on this occasion the restaurant staff were incapable of providing coherent and effective service. If you have tables to offer and take the bookings , why don't you staff with a competent team to run the restaurant? There was one large party that had prebooked. . Our group of 8 had pre booked at the time agreed by the restaurant. Unfortunately there was at least one group of 12 who turned up on spec without booking. This created part of the shambles on the night we were there. For more than 10 years we have been regulars as couples or family groups at Dawsons and meals at the Castle Bar. The time before we had one good meal , one poor, with some England football qualifying match coming loud and clear from probably a distracted kitchen. There are SOME excellent chefs within the whole team. However in view of our last two visits we are unlikely to be tempted back any time soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Dawson's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

As always - very difficult to to respond 'remotely' to an anonymous complainer. Reading through some of Charles C's other 480+ reviews, clearly we are in quite good company to get a TZ lashing!
I would just say that I would ask the more fair minded amongst you to read what other reviewers say about our excellent team.
Presumably this person visited during the 'holiday' season which can get a little 'hairy' when it comes to predicting numbers of diners expected - which can extend waiting times for food - especially as all our food is cooked from fresh, but me thinks 80 minutes is a tad exaggerated!
Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Dawson's Bar & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 151 of 314 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at about 14.15 and asked for sandwiches for our family. Abruptly told "No, and anyway we close in fifteen minutes". No hint of welcome or any attempt to provide hospitality to our hungry family. Does it really take so long to make some sandwiches and create goodwill?
No welcome at this inn!

1  Thank Baker663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Dawson's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Oh Dear - I'm not sure how accurate this is? It was New Year's Eve and we did close early to get ready for that evening's gala dinner and dance.
Our front doors were partly closed and two signs were on display stating food finished at 2.00pm - and at 2.15 all our tables were full with diners finishing their lunches, so with the best will in the world, we couldn't have served this person.
New Year's Eve is one of just two days in the year when we close early - and I'm afraid most of our guests understand the need to book a table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I visited the Castle Hotel on 28/12/13 with a group of girlfriends to sample the much talked about cuisine. I am very critical when I dine out and expect a high standard and quality of food if pricey. Most of the party decided to opt for 2 starters rather than a main as we find the portions too much. We definitely made the right decision. I had the smoked chicken to start and then the pan fried liver as my main....we ordered sides of carrots; cauliflower cheese; red cabbage and hand cut chips. WOW!! not only was the food well presented..it was served HOT. The food was exceptionally tasty and we still left quite a bit as the portions were very generous. We were quite full so we didn't sample any deserts. The service we received was excellent and the staff were very attentive...we left our waiter a very generous tip for a fab service..well deserved. I agree the menu is pricey...however....this is an Hotel so prices I feel are quite competitive compares with other Hotel restaurants. I would highly recommend Dawson's to anyone who appreciates locally produced and quality food. We will definitely be returning to Dawson's in the future and give the chef's top credit for presenting such wonderful food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thor1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Dawson's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you very much for your very positive review. It's nice to hear when guests appreciate that quality food and good service isn't cheap, but can still be good value for money!
Hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

For a 3 course meal costing £30, the turkey is, a turkey. 3 pieces of 3mm thick and square boil in the bag and translucent 'gravy' served by well dressed but stressed school children makes the dining experience at the very least somewhat disappointing. Didnt fancy the dessert but of course was charged for it. Felt obliged to tip the kids because I felt sure that the people making the money from the average fayre wasnt sharing it with them. Notwithstanding Christmas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank n p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavin1906, Owner at Dawson's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Do you know - some people just haven't got a clue!
We serve a 3 course multi choice fixed price menu at this time of year. Turkey isn't mandatory - but if you choose it - we give an 8oz serving of white and dark meat along with 2 types of stuffing. The 'gravy' is made traditionally, from the bones and vegetables.
All the people who work for us are local - we have a couple of 17 year olds, but most are in their 20's. All receive development and training recently recognised by our Investors in People Award. All are paid above minimum wage and ALL (front and back of house) receive a fair share of our 10% scheme.
You really need to get some facts before you make defamatory statements, within the safety of Trip Advisor anonymity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Was recommended as good food and truly lived up to it! excellent quality of food and really lovely surroundings, staff more than willing and nice feel to place. Need to book at busy times as we came in winter but stil busy and had to wait for table but not too long. Does not disappoint !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robnrainy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawson's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dawson's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing