We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD FOOD”
Review of Venue 59 - CLOSED

Venue 59
Price range: $13 - $25
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD FOOD”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We ate in the attached restaurant, Venue 59, and the food was very good and the service was also very attentive, however it wasn't busy at all. I had duck and was given two portions - maybe it was the end of the night, but I thought it very generous. It was succulent and very tender. The desserts were, if anything, a bit too big on top of all that food, but still quite tasty.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    17
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London & Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO !”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

A Rough pub with a large drop down tv screen playing non stop sport. Music is so load you cant speak, maybe it is only like that at 7.00pm on a Friday night when I stopped for a quick drink. Clientel is plain rough. Best avoided

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilidelphiaStory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good value,great service”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

on main rd, almost next to market, so easy to get to from car parks.large dinning area adjacent to lovely old pub, modern airy and roomy.Nice welcome, quick service although it was pretty quiet on a Wed afternoon.Food average price. Huge piece of fish with chips. Lovely side salad. Sandwiches and baked spuds looked good too.Traditional fare all reasonably priced in nice dinning area.Lovely glass of red wine.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jinnyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
185 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“God all-round experience”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

A late 16th Century coaching inn, centrally placed, with a good restaurant and a range of traditional real ales brewed in their own microbrewery (named after the three local mountains – Skirrid, Sugarloaf and Blorenge). Also has comfortably furnished rooms. There are paintings displayed in the dining room and bar areas, with others in the main restaurant and function room, all done by local artists. Staff are friendly and attentive.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't eat here!”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Awful experience - pork belly with cider and mustard sauce sounded lovely but when it appeared it had the texture of plastic and no sauce! White wine was served warm and when I had the audacity to ask for a wine cooler the staff looked at me as if I were mad. We politely complained about the dinner and our waiter literally just shrugged & looked embarassed - no apology of any sort was forthcoming. A really poor experience - there are many other places in the vicinity that offer 110% better than here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilJ7478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venue 59 also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing