We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional B and B”
Review of The Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This lovely B and B reminded me of childhood holidays in the 60's. it was traditional in the very best sense of the word. Jenny and Kevin were excellent hosts.
Our room was spotlessly clean and had facilities that many 3-star hotels would be proud of.
Breakfast was an outstanding feast, not to be missed!
We found out at the end of our stay that dogs were welcome which had we known would have been an added feature for us!
All in all a great place to stay in Abergavenny.
The price shown below is incorrect though. Price was actually £30 to £45 per person depending on season.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevfromle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for The Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 461 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend, and from the moment Jenny opened the door it felt like being at home. The room was very clean and comfortable, excellent tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits too. There are towels and robes if needed,and nothing was too much trouble from extra milks, to providing a packed lunch for my return journey home.
The breakfast menu is extensive and the quality of food is superb, the food was served by friendly staff and the dining room is fab. There are ducks and chickens outside and parrots and cats inside, there is even a rabbit that the children can feed. Everyone of the four stars is well deserved and I would definitely recommend to all, I have stayed in four star hotels which don't come up to Jenny and Kevs standards. I can't wait to return with my family. Please don't worry about booking here, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rear rooms overlook the garden and chickens
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninny519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here with my husband by recommendation of a friend. It was a bit of a trouble to find parking but we did find a spot down the road. This is just a home from home. Jenny and Kevin were so nice wen we arrived, we felt welcome right away. the room was on the first floor and very clean. In case you've forgot something.. no problem, it is ALL there. From a showercap to bodylotion, hygiene products... EVERYTHING. It was winter so there weren't any animals outside the yard, but we could imagine what a (even more) lovely place this must be in the summer. The cats and two birds entertained us during breakfast and Jenny was telling as a lot about the area and the breakfast.... JUST DELICIOUS! BIG THUMBS UP! We absolutly loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathyTM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Secure gated parking for bikes, comfy rooms and an entertaining menagerie, inside and out, add to this B & B experience in the lovely Brecon Beacons. Fresh duck and hen eggs, wonderful breakfast choices and the company of family pets by no means take away from the conviviality of the hostess and the quiet supportive cooking and sorting behind the scenes of the host. This B& B was recommended to us and did not fail in coming up to expectations. Quiet location, within easy walking distance of the town centre, but never a quiet moment in the dining room, all good fun! A memorable stay is inevitable - enjoy!

Room Tip: Skirrid is a large ground floor room with view directly onto gated area with chickens and ducks in r...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fran s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Guest House for a long weekend, and enjoyed Jenny and Kevin's excellent hospitality. Great breakfasts, sound dining and excursion advice, a comfortable room, spotless surroundings, and a menagerie of pets. We'll be back.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bike_muppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Helen and I spent a very quiet night at the Guest House (unlike our other friends who stayed in the town centre, and were disturbed when the clubs turned out, followed by a magnificent breakfast, Jenny and Kevin really know how to make you welcome, we would recommend this place without reservation

Jon T

Room Tip: speak to the owners, they will give you the best available.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have stayed at Guest House 4 times before and I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Abergavenny. Jenny & kevin are wonderful hosts making you feel at home from the mintue you step in the door. The rooms are spotless and comfortable.It is a perfect B&B for both couples and families, and there is no skimping on breakfast,with fresh eggs and homemade jams! So you would expect to be paying expensively.......not at all! Already trying to find an excuse to go back to The Guest House.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
909 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deri-Down Guest House
Deri-Down Guest House
#7 of 30 in Abergavenny
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Address: 2 Oxford Street, Abergavenny NP7 5RP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range: $27 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Jenny's Guest House you are invited to indulge in one of our seven guest rooms, all of varying sizes to suit your needs. We are within 7 minutes walk of Abergavenny town centre, we offer secure off-road parking, a varied breakfast menu catering for all tastes, and we even have our own mini-zoo complete with chickens, pigs and rabbits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest House Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing