We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper B&B”
Review of The Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Guest House
Ranked #4 of 31 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2007

My initial experience of the Guest House was in late 2003 during my walking group's first visit to the Brecon Beacons and we have returned umpteen times since then.

The rooms at the Guest House are bright, clean, functional and far from old fashioned and the hot showers are always a blessing after a long day in the hills.

The large Dining Room cum Reception Area is perfectly conducive to banter with other guests during meals, something that I have always found to be lacking in other establishments.

The choice of breakfasts is very impressive and the portions have always left us wishing we were going on another walk to burn them off.

If there is anything you want, don't be afraid to ask. This is possibly the only guest house I have stayed in where my request for the use of an iron wasn't greeted with a funny look. Also, if you have returned from a day's walking and your attire is soaking wet, you can ask to have it put in the drying room.

Facilities and service to one side however, this place would not be the same without the owner Jenny, whose attitude and outlook as to what constitutes an "enjoyable stay" at a B&B should be written in stone for all to see!

Viva la Guest House!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank UD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 463 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2007

Stayed for our sixth legendary stay (12 sad walkers) which was only slightly spoiled by the fact that the Landlady was on Her Honeymoon!
Rooms are great, breakfast is always top notch as well as the service which is always attentive.
To sum up, as the organiser of these weekends I am not allowed to stay anywhere else, the reasons are
1, The lads wont go anywhere else.
2, Idont want to stay anywhere else
3, The Land Lady might come after me!!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 12sadwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

An almost spiritual experience - homely, welcoming, comfortable and warm with a breakfast to die for.

The proprietor has to be seen to be believed, like a female Frankie Howerd with a big heart and a personality as charismatic as you could imagine.

It's a bit unconventional with a menagerie of animals (pets actually I think) whose behaviour and idiosyncracies defy all rational science: rabbits that climb trees, chickens that eat black pudding, guinea pigs that wander without fear amidst at least half a dozen cats and two wonderful dogs,etc.........the list is endless.

In short, a very, very different experience indeed, and one I would recommend anybody to experience.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Simac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elbe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenceAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imladris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abergavenny hotels
0.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
947 reviews
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 31 in Abergavenny
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Black Lion Guest House
Black Lion Guest House
#25 of 31 in Abergavenny
51 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast
Hardwick Farm Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 31 in Abergavenny
133 reviews
3.1 mi away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Address: 2 Oxford Street, Abergavenny NP7 5RP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range: $132 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Jenny's Guest House you are invited to indulge in one of our seven guest rooms, all of varying sizes to suit your needs. We are within 7 minutes walk of Abergavenny town centre, we offer secure off-road parking, a varied breakfast menu catering for all tastes, and we even have our own mini-zoo complete with chickens, pigs and rabbits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guest House Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing