We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cafe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miserable Cow Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Miserable Cow Cafe
Ranked #88 of 99 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Reading the review from earlier by someone complaining about the miserable cows smoking area... Its an "outside café" which has a small area separated off for those that wish to smoke. Although a non smoker myself I did not have a problem with this as for everyone else there is a much larger area where smoking is not permitted. The coffee was excellent and the cakes Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. Staff were very pleasant, chatty and offered plenty of in sight into places to visit in Abergavenny.
This is where I find these review sites sometimes very mis-leading as the same person complaining about the smoking issues also advertised another café that has just opened and willing to try hmmmmm I wonder is this just about slating the completion.

I can only speak as I find - next time I "take a trip up to Abergavenny" will I visit the Miserable Cow ? DEFINATELY..

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghini G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A 'miserable' place to go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The coffee is nothing to brag about, with a sickly aftertaste. The seating area outside is a good concept especially with the heated lamps, but the stench of cigarette smoke was off putting, definitely put me off my food. I felt that I had to hold my breath. The staff were not especially friendly and hence the name -'miserable cows'! I will not be returning and will try my custom elsewhere, will hopefully have better luck at 'eat your heart out' -a new cafe in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebony2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good honest coffee bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This coffee bar has been growing and expanding over a number of years and it keeps getting better. I am a regular lunch time visitor and find it is the most reasonable place to go in town for a toastie and coffee at lunch time. The decor is also very lovely, with local produce on sale and a lot of drinks/food to choose from. The staff are also very lovely.

Great for a "pit stop" and a bite while shopping, also priced a lot better than the chain coffee shops

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reenie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Wonderful name, don't let it put you off!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Abergavenny abounds with coffee shops.......nearly one every 100 m!
Based in Cibi Walk, this establishment has a very local feel to it, frequented with the local characters.....(nice people too!)
Good selection of Fair trade coffee, and very good value in comparison to the chains and dare I say better quality!
Has good range of snacks, sandwiches, panni (Try the pork pie with Stilton)
Privately owned, you feel the staff really enjoying working here




Has an added bonus, if you still enjoy a cigarette, has an covered top with heater!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PallMallxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miserable Cow Cafe also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Miserable Cow Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing