We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect venue for a romantic/relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foxhunter Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foxhunter Inn
Ranked #20 of 31 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The perfect venue for a romantic/relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay in the Old Stables cottage. Overall I would highly commend this venue to anyone looking for a great location, a cosy retreat, informal yet attentive service and of course delicous food with a great wine list.

The self catering cottage is very well furnished and the bedroom on the mezzanine floor is cosy with a very comfortable bed. The cottage was stocked with some great wines (reasonably priced) and a delicous breakfast food.

We ate in the pub on Friday night and again during Saturday lunctime for a special birthday occaision with friends who lived in the area. Both times the service was attentive and friendly.

Through-out our stay we were looked after by Mike, the Foxhunter's host. His thoughtful manner and humorous demeanor made our stay all the more memorable.

We will definately be returning to the Foxhunter for a long weekend in the spring, as we are eager to sample their hospitality again and explore the surrounding area.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
26
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

We stayed in the Foxhunter Cottage for 3 nights - 3 adults and 2 dogs - it was way way too small despite being £175 a night. Only 2 small armchairs were provided in a minute sitting room so it felt very claustrophobic. The kitchen was poorly equipped with not even a dishcloth provided. Cobwebs everywhere and the windows not cleaned for a while. One bed had no pillows and no light switch for the ceiling light in the bedroom. Some wine and beer was left on the side, which we drank only to be phoned after we had left and asked for £56 for it!

Whilst we stayed there the weather was incredibly wet every day- we went out with the forager for 3 hours and this was the highlight of the stay. We cleaned up as best we could (there were no cleaning materials) and we had put down 2 large doormats as none were provided. On arriving home an rude e mail was received from the owner informing us that £45 would be taken from our credit card for extra cleaning. We couldn't leave fast enough but that was difficult as the front door stuck making it very tough to open.

  • Liked — Nothing - it was very poor quality
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Twinkle tootsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

We stayed in the one bedroom Old Stable for 2 nights. To say it was perfect is an understatement. The house is delightful with a decent lounge/dining area downstairs with a loft main bedroom upstairs. The fridge was well stocked with local ingredients but I would highly recommend dining as often as possible at Matt & Lisa's restaurant next door. The staff were exceptionally lovely and the food was very good (and I tried a few of the well known restaurants in the area).
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shonky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

We have been after visitng the Foxhunter for some time and finally made it this weekend.

The cottage we had was a real romantic get away from it all place. We wanted to shut the door and escape the outside world and we did! Fantastic for going for a walk, just relax and enjoy yourselves. This place is made for two, although there is a larger cottage next door.

The kitchen fridge is stocked well for breakfast and with a little plannig you don't need to go far!

Matt Tebutt and his wife Lisa, are on the verge of stardom in the culinary world. They are both, down to earth, family people who know how to run a restaurant and treat their guests. We could not fault the restaurant or the food. We normally go to Michelin starred establishments and this matched, even surpassed what we normally expect. Fantastic value as well.

I cannot praise the Foxhunter and the Tebutts enough, this is a real gem. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Liked — Romantic seclusion with great food.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SASTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abergavenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 31 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhunter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhunter Inn

Property: Foxhunter Inn
Address: | Nant-y-derry, Abergavenny NP7 9DN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant/Gastropub. Real ales. Great food and great value. Free wifi. Free secure parking. Outside seating available. Also beer garden. Disabled access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Foxhunter Hotel Abergavenny
Foxhunter Inn Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing