We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great view and silence”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Swallow Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge Lounge with woodburning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
9 reviews
Lounge
Lounge with woodburning stove
kitchen
Family room
View of the Skirrid from our farm
View of Skirrid and Sugar Loaf
The Oak Tree
The Graig Hill from our farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Journey71...
2 reviews
“Great view and silence”
Reviewed August 3, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The Swallow is a lovely Cottage.
There are a lot of activities nearby Abergavenny, a week is to short!
The owners of de cottage are very kind.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2017
I wish you had said something to me while you were here as I do not understand what you mean about the hot water. There is an immersion heater for the general hot water plus the shower has its own electric heater and both are working. I found one light bulb not working after you left which I could have easily replaced if I had been informed at the time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Compass55...
1 review
“Perfect for walking hols”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Swallow Cottage was a great find, tucked away in a really peaceful location, a 10-15-min drive outside Abergavenny. It has three decent-sized bedrooms (the main one with a double bed, a single and a cot was very roomy), including one downstairs with its own shower room, so ideal if you have someone who can't manage the stairs. All very clean when we arrived. Well-equipped kitchen and a log-burning stove in sitting room (free logs) that was like a furnace and wonderful. The 18-mile Three Castles walk can be started from your doorstep (we only did a portion of it) and the Skirrid mountain is a mere 5-min drive away. Have Sunday lunch at the Red Castle tea rooms just down the road - really tasty, generous and very cheap, but make sure you book!

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Thank you for the review. I am pleased that you enjoyed staying in our cottage and found interesting places to see in the area. I hope that we will see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Potential to be great, some care and attention needed.”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great for travellers looking for a rural retreat.

The cottage is great, but wasn't cleaned well before our arrival. Bed linen was clean and fresh, but there were a lot of cobwebs and grime in the cottage.

With some more love and care this could be a great place to stay especially with children and extended family.

Be aware there is no local shops and no milk etc provided, so come prepared for the first evening and first breakfast.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great farm location
Liked least: Needs to be cleaned prior to rental
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
I am sorry if you did not find the cottage to your satisfaction, however I live just opposite and you did not tell me of any problems. We live in a rural area where there are no shops and we all have to go to town to buy our milk and groceries and most guests bring these with them. However there are fresh eggs for sale at the neighbouring farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie H
Ystradgynlais, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was a lovely cosy cottage in the best location available!!! We were in the area for the National Eisteddfod and it was an ideal place to retreat back to in the evenings!!!
The building was very pretty and it had a lovely little space to sit outdoors!!!

The beds were very comfy and it had a good atmosphere - an 'open' feel to it. There was plenty of undercover car parking. Things didn't tend to match but that added to the charm of the place!!! The kitchen facilities were more than adequate.

Lovely eggs from the farm next door and two fantastic restaurants/gastro pubs - the Walnut Tree and the Bell just a few miles in either direction!!!

Altogether it had a lovely relaxed feel to it and would happily stay there again!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here and would be pleased to welcome you again.
Sheila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy M
Gibraltar
1 review
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Wonderful peaceful place to stay in the countryside with beautiful surrounding countryside. It was ideal for our family as our children had plenty of space and were able to play in the fields. Also, it was a great base for walking and we walked part of the Three Castles Walk which goes through the farm. We hope to come again and walk another section. The owners were also very friendly and helpful with any questions we had about the local area.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space for children to play outdoors
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2015
I am glad you enjoyed your stay here. I will be pleased to welcome you back should you decide to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June B
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very disappointed with this cottage on entry it smelt very musty, oven was not clean and all electrical appliances inspection labels were out of date requiring checking in 2013. There was nothing matching neither cutlery, crockery or bedding.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing