We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms, amazing breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely rooms, amazing breakfast.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We arrved after 10 o'clock at night but this was not a problem to our hosts who welcomed us and showed us to our lovely, en-suite rooms. the breakfast was amazing, absolutely lovely. We loved the parrots and the cats, they added to the experience! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValCornall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    72
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
86
144
58
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Jenny and Kevin are excellent hosts
The rooms are comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The breakfasts are fantastic and my little girl was allowed to go and collect eggs from Jenny and Kevin's own chickens and ducks. A brilliant guest house, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77Minx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our room was clean and comfortable, our hosts friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere welcoming. I know there have been some complaints from other guests on TripAdvisor about the parrots in the dining room, but we loved all of the animals which added a lot of character to the overall experience - especially the lovely, purry cats at breakfast. The food was not amazing, but it was nice and there was homemade jam. Our only drawbacks would be that the bathroom was very small and cramped, it was a little bit of a hike into town, and we felt a little pressured by our hosts to leave a glowing review on TripAdvisor at the end which I felt was a little unfair. Amenity-wise there was nothing "above and beyond" the call of duty, as we have seen in other B&Bs we've stayed in and the decor was kind of "meh", but overall it was a decent place to crash after we'd toured the town. And I think it was excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amberflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

During our one-week stay in Abergavenny The Guest House well and truly became a home from home for us. Everything from the warm and friendly welcome, the banter at breakfast and the affectionate treatment we received from the pets made us feel at home from the moment we arrived.

Jenny, Kevin and their staff run a lovely B&B where nothing is too much trouble to make sure that we as guests get the most out of our stay. Our room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean; coffee and tea was provided in ample quantities and the corkscrew & wine glasses were a welcome invitation to open a bottle of wine which we were fortunate enough to be able to enjoy in the back yard where ducks, chickens and other pets provided better entertainment than the telly.

Breakfast deserves a special mention: this is simply breakfast heaven. The menu is extensive, helpings are generous, and the food is beautifully cooked. Do try Jenny's special forest-fruit-in-sugarfree-suspension dish - it's lovely. For the more adventurous eaters we recommend the Abergavenny (Desperate Dan) Omelette. Alfie & Eric the resident parrots will keep you entertained with conversation and mimicry including ........ the Greenwich time signal....... performed to perfection!!!!! However, be careful what you say - you never know when they will mimic you: by the end of our stay Eric was greeting us in Danish!!!!

Thank you so much for a lovely week. We look forward to our next stay.

Richard & Marie-Louise C-J

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_and_mrs_C-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here (family and a couple) at the beginning of August. The guest house is probably best described as a traditional, down to earth, country/Welsh style B&B with warm and friendly host(s). Kevin was on his own (Jenny was away) and he couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful during our stay...providing you partook fo the 'Welsh' rather than English breakfast of course!! ;o) The family room was nice, consisting of a double bed and two armchairs that converted into single beds and we (a couple) had a room upstairs which was nice and both rooms were extremely clean. Breakfast was superb, with lots of choice and homemade bread and jams too. The kids loved the parrots (we did too) and the cats lounging around in various places. They also enjoyed looking at all the animals and birds in the backyard. The numerous chickens wandering around the yard even gave it a bit of a country feel. It's a short walk into Abergavenny which is very handy in the evenings. We visited the Big Pit whilst we were there, about 20/25 mins away, which is very well worth a visit if you've never been down a coal mine - fun for the kids (and equally the adults!) and educatioanl too. A very enjoyable few nights in Wales.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csKent_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Not if but when will i be returning,Freindly hosts that cant do enough for you.clean,warm
with a breakfast to die for.your only problem might be getting in as there so popular.Jenny as ever looking after you.As she says herself..she is like the olymic flame she never goes out!The
parrots in dining area may even talk to you if they decide they like you.Cheap and highly recommened.The area is also great if you are a cyclist

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffy048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne sur Gesse
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

One of the nicest B & B's I've ever stayed in. Not too far from Abergavenny centre. A nice warm friendly atmosphere. The room was spotlessly clean (wine glasses provided so you don't feel guilty having a drink in your room!) Off road parking was easy but Jenny and kevin also provide limited private parking in their closed in courtyard at the back if necessary. Jenny and Kevin and their team made me feel really welcome.Loved the menagerie out back! You'd pay good money to go and see such a variety of chickens and birds and ducks. On my last day I noticed another guest with a dog so we will definitely be coming back next year with our dog. Jenny and Kevin have a little notice above the breakfast table "You arrive as guests and leave as friends" for my part this was certainly true. Thank you very much Jenny and Kevin and the girls for making my stay so pleasant. Would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennySum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abergavenny hotels
0.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
831 reviews
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
293 reviews
3.1 mi away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
0.4 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#11 of 30 in Abergavenny
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Property: The Guest House
Address: 2 Oxford Street, Abergavenny NP7 5RP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Jenny's Guest House you are invited to indulge in one of our seven guest rooms, all of varying sizes to suit your needs. We are within 7 minutes walk of Abergavenny town centre, we offer secure off-road parking, a varied breakfast menu catering for all tastes, and we even have our own mini-zoo complete with chickens, pigs and rabbits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest House Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing